We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for a city discovery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gallery Hotel Art

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gallery Hotel Art to your Saves list
Gallery Hotel Art
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vicolo dell 'Oro, 5, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gstaad, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for a city discovery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We travelled with Nanny and Kid to Florence to this hotel, because its in the heart of town and all activities can be done walking. Its anyway a nightmare to drive in the center, so better choose a hotel in the center or then go to Fiesole, to have a great view on Florence. The hotel as great professional and very helpfull staff. If you arrive per car dont give in the name of the hotel, but first 'Via de Castellani', then when you are at the Arno River, you turn into Lungarno Anna Maria Luisa de Medici...then after the 'Ponte-Vecchio (on your left) you turn next one right, just in front of the hotel).
Very nice breakfast setting and generously layed out, good service and great ,well done drinks at the Bar. The rooms are very quiet,nicly done, next door you have the Continental Hotel (same ownership) where you can sit on the top of the roof on a terrace, overlooking PonteVecchio, the River and the city, very nice sunset and hip place.
Its a designer hotel and not a 'Castello'...but if you dont need this over the top chic from the old times of Florence, will have a great stay in this hotel. Just nearby you have nice litte Trattorias in the romantic little streets, very good food for a nice price-quality range. Fantastic.
Advice to the cleaning lady...please try to fill up every day for the ladies the little cotton pads, they are usefull and belong into such a hotel at this price-level.
But overall service was top, clean and fast! So we will be back !

Room Tip: The higher the better, if you want really calm, then take a room to the inside court, no view at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PG C, Responsabile reception at Gallery Hotel Art, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

we thank You for the time spent to write about your experience in our Hotel.

The review of our Guests are very important for us in order to improve our quality standard and to understand if our job meets the satisfaction of our Guests.

Hoping to welcoming You again in our Hotel, we remain at your disposal for any suggestion you may have.

Kindest Regards,

Piergiorgio Cavallari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    186
    61
    24
    4
See reviews for
74
300
25
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corfu, Greece
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

I will start with the positives.
The bed! Love the memory mattress! The counter staff very friendly. Room service very fast,
Now the down side :reserved a superior deluxe with 2 beds got a tiny room with 2 beds, unable to get room phone to work so I had to call with my cell for questions and service. No big deal but can get annoying. I seem to only have local t.v. . There is no information in the room on services available or the area. The lobby is dirty and tired looking. The are is a few bikes on stands and one on the wall. The music in the lobby was AC/ DC. The facility feels dirty, bathroom moldy . The rug in my tiny room was worn and dirty.i just do not think it is a 4* by any standard and certainly the Ferragamo name has been sold with no requirements for standards. I would not come back or send my friends. This feels like a budget hotel and at 584€ for 2 nights ( no extras ) it is no bargain. The Ferragamo name and reputation has been soiled

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PG C, Responsabile reception at Gallery Hotel Art, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Madame,

We thank you so much for your review, your opinion is always very important for us, only in this way we can improve our service and our facilities.

We are really sorry if the room did not match your expectation, we are making works of renovation and unfortunately we could not give you one of those rooms because at the moment of your booking the hotel was almost fully booked. We are definitely going on with the works and we are sure that if we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future, we will show you that not only the service but also all the facilities and the furniture well deserve the high level reputation we built since the opening.

We regret that you did not enjoy the fantastic temporary exhibition about bikes and cycling, hosted in the lobby and common areas and celebrating the World championship of cycling we had in Florence on past September; a lot of people comes also from outside to admire it and we are very proud of it.

We thank you again for your review and we send you our kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I loved this hotel. I stayed here for three nights on business, and I enjoyed every second of it. The hotel is in a great location, away from the Duomo, right near the Ponte Vecchio, lots of amazing shops and restaurants nearby.

The room was clean and modern, while the hotel had some amazing, unique qualities to it. I loved having breakfast in the library. Great design, layout, and amenities. The bathroom was beautiful! And what else do you expect from the Ferragamo family. Extremely tasteful and elegant.

