We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just beautiful...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Basilica of San Miniato al Monte

The Basilica of San Miniato al Monte
Via Delle Porte Sante, 34, 50125 Florence, Italy
055 234 2731
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$97*
and up
Self-Drive Vintage Fiat 500 Tour from Florence...
Ranked #4 of 223 Attractions in Florence
Type: Religious sites, Historic sites, Architectural buildings, Lookouts, Sights & Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Situated on a hill (monte) outside Florence with unsurpassed views of the city, this structure is one of the finest examples of Tuscan Romanesque architecture, built between the 11th and 13th centuries.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Just beautiful...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I found this church just beautiful - especially the attached cemetery. The scenery is just amazing from here, and I found the church serene and peaceful. There aren't many bells and whistles - just beauty. Don't miss this church! The walk up was picturesque and not too difficult.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,961
    444
    61
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Spiritually fulfilling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We went to the church based on previous TA reviews, and we were not disappointed. The basilica is located just past Piazzale Michelangelo, when you get to the top of the stairs just go right. We arrived shortly after 5pm on a very cold December night; the view of the city below is STUNNING! Inside, there was not too much to look at, but we arrived shortly before mass, which made the trip worth it. The voices of the various priests singing the mass, bounced off the walls; the barely lit church, the candlelight, all made the whole experience emotionally moving. Definitely go to the mass, around 5pm!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Special sunset!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

A lot of people wrote about this place.
But nobody told about the fantastic sunset.
Go there, visit the inside, than go out and wait the sunset.
Take a lot of great photos.
Than I recommend you to walk back to downtown.
You will love it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Read your map if you are walking there, its easy to get lost!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

But when you get there, fantastic. I wouldn't say its the best thing to do in Florence but if you have time, take the 30 minute hike up the hill for an amazing view over Florence and stroll through this church. Unfortunately the day we went the electricity was not working so we couldn't turn the lights on but we could still see enough.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX USA
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Ancient Church with Great View of Florence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Take the #12 bus up the hill, #13 down--there are a lot of stairs to walk directly to church or you can walk up a winding road. Inside of church is multi level with lots of beautiful art work. Read about St Miniato before going.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Basilica of San Miniato al Monte also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to The Basilica of San Miniato al Monte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Basilica of San Miniato al Monte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.