We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Savoy

Save Saved
You added Hotel Savoy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Savoy
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza della Repubblica 7, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Offer Inc Brkfst
Ranked #37 of 461 hotels in Florence
New Jersey
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

2nd stay at this hotel, great view from room over the square, although can get noisey in the evening if you leave windows open. Very friendly and clean. Breakfast has a good choice on the buffet and there is a menu breakfast also.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    312
    109
    30
    10
    7
See reviews for
71
235
24
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Located on the Piazza Repubblica, close to Florence's renowned landmark the Duomo, the hotel is just a short walk from the Uffizi Gallery and the Ponte Vecchio. Just steps away from the main Florence fashion houses, the Hotel Savoy is the ideal base from which to visit the key attractions of this beautiful and historic city.
L'Incontro Bar and Restaurant is among the most popular restaurants in Florence offering views over the Piazza Repubblica and, during summer, the chance to dine outdoors.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Found little to fault this hotel on. Fantastic location in the centre of Florence. Lovely lobby and great bar. Service first class also. If I really wanted to be fussy I might have liked a larger room and bathroom but the high ceilings and great views make it hard to quibble about this. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a further 5 days in Florence staying at The Savoy. We previously stayed here 6 years ago when we got engaged at the Hotel and were now back to celebrate our 5 year wedding anniversary.

The Savoy is pure luxury and serves by far the best crispy bacon you will ever find across the globe. We were pampered with our stay. Upon arrival to our room we were greeted with the most amazing view - laying on the bed and looking straight out to the Duomo. Not to mention the complimentary celebratory bottle of Prosecco that the hotel management provided for our anniversary.

The staff at the hotel are very friendly, welcoming and at the same time are not intrusive. As the hotel is so centrally located, it is great for access to all the sites. The room was gorgeous and housekeeping were efficient and helpful as always.

The concierge gent also provided some great recommendations of Osteria's close by that wasn't flooded with tourists and had delicous food and of course great wine.

The only item requiring improvement would be to have softer mattresses as the mattress is quite stern and that the breakfast buffet should include hot meals.

Room Tip: Opt for room 501 - the most amazing view of the Duomo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We booked this hotel in florence as we thought it had a good location being smack center. when we arrived in florence though we realised that any location is a good location as this is a very cosy little town. I didnt quite like my room, the bed was on the small side and it was oddly shaped. it was the first room next the the elevator. however having said that the quality was quite good and the breakfast was very nice.

if you do stay here have the knowledgeable front desk staff book you restaurants for lunch dinner and whichever meal you want. they have been the best recommendation i have received from any hotel staff during my extensive travels. you can check some of my other florence reviews for some restaurants shortly

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Best location, great hotel. We love great hotels like the fourseasons and the Ritz Carlton, his one is right up there. Request the second floor with a balcony facing the square. The rooms on the second floor have 10 foot plus ceings and one of two floors with baloconies. The staff is so friendly! Watch out for the bar, I paid 10 euro for a draft beer! I will absoultely be back, it is the place to stay in Florence!

Room Tip: request the second floor on the square with a balcony..............
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I was unexpectedly held up in Florence, missed my flight, and The Savoy could not have been more helpful, not only providing a room for the night, but at a very helpful rate. Lovely sheets, good breakfast, high pressure shower. Very friendly staff. This is a first class hotel at the top of its game.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy

Address: Piazza della Repubblica 7, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Florence
#23 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#36 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#42 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Savoy 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star Hotel Savoy offers luxury and style in the heart of Florence. Located on the Piazza Repubblica, close to Florence's renowned landmark the Duomo, the hotel is just a short walk from the Uffizi Gallery and the Ponte Vecchio. Just steps away from the main Florence fashion houses, the Hotel Savoy is the ideal base from which to visit the key attractions of this beautiful and historic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocco Forte Savoy
Forte Hotel Florence
Forte Florence
Florence Forte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Savoy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.