We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Savoy

Save Saved
You added Hotel Savoy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Savoy
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza della Repubblica 7, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Offer Inc Brkfst
Ranked #36 of 461 hotels in Florence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“5 star!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed in this hotel not long ago for 4 nights and absolutely loved it. I felt like a star from the moment I walked in. The staff was friendly, always there to help. The room was spacious with marble bathroom. I liked the weather forecast left on the pillow when the room was turned down, nice touch. Me and 7 of my friends had a dinner in the restaurant - the service and the food was excellent. Great place to catch up with friends, right in the city center - close to all bars, restaurants and historic attractions.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    311
    108
    30
    10
    7
See reviews for
71
233
24
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lomita, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Fairly modern upscale hotel right in the heart of Florence.
Room was quite nice, but bed was a bit like a soup bowl - could have been better.
Bathroom was small but very well appointed.
Stayed on 2nd floor with view of the square. Bar is well stocked with beverages and snacks.
Restaurant was never crowded, but food was good. Not great.
The location and the service were the best things about this hotel.
They truly do strive to make sure you have an enjoyable stay.
But you will pay for it.

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd floor room. High enough to be above the noise, and you might get a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore City, null, Singapore
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My family and I stayed here for a few days while we were in Florence. This Hotel has a great location with many boutiques in the area as well as cafes and restaurants. There was this chocolatier cafe right across the hotel with great desserts. The hotel rooms are considerably big by European standards, very clean and cozy.

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, and even recommended my family some great restaurants.

Hotel Savoy definitely gave me a wonderful experience in Florence and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Friendly, helpful, professional staff made this long weekend stay very enjoyable. All of the staff from the doormen to the concierge and those in the bar / restaurant were always happy and polite and all made sure they referred to us by name. The rooms are good and we were given an upgrade to an executive room overlooking the Duomo which was an added bonus. We'll certainly be back.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, USA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

It seems like most of the things in Florence are arbitrarily priced. One fish dish in a single restaurant we ate at cost $80 US, the final tab approaching $450 for three people. A day later I ate in Bologna---with the same friends---and the tab was $60. Which was better? They were pretty much the same. Just be smart and read the reviews to where you want to go, shop, and spend your money. The city realizes people will spend ridiculous amounts of cash on things, somehow making them feel that "it must be good if it costs that much!"

As for the Hotel, The Savoy is a property that caters to those who like to be surrounded by opulence. It is in the middle of everything, supremely safe and quite the experience. There is a high price tag for the stay, so do your research very carefully.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My recent stay in Florence did not begin auspiciously when my suitcase didn't make it on the plane from NYC (they told us in the Rome airport that I would receive it "in a few days.") Upon mentioning it at check-in at the Savoy, the manager could not have been more solicitous, asking me immediately for the paperwork so that "they could take care of it for me." Any distress I had from the missing suitcase evaporated, too, when we saw the gorgeous room. We'd booked a "superior deluxe" but I can't help but think we had an upgrade, as our spacious corner room -- on the top floor -- had magnificent double exposures over the Piazza del Republicca, the charming merry-go-round, and the delightful arch. The linens, sleep quality (black-out shutters and double windows,) ample closet space, impeccable cleanliness and detail, were all excellent. My only criticism might be the slightly awkward layout of the relatively small bathroom; though the marble and fittings and towels were all high quality the sink (for one) area was small, and when the door was open it blocked the commode.

Our stay was short but from the moment we checked in, each time we came and went through the lobby we were greeted by name, and regularly updated on the status of my suitcase (which we did finally receive at the hotel 48 hours after landing in Rome.) The ample buffet breakfast was of high quality, and though we did not dine at the hotel I did receive two fantastic restaurant recommendations from the desk. The Savoy is also perfectly located -- literally a 90 second walk from the Duomo and ground zero for everything we wanted to do in Florence. A wonderful stay, and I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oslo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very nice hotel, with a perfect location in the center of Florence. High end standard with friendly staff! Brekfast was very nice, but a little crowded. Roccp Forte-rooms are always very nice, this is no exeption. Good valet parking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy

Address: Piazza della Repubblica 7, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Florence
#22 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#36 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#41 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Savoy 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star Hotel Savoy offers luxury and style in the heart of Florence. Located on the Piazza Repubblica, close to Florence's renowned landmark the Duomo, the hotel is just a short walk from the Uffizi Gallery and the Ponte Vecchio. Just steps away from the main Florence fashion houses, the Hotel Savoy is the ideal base from which to visit the key attractions of this beautiful and historic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocco Forte Savoy
Forte Hotel Florence
Forte Florence
Florence Forte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Savoy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.