We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and exceptional service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Savoy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Savoy to your Saves list
Hotel Savoy
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza della Repubblica 7, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great hotel and exceptional service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This hotel is recommended by American Express Platinum. The location is great with good walking access to sight seeing and shopping in Florence. You can take a good walk around, and come back to hotel for a bath then watch people walking at the square. Go out for a shot of espresso, and gelato.

Don't forget to try a unique hot chocolate here with your breakfast. I love it!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    140
    37
    14
    7
See reviews for
95
283
27
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed here as a family July 2011.
You could not ask for a more central deluxe hotel.
The staff were great and it has the addition of having the bar and restaurant right on the Piazza della Republica. Definately tyhe pklace to see and be seen in Florence.
Everything is in walking distance. Brilliant.
Would definately stay here again

Room Tip: Rooms on far side of the poazza can be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We have just spent 3 fantastic nights at this truly excellent hotel. The central location is amazing (right by the Duomo) but our 4th floor room overlooking the Piazza della Republica was quiet, serene and spacious. Breakfast was included in our package and was very good. The contemporary bar / cafe was reasonably priced and thoroughly enjoyable. The staff were exceptional - understated professionalism at it's best. Cannot recommend this gem of a hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the piazza and make sure you check out the Fitn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Location is great, walking distance from most sights. Enjoyed the bar / patio restaurant that goes onto the piazza. Great for people watching.
Concierge is good and recommended great restaurants.
Room was very nice

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

We spent two nights and were amazed by the perfect locatin. The staff were fantastic and every recommendation we received from the concierge I. Terms of restaurant was brilliant.
Understated 5 star service made our stay great. Breakfast was included in our rate and was very good. Only comment perhaps goes to the very limited dinner menu in the restaurant. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

I went to Florence for a few days while on my honeymoon, and fell head over heels in love with this beautiful historic city.

Hotel Savoy is located in one of Florence's most famous piazzas, Piazza Della Repubblica. We were lucky enough to get a room facing the piazza - meaning that we woke up to a breathtaking view every morning.

We walked all over Florence in the four days we were there, and the location of the hotel is so central that we could get to the Duomo in just a few minutes and the outdoor markets, Ponte Vecchio, restauranta, museums, (basically anywhere you would want to go) in less than 15 minutes. The hotel has a nice outdoor bar and restaurant, which is quite pricey, but a few minutes of walking in any direction will get you to great gelaterias, restaurants, and cafes that are delicious and easier on your wallet.

September was a great time to go - although there are tourists in Florence all year round, it was nowhere near as crowded as it is in the peak summer months, and we could still enjoy the city with beautiful weather.

The hotel is very modern, both in appearance and amenities, and the rooms are on the smaller side. There are lots of options in Florence and if you're looking for a more historic hotel with a classic feel you can definitely find one in a good location and probably a better price. However, I loved my experience in this hotel and city so much that I don't think I would even look elsewhere next time I go.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

Good hotel and service,great location....,very helpful staff....if your booking,ask for view of the square

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy

Address: Piazza della Repubblica 7, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Florence
#30 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#40 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#43 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Savoy 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star Hotel Savoy offers luxury and style in the heart of Florence. Located on the Piazza Repubblica, close to Florence's renowned landmark the Duomo, the hotel is just a short walk from the Uffizi Gallery and the Ponte Vecchio. Just steps away from the main Florence fashion houses, the Hotel Savoy is the ideal base from which to visit the key attractions of this beautiful and historic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Venere, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, EasyToBook and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocco Forte Savoy
Forte Hotel Florence
Forte Florence
Florence Forte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Savoy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.