We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can not wait to go back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta to your Saves list
Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Via Laura 50, 50121 Florence, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 563 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Duvall, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can not wait to go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

I am a bit late on this reveiw. We stayed at Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta in Spetember 2011. We were lucky enough to have the "chapel room". The staff was very personable, breakfast was wonderful, the room was quiet and cool in spite of 90 degree F temps during the day. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Florence

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    50
    13
    4
    7
See reviews for
41
83
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

This hotel is excellent in all respects. The rooms are extremely comfortable and clean, the beds are lovely - I slept really well. The staff are so polite and helpful (I knew nothing about Florence, and they were keen to offer advice and help - booking museums for me, suggesting the best restaurants, etc). It's a delightful place - extremely unique - the building used to a convent hundreds of years ago and some of the original features have been preserved - my room had an original fresco on the wall!

The location of the hotel couldn't be better. It's right next to the Piazza Santissima Annunziata - for my money the most beautiful square in Florence - and is only a five minute walk from the Duomo. The original of Michelangelo's David is just around the corner in the Accademia, and you can get anywhere of interest in under ten minutes. Florence is quiet a busy, noisy city, but because this hotel is down a quiet street off the Piazza, there's no noise at all from outside. Perfect.

This hotel is brilliant value for money. And you won't find anything else like it at this price. I'll definitely be staying here again when I come back to Florence.

Room Tip: My room was gorgeous - my friend was in another room and that was lovely too. Each room seems to hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Beautiful hotel with authentic art work both in the rooms and about the building. The rooms are large with high ceilings and, most importantly, very quiet. I don't usually sleep that well in hotels but you really can get a proper night's sleep in this one, because it is so quiet. It was formerly a convent I believe, and has a very mellow atmosphere. It is walking distance to all the main attractions and museums, whilst being in a side street that is quiet enough to allow for peace of mind. The staff are very friendly and breakfast is also very good and not rushed. An excellent place to stay in Florence.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Chose this hotel because of friends’ suggestions and reviews on various guides. No particular appeal from the outside, but, this really turned out to be a very special small hotel. Very much like being in a distinguished private home of the past. Wonderful staff and excellent service. Good location. My room was so quiet I could hardly believe I was in the centre of Florence. Breakfast served by charming and attentive staff. Original antique silverware. Antique furnishings all around. All contributed to make my stay there part of the unique experience of being in Florence. A very special thanks to, if I remember correctly, Roland, Riccardo and Mauricio who took such good care of us.. I will definitely recommend this hotel and will most certainly return there on a future visit to Florence.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Charming converted monastary with frescos on the walls in some rooms.

Great staff: helpful, responsive. Easy walk to major sights in city center.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Just wanted to say how much we enjoyed our three days here. We paid extra for a room with its own terrace and this was definitely money well spent. The room was light and airy with two sets of patio doors. The bed was comfortable and we slept well with no unwanted noise from outside or within.

The staff were kind and helpful. Do book directly with the hotel, as breakfast which is excellent will then be included in the room rate.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

This hotel was a little off the beaten track for us. When we arrived by taxi the front door was opened and we walked into a foyer similar to walking into an apartment complex. There were 20 plus stairs to climb to the Murandi door where you had to ring the bell to enter.
The people running the hotel are very nice and the hotel was very clean. It is a bit dark in the hotel. Our first night there was certainly our unlucky night. The university next door was celebrating the opening of school the following Monday and there were literally thousands of people in the streets all night long. Our traveling companions had a room on the front side of the street and the walls in their room were vibrating. The next day they requested their room be moved which hotel personnel did accommodate. However, they did not give them any compensation for a sleepless night.
Our travel agent booked this hotel and this was the only hotel where breakfast was not included. It would have cost 12 Euros per person for breakfast. (if we had booked directly breakfast would have been included) There were no close restaurants near by. We did not stay for one breakfast. This was my least favorite hotel on our trip to Italy.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
#55 of 463 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 814 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 463 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 2,239 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#22 of 463 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#10 of 463 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 2,943 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#28 of 463 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 2,090 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#51 of 463 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta

Address: Via Laura 50, 50121 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 563 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best of modern comfort harmoniously combined with the warmth of antique furnishings. A quiet, comfortable and distinguished atmosphere in the former convent of the Crocetta, the Hotel Morandi alla Crocetta is today, following an ancient tradition of hospitality, a place where one can enjoy a pleasant and relaxed stay in Florence. Located in the historical centre of the city next to the Archaeological Museum and a few steps from the Academy of Fine arts, it is within easy walking distance to every point of artistic, cultural and economic interest. With Individually controlled central air conditioning, every room has its fully equipped private facilities as well as sat-television, radio, free wi-fi internet connection, refrigerator-bar, direct dialing telephone and a safe. On premises garage. Private walking tours arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morandi Alla Crocetta Florence
Morandi Alla Crocetta Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.