We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic, Perfectly Located and Well-Priced” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gallery Hotel Art

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gallery Hotel Art to your Saves list
Gallery Hotel Art
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vicolo dell 'Oro, 5, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Chic, Perfectly Located and Well-Priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

This little boutique hotel is located in a small piazza just behind the buildings directly facing the river, right near Ponte Vecchio. Hip, stylish, with a great bar with patio seating where you can relax for a few hours in between sight seeing and shopping. It's in the middle of it all yet tucked away so that you can duck in for some respite from the crowds. The staff were a pleasure as well - they were more than happy to help with dinner reservations, directions, really anything. And really, i thought it was well-priced. We really enjoyed ourselves and would definitely come back.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    186
    61
    24
    4
See reviews for
74
300
25
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The hotel is stylish, comfortable, and located in a quiet square just round the corner from the Ponte Vecchio. Our room was very clean and well furnished (one level up from the most basic rooms,) with a spacious bathroom. Public areas are chic, with the library lounge a good place to relax. Breakfast can be taken either within the hotel, or at the sister hotels (the Continentale across the road, or Lungarno across the river- nice for a bit of variety) Having access to the facilities at those sister hotels was quite a benefit, with the Continentale having a very pleasant Relaxation Room overlooking the Ponte Vecchio (far from the madding crowds, while being meters away) and a fantastic roof terrace bar. While the Continentale has more facilities than the Gallery Hotel it is also more expensive- it makes sense to stay at the Gallery, while having full access to the Continentale anyway.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We have stayer here before and this time, came back with our kids ages 15 and 12. The family suite was perfect for us. We had two separate doorways in a common hall to give us a little space. The breakfasts are excellent and the location cannot be beat. It's a modern hotel with stylish Ferragamo amenities right in the heart of Florence. Steps away from the Ponte Vecchio yet quiet in the evening. The front desk staff was very helpful and we enjoyed our stay. Will definitely recommend this to friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, Connecticut, USA
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This has been my fourth stay at Gallery Art and each time I come I hope I will like it more - but that hasn't been the case. As for location - about 100 yards from the Ponte Veccio - there IS NO PLACE IN FLORENCE with a better location - (except maybe the two Ferragamo sister properties - Continentale and Lungarno Suites). The hotel is chic and hip, but in many ways I find it cold and sterile. The lobby is stark and not beautiful in any way, nor comfortable. I do like the sitting room that doubles as a breakfast room - that is lovely. The rooms are comfortable and modern. I had a suite this visit and I love the giant rain shower. I did not care for the long black hairs I found in the bathroom and bedroom however, nor the ants on my couch. Nasty. Despite the great location of the hotel there are no views. Go across the alley to the sister hotel - Continentale and go to the rooftop bar for a great view - or better - stay at Lungarno Suites and eat at their amazing restaurant overlooking the Arno.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We recently stayed at the Gallery Hotel Art in Florence for a short break. The Hotel is situated in an excellent location and served as an ideal base for us to explore the many beautiful attractions Florence has to offer.

The Gallery room which we stayed in was in excellent condition - it had been decorated to a very high standard, was a good size and was impeccably clean. The only thing which we felt was missing was some tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

The only two complaints we would have were:

(1) The wi-fi access was generally unreliable and you were regularly needing to get new passwords from reception if you wanted to access the Internet; and
(2) The £25 per head breakfast charge was rather steep given that the menu was basically limited to Cornflakes and toast. This being said, with the wealth of choices for food in the local area, we did not feel that this was a major drawback.

All in all, an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais, Portugal
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

At arrival, reception was empty, we were the only guests, the lady in reception was at the computer and for about half a minute ignored us. After this bad start, she was OK. During our stay I needed to print an email with the voucher for the uffizi museum, but at the reception I was told that they don't have a business center, so they couldn't solve my "problem" as I didn't have my laptop. The room was cozy and comfortable, bathroom very small. Breakfast with very good products. Nice bar. Perfect location for tourism in Florence. Comfortable stylish boutique hotel, could be excellent with a bit more guest friendly reception.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Contemporary styley hotel right by river Arno and the Ponte Vecchio. It's is 5 minutes walk to all the beautiful florentine buildings. The duomo, Uffizi gallery etc. lots of restaurants, cafes, and gelateria nearby.
The breakfast is good. Nice choice of fruit and pastries but you can also have eggs and cold meat and cheeses.
Service is great. Wifi a bit slow bit bits free.
The bar has a fan cocktail menu and the bar tender recommended some excellent Tuscan red wine.
My room was on a corner overlooking the entrance and bar so was a little noisy but bit had a small balcony which would be so nice to sit out on in the summer.
Bathroom a little small and dated. Ferragamo toiletries so what's not to like?

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gallery Hotel Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallery Hotel Art

Address: Vicolo dell 'Oro, 5, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Florence
#31 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#49 Family Hotel in Florence
#57 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gallery Hotel Art 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests are invited to vernissages of exhibitions which take place in the public areas of the hotel.Gli Ospiti sono inviati ai vernissage delle mostre allestite nelle aree comuni dell'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Gallery Hotel Art reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallery Art
Gallery Hotel Florence
Gallery Hotel Art Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gallery Hotel Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.