The restaurant downstairs was delicious. I especially enjoyed the creative cocktails.
Overall this hotel was comfortable, cozy, and beautiful, and I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PG C, Responsabile reception at Gallery Hotel Art, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

first of all we would like to thank you for choosing Gallery Hotel Art for your stay in Florence.

We were very pleased to find out how much you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and we would like to thank you for sharing this experience in TripAdvisor.

We indeed appreciate all your comments, and any suggestion you may have to improve our service would be very appreciated.

We hope we will have the possibility to welcome you again in Florence, and we will always do our best to give you our best service,

Kindest regards,

Piergiorgio Cavallari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

service: feels like there is no concierge service. we asked them to book a few restaurants for us, and there were no follow ups.

bathrooms: there is absolutely no ventilation, we asked guest services to fix it, and saw no improvement after staying there for 4 nights. bathroom doors are old and worn out, the first day it was extremely difficult to get the bathroom door open from the inside, had to tell reception to fix it. honestly, at the prices they are charging, stuff like this shouldn't even be an issue.

rooms: rooms were spacious, plenty of closet space. comfortable beds.

location: good location, right by the river, and across from the Ponte Vecchio (although it's just a bridge filled with jewelry shops) , but plenty of other options in the same area and florence is so small. there's a taxi stand right in front of the hotel.

would i return? most likely not, there seems to be plenty of other choices, and i wasn't impressed by the service, nor did i feel the value of the hotel.

Room Tip: get a room with a balcony. faces the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PG C, Responsabile reception at Gallery Hotel Art, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We truly regret that you did not feel that our service levels were where they should be. I have personally investigated and proper action has been already taken in order to correct the letdown of service as well as avoid any further inconvenient.

Regarding the bathrooms, we made an in-depth verification and greatly apologize for the inconvenient occurred; we are strongly struck and deeply affected by your non-positive experience during your stay with us and are particularly sorry for not having found adequate solutions in a timely manner.

We would be very grateful for the opportunity to have you as guests in our hotel once again, in order to fully show you the attention and the care we save for our guests.

Kindest regards,

Piergiorgio Cavallari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Unfortunately, the poor build quality and the lack of customer service detract from the nice rooms, good bed, and great location.

There are other hotels with nice rooms, a great bed, and just as good location...

Location: pretty much a doorstep away from the Arno River/Pointe Vechio (iconic bridge of Florence, good only for photos unless you like jewelry because it only has jewelry stores). But then everything is Florence is actually accessible by foot if you stay on this side of the river. So although the location was great -- it isn't that big a deal in Florence as long as you stay in the main city/historic area.

Lack of Service: When we asked the hotel to book several restaurants for us -- we received no updates. On the first evening, we went to follow up and was told that the restaurants were full. This is no fault of the hotel. However, we asked for additional restaurants to be booked -- and never received an update. Obviously we didn't get any bookings, but still -- it would've been nice to know or given an alternative option.

Nice Rooms: We were told that we were upgraded to a larger room. The additional closet space was nice. Beds were very comfy. However, the thermostat didn't seem to work. When we arrived, the temperature was locked by the hotel at 25 degrees Celsius. It was a little too warm for us, so we asked for it to be lowered. Then the hotel capped us at 18 degrees celcius -- a little too cold. It was just a lot of unnecessary back and forth. There is this this noisy buzzer thing each time your room door is opened. We could hear our neighbors room buzzing in and out.

Noise from thin ceilings: Although the room was nice, our rest was disturbed by our upstairs neighbor. We could hear every footstep (high heel clacking and children running). And it wasn't just footsteps. Little things like, chairs in their room being dragged around and the rolling of their luggage. Every night and every morning. The ceilings are PAPER THIN. This is reason enough for me not to stay here again because our evening sleep and morning sleep in were disturbed.

