We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room With A View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Torre Di Bellosguardo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Torre Di Bellosguardo to your Saves list
Torre Di Bellosguardo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Via Roti Michelozzi, 50124 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 461 Hotels in Florence
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Room With A View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Some of the most memorable images of Italy were created in the movie "A Room With a View." Torre di Bellosguardo looks like that movie set. It is an otherworldly hotel in a breathtakingly beautiful location. It's not for the hyper-connected though. The Wi-Fi service is only available in the lobby. You can't wake up to CNN and the Sky Channel. The Wall Street Journal will not be hanging on your door in the a.m. But you won't care. You will be greeted by a warm and caring staff who are there 24/7 to make your visit memorable. They will accomodate your every request with their uniquely irresistible Italian charm. But above all, when you wake up in the morning and throw open the wooden shutters you will be overwhelmed by the views of the city. They are picture postcard perfect. You'll think you're living in another time altogether. This hotel is the reason we yearn to travel in Europe. And let's face it. . . the TDB experience is increasingly hard to find. Spend a day fighting your way past the hordes of tourists that swarm through Florence, and you'll thank your lucky stars that after a 5-minute taxi ride you can escape to this refuge of peace and tranquility. Save The Four Seasons for Rome or Milan. You'll want to escape to Torre di Bellosguardo to experience Florence.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view of the city. The views in the back of the hotel are beautiful a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you so much, dear guest. Each time we see you we are filled with satisfaction knowing that you and your family are just the right persons to appreciate something different, something which makes you feel that some things never change. We so look forward to your return. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    78
    15
    14
    9
See reviews for
142
260
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have always thought of Torre di Bellosguardo as a secret gem, a singular place untrammeled by the casual tourist, so I am a bit reluctant to reveal the secret, but in all fairness to the hotel I must sing its praises. I first visited the villa more than 25 years ago before it became a hotel, and many years later was thrilled at the prospect of staying there as a guest. I stayed with my wife and daughter in the spring of 2007, and then more recently by myself while on a business trip during the winter of 2013. It is situated in one of the most beautiful locations on earth, offering breathtaking panoramas in every direction. It is a remarkably fresh, quiet and peaceful setting, an escape from the whine of Vespas, the grimy streets and the mosquitoes of the teeming city just down the hill. The villa is surrounded by fragrant and lush gardens, and is home to an aviary and to several charming animals which are especially appealing to children. The staff is warm, gracious and welcoming: the gentleman at the front desk came running to hold my car door and greet me by name when I arrived, and everyone I encountered was wonderfully hospitable. The breakfast room offered memorable views of Cyprus tree tops: the food was fresh and delicious; the rooms were clean and serene. This is a place I will never forget and to which I will always wish to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear dear Guest,
We are short of words to thank you for all you write. It is always a joy to welcome you back knowing that you understand our hotel and all it stands for. Whatever improvement we make in the future we will always make sure the atmosphere remains the same and that nothing interfers with the silence and peace. Thank you so very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is the ideal base for the urban and rural walker, i prefer the former! i left this great hotel and walked down to the Ponte alla Vittoria then i walked back and forward across the seven bridges including of course Ponte Vecchio. Then back through the Boboli Gardens and the Porta Romana and in to the Torre gardens through the farm gate, yes a farm in the Firenze boundary, and up through the gardens to return to the luxury of the Torre

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you ever ever so much for such kind words. Year in, year out it is such a pleasure welcoming you and your charming wife to Bellosguardo. May it continue for a long time to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is a very special place - beautiful, peaceful and with fantastic views of Florence. I first visited the hotel in 2002, and have returned whenever staying in Florence. The rooms are spacious and elegant and decorated with antique furniture. The landscaped terraced gardens are lovely to walk or read in, and in the winter, the orangery in the courtyard of the hotel, with its sofas and tables, offers a warm, comfortable alternative.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for such a generous and appreciative review. We hope you return in spring when the garden and colours are at their best. It would be a joy to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Feeling exhausted and out of sorts, I spent a weekend at the Torre and was completely reinvigorated - yet again! There is nowhere like it - the peace, the parrot in Reception, the perfect view of Florence from every window, the comfortable beds, spacious warm rooms, and now the additional bonus - especially in winter - of a good meal at night without having to go out, makes a stay at the Torre di Bellosguardo completely wonderful, even better than before.

