We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected pleasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Savoy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Savoy to your Saves list
Hotel Savoy
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza della Repubblica 7, 50123 Florence, Italy (Duomo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 457 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Unexpected pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I was unexpectedly held up in Florence, missed my flight, and The Savoy could not have been more helpful, not only providing a room for the night, but at a very helpful rate. Lovely sheets, good breakfast, high pressure shower. Very friendly staff. This is a first class hotel at the top of its game.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    155
    41
    15
    7
See reviews for
114
322
32
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Topanga
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is by far one of the best hotels we have stayed at, and we have traveled around the world. The atmosphere, staff, and room was deluxe as well as the morning breakfast. The only complaint was wifi was not free in the rooms and for the price I felt that could have been included. Otherwise the hotel was amazing and we will definitely stay again. This place is five star all the way.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We just returned from our trip to Florence with our two children. The hotel was in a perfect location, had great service and was super clean. We got two inter connecting rooms with a view of the Duomo on a high floor. This is a truly awesome experience. The breakfast was good too and was included.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a view of the Duomo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We went to the Savoy for our 40th wedding anniversary and so wanted somewhere special which is exactly what the Savoy is. In the very heart of old Florence on the Piazza della Republica it is only two minutes from the Duomo in one direction and ten minutes from the Uffizi and the Ponte Vecchio in the other. The hotel is very smart, very clean and very on trend. The rooms are quite understated but in a way that they are easy to live in - not too flashy, not overdone - but very comfortable and well designed. The bathroom had everything one could want. The staff were very pleasant and the concierge chose the perfect restaurant (Cestello) for our anniversary dinner. All in all an excellent stay.

Room Tip: You may find rooms overlooking the square a little noisy if there is live music in one of the restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I can't say enough great thing bout the Savoy! I dreamed of staying here when I was student and finally got my chance. I wouldn't stay anywhere else now! The location is perfect, in the heart and middle of Florence. The staff simply amazing, they went above and beyond. I felt like a queen staying there. I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: the rooms on the top floors have balconys! But the closets are great as is the bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We booked a smaller room and went for the first week in Feb. The Hotel is all that I have come to expect from Rocco group, very clean the service is all good and the staff will go the extra mile. We drove from Milan which was a mistake, did not need the car at all. More than enough to see and do in Florence, you don't need to venture out into the countryside.

Leave the car at home, the square can be noisy until quite late.

Room Tip: The square can be noisy so if you like your sleep get a room off the square. in room television serv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We decided to stay in Italy for Christmas instead of returning back to the states and chose this grand hotel on a whim. It far succeeded our expectations from the revues we read and being a gay couple they were very friendly but then when your spending almost $700 a night they should. We booked with american express black and platinum service which gives you so many perks so we recommend booking with them if you can and I think they are trained to treat you a bit better when you book with them. The food the drinks are very good and the staff very helpful and friendly, everything you would expect with a 5 star L hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a Suite overlooking the Plaza in front of the hotel it may be noisy but its breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
#86 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 368 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#5 of 457 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 862 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#16 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Uffizi
Bernini Palace Hotel
Bernini Palace Hotel
#49 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 862 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#17 of 457 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy

Address: Piazza della Repubblica 7, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Florence
#25 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#29 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#29 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Savoy 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star Hotel Savoy offers luxury and style in the heart of Florence. Located on the Piazza Repubblica, close to Florence's renowned landmark the Duomo, the hotel is just a short walk from the Uffizi Gallery and the Ponte Vecchio. Just steps away from the main Florence fashion houses, the Hotel Savoy is the ideal base from which to visit the key attractions of this beautiful and historic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Otel, Odigeo, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocco Forte Savoy
Forte Hotel Florence
Forte Florence
Florence Forte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Savoy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.