We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Savoy

Save Saved
You added Hotel Savoy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Savoy
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza della Repubblica 7, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Offer Inc Brkfst
Ranked #33 of 461 hotels in Florence
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Hotel Savoy is a pretty good hotel, not the best 5 stars I've stayed in. The location is unbeatable, located in one of the major squares, nice shopping nearby, close to the Duomo. Staff was excellent, very professional, and catered to all our needs.

Hotel may benefit from some refurbishment, floors and carpet seem a bit dated and unkempt, especially on the ground floor where the lobby restrooms are.
Rooms very small, toilet situated behind the door in the bathroom, really cramped, you'll have to walk in sideways. Impossible for 2 people to be in bathroom at same time.
We had flying insects in our room on first day.
Worst of all was the air conditioning did not work, the room was very stuffy, no air blowing. We woke up at 2 am all sweaty, technician could not fix it, got moved to a temporary room at 3am, finally, in the morning at 11 am, got upgraded to a bigger suite, which was still stuffy, but much better air conditioning.
The hallways, corridors also stay pretty warm, and the ground floor with the lobby restrooms are really warm and stuffy.
So, we moved room 3 times in 2 days!! Really tiring experience, with 2 kids.
So, hotel savoy is OK, but does need some upgrades, and do need some working air conditioning in the super warm summer weather!
However, hotel staff was so understanding, helpful and professional, that this made up for our stay.
By the way, dinner at Il Latini is a must! This was recommended by a friend, and hotel endorsed it too. Best pasta in Italy!

Room Tip: Standard rooms are very small, bland and cramped. Bigger suites are the only rooms worth the 5 star...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    310
    105
    30
    10
    7
See reviews for
71
233
23
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Savoy was beyond our expectations. From the moment we arrived, the staff could not do enough for us. Our room overlooked the Piazza and was extremely comfortable. We had dinner at the restaurant one night during our stay and it was well worth it. The breakfast buffet each morning was terrific as well.

the only issue one may have if your room overlooks the sqaure is the noise at night; however, typically it was quite by 11 pm.

We would definetely stay at this hotel again and recommend to anyone visiting Florence.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

great hotel, with a very nice outdoor cafe where you pretty much see everyone in Florence, all shopping and major tourist attractions are within a 10 min walk, small rooms for the price charged, level of service excellent, rooms modern and clean, this is the place to stay if its within your budget and would like to experience the city of Florence

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is definitely a great hotel to check in at if you are going to Florence. The location is perfect, close to the main sights of Florence (The Duomo, Palazzo Vecchio, Ponte Vecchio and the Uffizi Gallery). The service is flawless, very helpful if you are looking for a cab or if you want to make a reservation at a restaurant, or trying to find a place on the map (actually for any kind of information). The cultural heritage of this city, the sun and the buffet made my breakfast experience one to remember. My room was not facing the piazza, but I had a nice view on the top of the Duomo. A lot of shopping spots in the area (Luisa Via Roma is a minute away, also the Ferragamo Palace is close-by). I would go back anytime!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Excellent location. The breakfast buffet was delicious. Service was impeccable, everyone was very friendly and helpful. I stayed here with my two teenage kids and it was a perfect hotel for the three of us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The location is excellent. Our room had a small balcony that directly overlooked the Duomo. The room was fairly spacious, and also comfortable and quiet. The service was friendly and professional.
We got a good rate as well as the extensive, delicious breakfast buffet, by booking through Leaders' Club.
It is not inexpensive, but I definitely would love to stay at the Savoy again the next time I am in Florence.

Room Tip: Our corner room in the back (away from the Piazza) was quiet and had a great view of the Duomo from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

I am currently staying at the hotel. Its location is amazing right in the middle of everything. But that's the only good thing I can say about this hotel (also, laundry and pressing and food is delivered quickly).

What I didn't like: rooms; my family and I found insects crawling on their beds. Mosquitoes in the bathroom. The rooms are TINY. Windows do not have extra glazing. So everything that happens in the piazza outside you can hear inside. Everything said in the hallway outside your room you can hear too.

There is no spa at the hotel. And worst of all, you have to pay for wifi (100 euros for a week) - who asks to pay for wifi at current 5 star hotels? And worst of all, the wifi comes and goes as it pleases ! I stayed on the 5th floor and I'd move in my tiny room and lose connection.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJJL, General Manager at Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy you enjoyed our location and found our service speedy however I am concerned to read your additional comments to which I wish to respond.

The most unusual rainy weather of recent months has indeed caused for a sudden increase in insects in the region and it suffices to have the window open only for a moment for them to enter; having said that our housekeeping team ensures there are no insects whatsoever during the twice daily service and are most efficient in response to any reporting.

Our room sizes vary per category and we would be pleased to have the opportunity to show you the alternatives on a future occasion. Please note all our rooms have double glazing, shutters and thick curtains which exclude most part of the liveliness of our square from the room. We also have rooms on the calmer Duomo facing side of the town. Our high spec internet is provided by Ibahn and has proven reliable. On the rare occasion that we have a technical problem, my team is empowered to handle this appropriately.

I remain puzzled, disappointed and much regret to read that the matters you described were not resolved during your stay and I can only hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back and find a suitable room category for you and provide you with our usual fine service experience.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Leenders
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy

Address: Piazza della Repubblica 7, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Florence
#21 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#35 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#41 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Savoy 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star Hotel Savoy offers luxury and style in the heart of Florence. Located on the Piazza Repubblica, close to Florence's renowned landmark the Duomo, the hotel is just a short walk from the Uffizi Gallery and the Ponte Vecchio. Just steps away from the main Florence fashion houses, the Hotel Savoy is the ideal base from which to visit the key attractions of this beautiful and historic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocco Forte Savoy
Forte Hotel Florence
Forte Florence
Florence Forte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Savoy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.