We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful wines in the gift shop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Basilica of San Miniato al Monte

The Basilica of San Miniato al Monte
Via Delle Porte Sante, 34, 50125 Florence, Italy
055 234 2731
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #1 of 222 Attractions in Florence
Type: Religious Sites, Historic Sites, Architectural Buildings, Lookouts
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Situated on a hill (monte) outside Florence with unsurpassed views of the city, this structure is one of the finest examples of Tuscan Romanesque architecture, built between the 11th and 13th centuries.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
146 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
253 helpful votes 253 helpful votes
“Wonderful wines in the gift shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Here's something to look forward to: they sell great wines from their vineyard in the gift shop! Be sure to get the hours the shop is open before you go because it is run by the religious order and they close for prayers and services. However, they sell wine that they make themselves, and it is virtually impossible to find elsewhere.
Enjoy!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,060 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,653
    353
    49
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Just beautiful...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I found this church just beautiful - especially the attached cemetery. The scenery is just amazing from here, and I found the church serene and peaceful. There aren't many bells and whistles - just beauty. Don't miss this church! The walk up was picturesque and not too difficult.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Spiritually fulfilling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We went to the church based on previous TA reviews, and we were not disappointed. The basilica is located just past Piazzale Michelangelo, when you get to the top of the stairs just go right. We arrived shortly after 5pm on a very cold December night; the view of the city below is STUNNING! Inside, there was not too much to look at, but we arrived shortly before mass, which made the trip worth it. The voices of the various priests singing the mass, bounced off the walls; the barely lit church, the candlelight, all made the whole experience emotionally moving. Definitely go to the mass, around 5pm!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Special sunset!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

A lot of people wrote about this place.
But nobody told about the fantastic sunset.
Go there, visit the inside, than go out and wait the sunset.
Take a lot of great photos.
Than I recommend you to walk back to downtown.
You will love it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Read your map if you are walking there, its easy to get lost!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

But when you get there, fantastic. I wouldn't say its the best thing to do in Florence but if you have time, take the 30 minute hike up the hill for an amazing view over Florence and stroll through this church. Unfortunately the day we went the electricity was not working so we couldn't turn the lights on but we could still see enough.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Basilica of San Miniato al Monte also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to The Basilica of San Miniato al Monte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Basilica of San Miniato al Monte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.