We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing romantic views at sunset” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Basilica of San Miniato al Monte

The Basilica of San Miniato al Monte
Via Delle Porte Sante, 34, 50125 Florence, Italy
055 234 2731
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #1 of 219 attractions in Florence
Type: Religious Sites, Historic Sites, Architectural Buildings, Lookouts
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Situated on a hill (monte) outside Florence with unsurpassed views of the city, this structure is one of the finest examples of Tuscan Romanesque architecture, built between the 11th and 13th centuries.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“amazing romantic views at sunset”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Unsurpassed views over the city at sunset - right across the Arno to the cathedral.

We came in the evening, so the church was shut - but the views from the steps are worth it in themselves. Very few other people around at all, which would not be the case elsewhere.

It is a bit of a trek on foot but I think well worth it.

This was just a lucky find. Beautiful.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,846 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,488
    318
    35
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good view but long walk!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I saw that this church was one of the top attractions on TripAdvisor so I convinced myself and my family to take the long walk here. The church was small and pretty special because I haven't seen anything like that before. There's a good view of Florence with the gardens of Pitti Palace (I suppose) and a small cemetery in front of the church. I think if you're pressed for time, it'd be perfectly fine to skip this attraction and just stop at Piazzale di Michelangelo, which I think has a better view of the city. But then again, if you're already so far up, you might as well walk further on to the basilica... Just walk along the main road to the basilica, instead of trying to take a short cut like I did and ended up walking on wet soil.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammond, Louisiana
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Charming experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Quite a walk uphill/upstairs across the Arno from Florence downtown, but well worth the effort. Tremendous views of the Florence, exquisite church interior, crowned with mess sung in Gregorian chants by the monks at dusk (~5:30 pm in the winter and ~6:30 pm in the summer). Absolutely memorable!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
“wonderful church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is one of our favorite churches in Italy. The monks were singing when we visited. It is well worth the climb up the hill and it is one of the few free churches in Florence.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We have been to Flonce a number of times and always got to visit David because it is the most beautiful statue, made of one piece of marble that we have ever seen.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Basilica of San Miniato al Monte also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to The Basilica of San Miniato al Monte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Basilica of San Miniato al Monte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Basilica of San Miniato al Monte to your Saves list