Room Tip: All the rooms are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
You have been here several times before and each time it is such a joy for us to welcome you because we know that you understand the atmosphere and all the love we put into this unique place. We greatly look forward to many more of your visits and will always make every effort to make you relax and feel at home with us. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

i grew up in the hills of florence. staying at la torre is a little like coming back to my childhood.
the villa is a lovely, elegant, experience. i love the vast spaces of the rooms, the sound of the parrot echo in the lobby, the fresh flowers floating in a sink. the garden landscaping is beautiful at any time of the year, but early summer is absolutely incredible with all the flowers blooming. and the view !!!! you do not need to be a florentine to see that it is breathtaking. i think i have stayed in 80% of the rooms and each has a wonderful different view of the city or garden. you can't go wrong.
it is so unique. the well worn elegance so special. the staff attentive and warm.
it is my home away from home when i come to florence.
one of my favorite hotels in the world.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are at a loss of words to tell you how moved we are by all you write. Thank you, thank you, thank you. You can always consider this your home away from home and we will always welcome you back with joy and open arms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauderdale by the Sea, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

For anyone who wants to be both in Florence and see Tuscany, this is the choice. Torre di Bellosguardo allows visitors, especially those with little time, to experience the great city of Florence while also enjoying the tranquil countryside of Tuscany. Situated just a short and easy ride outside the city center, nestled in the glorious hillside, Torrre has one of the grandest vistas of all my travels, far more intimate of Florence than the well-regarded views from Fiesole. I have been coming here for more than fifteen years, by myself, with family, and with friends. For a time I lived in Rome and when I needed a short break I would hop the Eurostar and be at peace. It's the perfect place because you can both enjoy its beauty and solitude and yet be in the hustle and bustle of the city center in minutes. For those who already know Florence, it's the perfect place to simlply lounge by the beautiful outdoor pool and bar, look out over the great city, and take it all in without having to do a thing. Instead of a chain hotel, or even a grand one in the city, Torre is a magnificent old home, a castle truly, with an unique history, manicured grounds complete with flowing streams, beautiful gardens, and a menagerie of domesticated animals from chirping birds to little donkeys and ponies. In recent years a beautiful indoor spa and lap pool have been added making Torre almost as attractive a place to visit in the winter. Also, on my last visit I noticed a wonderful restaurant nearby now serves dinner at the hotel allowing guests not to have to leave at all.
Having breakfast in the morning on the outdoor terrace, with the warm Tuscan sun just beginning to gain strength, looking out over an expanse of verdant hillsides and ancient steeples and domes -- all of it conjures up images from Brideshead Revisited: the Grand Tour, the lazy afternoons, and the room with a view.

Room Tip: A great value for single travelers is the single room: no view but an airy sunroof with high-tech co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write such an enthusiastic and generous review. It is always with great pleasure that we see you return to Bellosguardo. In addition we are most grateful to you for sending and bringing other guests here. Until your next visit we all in the hotel send you are warmest wishes for a Merry Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Torre Di Bellosguardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre Di Bellosguardo

Address: 2 Via Roti Michelozzi, 50124 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#9 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#11 Family Hotel in Florence
#68 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Torre Di Bellosguardo 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13th.century historical tower with extraordinary view of Florence, a stone's throw from the city, yet a country haven of peace and silence. Each room, very large, has its own character with antique furniture. Modern bathrooms and facilities. Vast garden with outdoor swimming pool. Extremely friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Torre Di Bellosguardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Di Bellosguardo Hotel Florence
Torre Di Bellosguardo Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Torre Di Bellosguardo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.