We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Enough Dante...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Casa di Dante

Casa di Dante
Via Santa Margherita 1, Florence, Italy
Improve this listing
Ranked #198 of 215 Attractions in Florence
Type: History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Casa di Dante, a restored medieval house similar to Dante's birthplace, also serves as a museum recording the life and times of this famous poet.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Not Enough Dante...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Museum that now exists inside Dante's is really nothing much to see. There is very little of Dante's actual life on display and the museum focuses more on the politics and strife found in the city during Dante's lifetime. Quite frankly, for 4 Euro, I've seen much, much better museums in Bologna and Rome.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    41
    48
    48
    59
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Give it a miss!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Having spent a lot of time in Florence, one of the few things I had never done was to visit the 'Casa di Dante'. It was at the bottom of my list of places to see and would advise anyone in a similar position to just scratch it off the bottom of their list and spend the entry price on a nice cup of coffee in a nearby square and watch the world go by! As other reviewers have stated (how I wish I had listened!), the house contains very little, and virtually nothing which can be traced back to Dante in reality. I can't even imagine it is of interest to a Dante enthusiast either, as what there is is poorly displayed and probably of no interest to anyone with specialist knowledge either.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Skip this, Dante didn't even live here!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

First and foremost, Dante did not live here! We didn't find that out until after we had paid admission and were already inside. It had a lot of interesting information about Dante so it wasn't a complete waste of time, but I would rather have spent time in another attraction (like one that was included in our Firenze card!), hanging out in a piazza or having a longer lunch. We visited Rembrandt's House in Amsterdam, and he actually did live there and the house was incredible. We thought this would be somewhat similar to that but Dante did not live here and it was just a collection of artifacts and information that was in a house that didn't really even show you what it would have looked like to live in during the time period. Unless you just absolutely have to absorb everything Dante, skip this one!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

Most of this had nothing to do with Dante and the bit that did was awful. What a waste of €4.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“House for fans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

If you love Dante, you'll want to visit the Casa di Dante. It's a fan site rather than having any authentic connection with Dante. But it's in a medieval house like those Dante might have lived in, and has some interesting displays illustrating his Divine Comedy.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa di Dante also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Casa di Dante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa di Dante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.