We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent discovery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Torre Di Bellosguardo

Save Saved
You added Torre Di Bellosguardo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Torre Di Bellosguardo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Via Roti Michelozzi, 50124 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 460 Hotels in Florence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent discovery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

A wonderful place. This splendid environment with world class views is just so welcoming and homely - such a contrast to so many hotels that are just too corporate and lack personality and warmth. The historic interiors are stunning and unspoilt and the garden is an absolute joy. We will definitely be visiting there again. Thank you to the owners and their team for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
What a joy to know that you were satisfied with your stay here and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again one day. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    72
    13
    14
    9
See reviews for
137
231
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Only a few minutes outside the old city in the hills overlooking Florence, the Torre di Bellosguardo provides a soothing contrast to the bustling city. One steps back in time on arriving at the door of the beautifully restored 16th C villa surrounded by gardens and a working estate. All modern amenities have been discretely added while old world tradition is preserved by the attentive staff who fulfill every wish in an instant. The panoramic views of Florence and the Tuscan hills from every room have to be experienced!

Room Tip: Although the Torre does not have a restaurant,a full breakfast and a well stocked bar are part of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are extremely grateful for your generous remarks. It was a real pleasure having you here and we hope we will be able to welcome you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My wife and I just returned from Italy and spent a few nights at the Hotel Torre di Bellosguardo. It is an amazing property and residence that has been turned into the most unique experience we've ever had traveling. Everything from the hotel itself to the service levels made our stop in Florence the favorite of a total of three (Siena and Rome came next).

The property is a former villa, owned by the family of the current hotelier and his wife. They run the hotel out of love for keeping it kept up and in the family, not for profit. And there's nothing like pulling up to this quiet paradise after a hectic down down in the bowels of Florence with 10 million tourists.

The interior of the hotel looks very original, so everything feels centuries old and creaky (which adds to the charm for me) including the artwork and furniture. Even the floors and windows. We stayed in a suite that came with the most breathtaking view of Florence, day and night right from our corner of windows. I'll never have a better view. Our room had a library that led to the large bedroom. With a painted beamed ceiling, huge fireplace, huge wardrobe, 300 year old bed that I called the "shin bruiser" and huge windows. It's not at all like the Ritz, it's like staying with a long-lost European Duke who invited you to his personal villa. Walk into the main lobby and look up to see a ceiling in the main hall, a view that you've been paying an entrance fee to see down in Florence's museums.

The pool and gardens around them filled up my camera's memory with all the good snapshots. Perfect for drinking some of the house red wine and chilling out, surrounded by flowers, birds, carefully maintained plants/lawn and sunshine. We even got a tour of the other rooms since the hotel was only half booked. We saw the tower room. That is an incredible view but only an option for hearty people without much luggage.

We also took a cooking class with Ana, the matriarch of the hotel. We cooked right in her personal kitchen (the estate apartments next to the main villa). Best lunch we've ever had. Amazing feast and plenty of cooking tips for me to bring back to the states.

As with all Americans, we saw a few nitpicks that we will share with you for planning purposes. First - the wifi is only in the lobby. So we really lost touch with our kids and parents back home. But also - the office, so that's either good or bad! The bathroom will seem very strange to an American, a tub with a spray faucet at waist level and no shower curtain. We found ourselves sitting in a half tub of water trying to negotiate rinsing our hair and top halves without spraying everywhere. I've seen this kind of setup before in a London hotel, so I just think it's the weird old style of cleaning yourself. And it might've just been our room. Wasn't too bad for a few nights, but just be aware. Also, be aware - no restaurant. Expensive breakfast is the only thing they serve. But there are plenty of options a cab ride away for lunches and dinners. You can take a walk down the hill to the town. It's not super close, but nothing a person in decent health can't handle.

