We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful mosaics” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Basilica of San Miniato al Monte

The Basilica of San Miniato al Monte
Via Delle Porte Sante, 34, 50125 Florence, Italy
055 234 2731
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #1 of 219 attractions in Florence
Type: Religious Sites, Historic Sites, Architectural Buildings, Lookouts
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Situated on a hill (monte) outside Florence with unsurpassed views of the city, this structure is one of the finest examples of Tuscan Romanesque architecture, built between the 11th and 13th centuries.
Reading, PA
Top Contributor
653 reviews 653 reviews
294 attraction reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
2,894 helpful votes 2,894 helpful votes
“Beautiful mosaics”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

As others have said, it is an uphill climb to this church, which can be torturous in warm weather, but once at the top, the views of Florence are incredible. The church itself is beautiful. It is best to go on a sunny day - both for the city views and visiting the church - because the lighting inside the church is not very good. However, there are beautiful old mosaics that, hopefully, you will be able to see if the lighting is adequate.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,855 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,495
    319
    36
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
87 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Incredible Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

this was difinetly worth the trip over to the church is really nice but the views from the outside are absolutely incredible, one of the highlights of our day in florence

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We all took some time to sit outside of the church and admire the view over the city. While we did take time to reflect and enjoy the peacefulness outside as well, we also had Man read aloud information about the church from our guide bookso we could fully appreciate the chirch.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Toscana, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Most Beautiful Church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I went to this church multiple times during my time in Florence for study abroad. I went with my class, my family, and a couple of times on my own. I was always impressed by both the interior and the view. This is really a wonderful spot in Florence, out of the muggy narrow streets, and with so much history.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jewett City
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best pictures of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The view from here is breathtaking..attend mass at vespers and you will hear gregorian chant. Don't miss the details in the interior.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Basilica of San Miniato al Monte also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to The Basilica of San Miniato al Monte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Basilica of San Miniato al Monte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Basilica of San Miniato al Monte to your Saves list