We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but enormous and amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basilica San Miniato al Monte

Basilica San Miniato al Monte
Via Delle Porte Sante, 34, 50125 Florence, Italy (Piazzale Michelangelo)
055 234 2731
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$70*
and up
Florentine Hills Half-Day Walking Tour and Wine...
Ranked #5 of 329 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Situated on a hill (monte) outside Florence with unsurpassed views of the city, this structure is one of the finest examples of Tuscan Romanesque architecture, built between the 11th and 13th centuries.
Matosinhos, Portugal
Level Contributor
106 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Simple but enormous and amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I'm not a big fan of basilicas/churches with a lot of golden decorations inside... So I really loved this one, with an amazing view from the outside and with a very wide inside not too fancy but just enough for you to be astonished.
Don't miss this place, just next to Piazzale Michelangelo and where you get the best views from Florence.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,980 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,357
    539
    75
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stunning location and beautiful interior”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is one of the calmest and prettiest churches I have ever entered. It did help that the organist was practising while we were there so we were treated to some lovely music too but the main thing that I liked was the beautiful carvings, murals and paintings which are beautifully preserved. The view over Florence is beautiful too.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not Florence's number one attraction but nice views after a steep climb”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Although I enjoyed being there it should not be the number one attraction in Florence. By overrating this attraction it lessens the impact of a wonderful view of Florence in a beautiful setting. It's quite a climb up to this site and we had to stop a number of times to recalibrate our bearings and rest! We arrived quite early and so waited a while for the Monks to begin their prayer. It was very quiet and although it started to rain the views are a nice distraction. Inside the church was actually colder than outside but this is pretty normal. I'm not sure whether we saw something different than other people who have written reviews but the monks prayer and chant was actually 2 monks saying Mass and so although we're catholic, we hadn't bargained for this on a Friday night! Having hiked up there and hung around in the rain for an hour and a half this was a bit annoying.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Well worth the walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

It is a long haul, but so worthwhile. The church is superb, wonderful interior and the view is amazing, especially at sunset, looking over the city and the hills. The Piazzale Michaelangelo is just down the road, which is also a "must" - the views are stunning and musicians play there.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A gem !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Worth every step up there !! Beautiful ! Take your time to enjoy it and then savor the views from up there !!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica San Miniato al Monte also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Basilica San Miniato al Monte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basilica San Miniato al Monte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.