Overall, I can't recommend the Torre di Bellosguardo enough. Wow. A 5-star one-of-a-kind experience. It has to be up your alley, though. Stay here to step back in time and chill out and live like 16th century Florentine nobility.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We so enjoyed the company of you and your wife and the fact that you liked my cooking class fills me with satisfaction. I hope you can apply at home in your country what you learned.
Thank you so much for all your positive comments. I understand very well your remarks about your bathroom. This is an old building and each room is totally different. Some are small and some are large. Where possible we installed showers and bathtubs. We obviously had to adapt to the building. In any case I hope you and your wife will return and enjoy another culinary session.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We visited Florence for Valentines and the Hotel was incredible. We had a beautiful room, four poster bed with views over Florence from both windows. We visited out of season so it was too cold to use the pool or dine on the terrace, but still enjoyed wondering around the grounds. The staff could not do enough for us and had a very extensive wine list. I ordered champagne in the room as a surprise for my partner and it came with an amazing selection of meat and cheeses to enjoy. We decided to have our breakfast in our room the second morning and this i would highly recommend. On our first evening we took a restaurant recommendation from the concierge. They arranged the taxi and bookings for us and we were not disappointed. We had hired a car whist in Italy but used the taxi whilst in Florance as driving is heavily restricted and the hotel had a secure under ground car park. Overall we were very happy and would highly recommend staying here. The hotel and staff made our visit to Italy that little bit more special.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so very much! It was a real pleasure for us to ensure that you and your friend enjoyed every minute of your stay. These are the experiences which make our work so well worth it. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moscow
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Just came back from Easter with my family in Bellosguardo. it's my second visit. it's my favourite place in Florence, really close to the city but a world apart from the crowds. the perfect place for anyone seeking to switch off. it feels like you are staying in a private home but has everything you'd expect from a four star hotel and very friendly and helpful staff. The views must surely be the best of the city. The place is full of character, very different feel to your usual international chain. No restaurant but the best trattoria in town, the Vecchia Bettola, is just down the hill. Staying there is always a treat. I'll be back.

Room Tip: room with a view over Florence
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
We loved having you and your family. We saw how you understood our hotel and appreciated its atmosphere. After so much work and stress you needed to unwind, relax and enjoy your daughter. Thank you so much for coming. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Very special place to stay in Florence. Located in a top of the hill on other side of the river. Medieval villa. Surrounded by wall, garden, terraces and fantastic view on old Florence. Very friendly like family run management.
The must to stay hotel if you are enjoying medical places and atmosphere.
Not for you if you are looking for:
- Boring standard *****+ hotels.
- walking distance to shopping streets.
- Budget place to stay

Couple of hints:
1. Ask reception for local restaurants nearby. You can find amazing Toscanian food and atmosphere.
2. Kids will be happy to play with donkeys in the garden
3. Try to sing with Coccobello parrot in the lobby! He can speak English with you!
4. Book a ticket to Uffizi gallery in advance)))
5. Don’t be lazy to catch sunrise on the Firenze from your room!

Room Tip: Try room 11. Pукаусе to stay with a 2 kids. One of the best windows veiw EVER!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Your kind words fill us with joy. It was such a pleasure making sure you enjoyed your stay and talking to you. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Although its taken me sometime to write this review from last year. I'd just like to say that this was a staggeringly wonderful hotel, steeped in history - the setting on a hill overlooking Florence, with a swimming pool and next to olive groves. An idyllic setting, with wonderful ambience - slept like a log with the curtains open to see Florence at night and in the morning. If you're looking for a modern hotel this isn't it - but if you want to turn back the centuries then this is the place ! The Orangerie is spectacular. However, nothing#s perfect so it's not cheap, but not outrageous prices given what they're providing. Try walking through the olive groves down to Florence city centre to start your day on a high.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for such a kind review and above all for remembering us after such a long period. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Torre Di Bellosguardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre Di Bellosguardo

Address: 2 Via Roti Michelozzi, 50124 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#8 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#10 Family Hotel in Florence
#51 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Torre Di Bellosguardo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13th.century historical tower with extraordinary view of Florence, a stone's throw from the city, yet a country haven of peace and silence. Each room, very large, has its own character with antique furniture. Modern bathrooms and facilities. Vast garden with outdoor swimming pool. Extremely friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Torre Di Bellosguardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Di Bellosguardo Hotel Florence
Torre Di Bellosguardo Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Torre Di Bellosguardo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.