We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My god i love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Savoy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Savoy to your Saves list
Hotel Savoy
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza della Repubblica 7, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Bruges, Belgium
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“My god i love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

As i'm writing this I'm staying for the 9th time with my wife in this marvelous hotel. Situated in the most vibrating part of Firenze, with lots of great shops and restaurants within walking distance. The staf is lovely and very helpful, the rooms very nice decorated, the breakfast is a treat. What can I say more? Yes, one thing. We are planning to come again and again to Firenze in December for the future years but we will never ever change hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    141
    40
    14
    7
See reviews for
98
291
28
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The savoy has by far the best bread selection of any place we have eaten in Florence so far. The olive oil and balsamic that accompanies it is also very good. For our lunch we had linguini vongole and lasagna. The linguini was cooked to perfection with a little bite, the clams were succulent and tasty and for the first time in my life I mopped up the sauce at the end with some of the bread. My wife's lasagna was very tasty with a beef ragout as a side, lots of flavour and several layers of pasta.

The service from the staff was excellent and from your table you can watch the world go by in the piazza repulica. A very nice way to spend an afternoon.

Overall was it the most complex cooking ever......no......but it was well cooked simple Italian food and we really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

It's located on Piazza de Repubblica, which is typically very busy and a central point to most of Florence for sightseeing and shopping. It is very well appointed with an excellent restaurant and lounge. There is no official spa, but a small workout room that is adequate. Nonetheless, I had a suite overlooking the Piazza for a week as I typically go to Florence at least 1x annually and it was very well appointed and decorated. The staff is very professional and service is impeccable. Rocco Forte hotels are excellent. It's an excellent location for a business trip, solo or couples. They even coordinated a driver for a daytrip to Tuscany for wine tasting at Wineries such as Antinori.

Room Tip: If you like activity, request a room with a balcony over the Pizza. If you like a quieter room, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed in this hotel not long ago for 4 nights and absolutely loved it. I felt like a star from the moment I walked in. The staff was friendly, always there to help. The room was spacious with marble bathroom. I liked the weather forecast left on the pillow when the room was turned down, nice touch. Me and 7 of my friends had a dinner in the restaurant - the service and the food was excellent. Great place to catch up with friends, right in the city center - close to all bars, restaurants and historic attractions.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lomita, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Fairly modern upscale hotel right in the heart of Florence.
Room was quite nice, but bed was a bit like a soup bowl - could have been better.
Bathroom was small but very well appointed.
Stayed on 2nd floor with view of the square. Bar is well stocked with beverages and snacks.
Restaurant was never crowded, but food was good. Not great.
The location and the service were the best things about this hotel.
They truly do strive to make sure you have an enjoyable stay.
But you will pay for it.

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd floor room. High enough to be above the noise, and you might get a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore City, null, Singapore
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My family and I stayed here for a few days while we were in Florence. This Hotel has a great location with many boutiques in the area as well as cafes and restaurants. There was this chocolatier cafe right across the hotel with great desserts. The hotel rooms are considerably big by European standards, very clean and cozy.

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, and even recommended my family some great restaurants.

Hotel Savoy definitely gave me a wonderful experience in Florence and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Friendly, helpful, professional staff made this long weekend stay very enjoyable. All of the staff from the doormen to the concierge and those in the bar / restaurant were always happy and polite and all made sure they referred to us by name. The rooms are good and we were given an upgrade to an executive room overlooking the Duomo which was an added bonus. We'll certainly be back.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy

Address: Piazza della Repubblica 7, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Florence
#28 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#40 Family Hotel in Florence
#40 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Savoy 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star Hotel Savoy offers luxury and style in the heart of Florence. Located on the Piazza Repubblica, close to Florence's renowned landmark the Duomo, the hotel is just a short walk from the Uffizi Gallery and the Ponte Vecchio. Just steps away from the main Florence fashion houses, the Hotel Savoy is the ideal base from which to visit the key attractions of this beautiful and historic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, LHW, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Otel and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocco Forte Savoy
Forte Hotel Florence
Forte Florence
Florence Forte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Savoy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.