We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pinpoint center of Florence” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Savoy

Save Saved
You added Hotel Savoy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Savoy
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza della Repubblica 7, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Offer Inc Brkfst
Ranked #32 of 461 hotels in Florence
Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pinpoint center of Florence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I thought the Savoy was a lovely hotel in a perfect location. My room and bath were wonderful. I thought the food was okay, nothing special. My biggest disappointment was that for the high rates we paid the hotel still charges 20 euro per day for wireless. They had two old computers in the basement that guests could use but this was not adequate for people I was with.
Spectacular outdoor dining on a nice day!

Room Tip: Loved my room with step out balcony overlooking Piazza de Repubblica even though it was a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    324
    112
    31
    10
    7
See reviews for
76
245
24
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
283 helpful votes 283 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Spent 3 nights in a Deluxe Double room on the top (5th) floor of the hotel, after receiving an upgrade due to my Leading Hotels membership.

Service: 6star. Always polite, with a smile, and always by name. Even when we arrived the first night, by car, the doorman greeted us and asked if it was me... I asked him how did he know, and he said that we were the last booked guests to arrive, so he guested. Everyone was amazing, from the people at the front desk, the concierge (with great tips about the city), the cleaning staff, the waiters at breakfast. I would have given the Hotel overall 4/5, but the service tops 5, so...

Value: We got a double upgrade, from a Classic Double to a Deluxe Double, overlooking, partially, the Duomo Dome and the bell tower. Overall, for the location, the room, the service, I think the value is 4/5.

Sleep Quality: I like King size beds, and our room only had a Queen. I also found the pillows to be too soft. 4/5

Cleanliness: As expected in this sort of Hotel, no issues here. 5/5

Location: Does not get better. Minutes walk from everything, right smack in the middle of the city. Access by car is tricky, but, once there, they take care of it, and parking is about €45 / day with in-out privileges. 5/5

Room: Here I was not impressed. The bathroom is nice, full marble, but not big enough for two. The room is well appointed, but a bit without character. The entertainment system is boring, and offers very basic channels. And the wifi connection had issues, and whenever it worked well, it kept asking for a login all the time. 3,5/5

The gym was nice, on the 6th floor, with a great view of the Duomo and the bell tower.

Breakfast was very good (4/5), with great service, and a nice "cold" spread buffet, but nothing memorable.

Overall, highly recommended, with some issues.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a Duomo view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is an elegant hotel, expensive, and very well located on a central square, just around the corner from Piazza della Duomo and within easy walking distance from the Uffizi museum and Ponte Vecchio. The concierge/staff were very helpful and professional. There is a fine restaurant (indoor and outdoor) associated with the hotel. The rooms were reasonably spacious and very clean.

Room Tip: Always ask to see several rooms before choosing. Rooms on the square are noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The front desk and concierge staff are outstanding. The house cleaning staff are generally efficient. The staff in the restaurant are generally very good but there are a couple of waiters that aren't up to snuff. The real but fixable problems are: 1. the gym is far too small and congested for a hotel of this calibre; and 2. Despite the high rates, they charge for internet, which is silly and off putting.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

As a keen cyclist I visited the hotel with my wife within a package to allow me to ride the 2013 road world cycling route. From start to finish the experience was simply amazing . The hospitality and care the hotel shared with us has not and will probably never be surpassed. The central location is ideal for people wanting to absorb the sights and sounds of the vibrant city. When you leave a hotel how do feel? With the Savoy it was VIP all the way, with the opportunity to ride with some remarkable people!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Our pick up was smooth with a very friendly driver who speaks English. The hotel is located very near the airport. Reached there in 10 minutes. Greeted by helpful front desk and luggage were handled very professionally. I was given a top floor balcony room with a small view of the duomo roof. That's perfect!

Rooms were small but like all hotels in Italy, you can't complain. The cozy decoration and the location of this small jewel is good enough for our stay in Florence. We walked to all tourist spot by foot. All of which are just a stone throw away.

The breakfast is so short of food, you'd rather eat out. Great coffee though. The hotel is surrounded by many cafes and smacked right in the middle of a shopping area.

Amenities in the room is just right and adequate. Comfortable bed after a long day of adventure in Florence. Bathroom is a bit small for westerners and you would have to close the door just to have space to move around. Very clean rooms.

Overall, my stay was very satisfactory as the service and friendly people made up for the small but great rooms.

Room Tip: Spend some extra bucks to book the highest floor room. Only the highest floor have balcony where you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Although the location is excellent, the way the square is being used by the cafes and the various vendors detracts from its original beauty.
The staff is young, enthusiastic and professional at all departments. Quality of food and bar are excellent. My only con is that value for money is on the low side considering the size of rooms and especially that of the bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy

Address: Piazza della Repubblica 7, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#21 Business Hotel in Florence
#31 Family Hotel in Florence
#34 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Savoy 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star Hotel Savoy offers luxury and style in the heart of Florence. Located on the Piazza Repubblica, close to Florence's renowned landmark the Duomo, the hotel is just a short walk from the Uffizi Gallery and the Ponte Vecchio. Just steps away from the main Florence fashion houses, the Hotel Savoy is the ideal base from which to visit the key attractions of this beautiful and historic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Priceline, Venere, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocco Forte Savoy
Forte Hotel Florence
Forte Florence
Florence Forte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Savoy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.