Entrance / Lobby at night: We felt like we were walking into some club or fancy restaurant each night. For us, this was a little uncomfortable because there were bouncer like men standing outside and smoking. We just wanted to walk into a welcoming, relaxed environment.

Would I stay again? It is an unfortunate no because of the paper thin ceilings. If they could just fix that... I would totally stay here again.

Room Tip: Get the top floor so you don't have to hear footsteps from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PG C, Responsabile reception at Gallery Hotel Art, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

First and foremost we would like to offer you our sincerest apologies for what occurred during your stay. Your feedback is extremely important to us. Seeing that your comments were very well detailed I would like to take the opportunity to personally excuse myself and my staff for any inconvenience incurred.

Indeed the feedbacks we receive are very important and if negative, they are one of the most successful tool to understand the issues which need to be improved.

We thank you for your review and we assure you that all of the necessary actions have been taken so that these troubles will not happen again.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future and that you give us the opportunity to recover and show you that we can grant you a high standard service.

Kindest Regards,
Piergiorgio Cavallari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

we stayed here for two nights and would highly recommend. it is in the heart of the city right next to the ponte vecchio so all the main sights are easy to reach on foot. The room was small but really nicely furnished, the bed and sheets were fab. Good size bathrooms and nice toiletteries. They booked us in to two really good restaurants for dinner and were very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PG C, Responsabile reception at Gallery Hotel Art, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for the marvelous review! I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel one day soon, the next time doing our very best to offer you a complimentary upgrade to a more spacious room! Thanks again!

Piergiorgio Cavallari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

If we could rate this hotel at 2.5 we would. We are generally a very easy going and not hard-to-please couple while traveling but we both found the service at this hotel to be pretty awful. The people at the front desk were what can only be described as rude and unhelfpul. Upon getting to the hotel 3 hours before check-in, the person at the front desk pretty much chuckled and said "we don't have rooms now, come back at 2 PM" or something to that effect instead of an "i apologize but we don't have any rooms available at the moment." Who chuckles at weary travelers? You also had to really get their attention as they always had their heads down when you approached them (even though they knew you were there). There was a bit of a "snob factor" feel to this hotel.

The rooms themselves were ok - not super clean but certainly not dirty. Plenty of closet and dresser space which was a plus. We found the furniture to be a little old and tired .

One of the plusses of this hotel was its location - it's quite close to everything - Uffizi, Ponte Vecchio (though Florence is so small that most hotels are close to all of these sites). The other plus was the outdoor seating area but we found some of the staff there to be a bit on the rude side as well (one of the men with longer hair, not the women who were all very sweet and nice).

We really didn't feel welcome or at home in this hotel. The only bright spot was the porter at the front who gave me an umbrella while it was raining. Other than that, all the staff were pretty unwelcoming, and bordering on rude. I think this hotel needs to remember that it is in the service industry and could brush up on its manners. Other than this hotel, we really enjoyed Florence!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PG C, Responsabile reception at Gallery Hotel Art, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We truly regret that you did not feel that our service levels met your expectations.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointment we caused you; I have personally investigated and proper action has been taken in order to correct the letdown of service as well as avoid any further recurrence.

Again we regret if all these problems have left you a bad memory of your stay with us and that your visit was not as enjoyable as you had expected. We would be very grateful for the opportunity to have you as guests in our hotel once again, in order to fully attest to the amount of care and attention we put into selecting our highly-qualified, client-oriented staff.

Kindest regards,

Piergiorgio Cavallari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gallery Hotel Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallery Hotel Art

Address: Vicolo dell 'Oro, 5, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Florence
#31 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#49 Family Hotel in Florence
#57 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gallery Hotel Art 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests are invited to vernissages of exhibitions which take place in the public areas of the hotel.Gli Ospiti sono inviati ai vernissage delle mostre allestite nelle aree comuni dell'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Gallery Hotel Art reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallery Art
Gallery Hotel Florence
Gallery Hotel Art Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gallery Hotel Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.