We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very well located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hermitage

Save Saved
You added Hotel Hermitage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Hermitage
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vicolo Marzio 1 | Piazza del Pesce, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 461 hotels in Florence
East Yorkshire
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“very well located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed in room 307. The room for a European city in an old building is of an acceptable size, double bed, TV (few English channels),aircon/heating, good storage and a very large bathroom with whirl-pool bath/shower, hair dryer and quite clean. As other reviewers have said the reception is on the fifth floor however after a few steps from the street there is an elevator (small)that will whisk you up to check in. We walked to the hotel from the train station with hand luggage which took about 10-15 minutes and although the entrance is off a side street and quite hidden once you have arrived at the ponte de vecchio its just past the ice cream shop. The best two things about the hotel are its location, very central which means you can walk everywhere and if you need an hour to rest up after a long morning of sight seeing you can and its wonderful terrace which looks over the river Arno on one side and the towers/rooftops of the city on the other. A real peaceful break from the busy city below.
Breakfast is fine with a good choice of cheese/hams/bread and sweet things etc with good coffee served by English speaking staff. In general all the staff we encountered were pleasant, helpful and always willing to provide us with any advice/assistance we required.
We did encounter noise on the Saturday evening/night/early hours where the square below our room appeared to act as an amphitheater and gathering point for those wishing to squeal/shout/scream/sing/talk loudly so much so that our sleep was severely disrupted. Although on subsequent nights it could never be said to be 'quiet' we were however less disturbed. There is double glazing but this did not keep the noise at bay. We have stayed in many cities over the years however would have to say the Saturday night 'performance' was amongst the loudest we have encountered. We did not stay in high season and would be concerned if the noise level we encountered on the one night was repeated throughout our stay.
I would however confirm that other than the street noise on one night we enjoyed our stay in the hotel and if ever returning to Florence would consider staying here again.I would suggest that those who are disturbed by such noise speak to the hotel beforehand and certainly in the high season to ensure allocation of a room where noise levels are less.
This is a charming hotel that is very well located.

Room Tip: Ask in advance for a quiet room. You will get the views from the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    136
    21
    8
    3
See reviews for
79
156
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is a very pleasant hotel with a very friendly staff. There is a neat sitting area next to reception where you can play cards, have a drink, or just relax. The rooms are clean and well-decorated. Breakfast is good and you can order off a menu if you want more than the typical Italian breakfast - for Americans you can get bacon and eggs. You can have breakfast in your room too if you wish. The one drawback for us was that there is a staircase from the street up to the first floor of the hotel. We had older people with us who had some difficulty walking up the stairs. Florence is a very compact city and there are lots of restaurants near the hotel. There is also a gelato stand at the front of the building in which the hotel is located.

Room Tip: There is some street noise as is typical in cities in Italy because of the scooters so higher rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is the 3rd time in the last 30 years that I have stayed at the Hotel Hermitage.
The location is fantastic. Staff is very helpful. And it is seconds (really) from the Ponte Vecchio. Although we stayed for
3 nights in March and couldn't take advantage of the rooftop terrace, we were still able to go up for a minute
to take in the view. Breakfast is awesome. And there's a lovely living room to read the paper, play cards or
just plan the day. We toured Tuscany for two days but still drove back to the Hermitage at the end of the day
and did not regret it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

A little gem of a hotel in a perfect location. Our room was clean and basic - exactly what was needed when you are out pretty much all day (and a comfy bed). We were hoping for a room overlooking the Arno, but had a courtyard looking room which was perfect and I imagine a lot quieter (though I recommend ear plugs in any city!). The continental breakfast was delicious and served in a very pretty room. The roof terrace will be great in summer, but appreciated on a bright blue, but cold March day too. The staff were friendly and very helpful in booking us galleries and restaurants. A wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Our room on the courtyard (306) had a big comfy bed and good bathroom with a whirlpool bath (to ease...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We (husband, 9 year old daugher and I) had a great 3 night stay here in Feb half term. We took a taxi to the hotel because we had our luggage with us as we were travelling by train but is an easy 15 min walk from the central train station. The hotel is next to the Ponte Vecchio and is really well located as it is easy to see all the sights on foot. The rooms are lovely with great views over the roof tops in Florence.The view from the rooftop garden is great. The staff were friendly and accomodating. Venchi's ice cream parlour is nearby and is a must for any ice ream lovers!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We had a lovely 5 night stay in the Hermitage in January. Brilliant location, right next to the Ponte Vecchio with major sights within walking distance, you couldn't find a better location for visiting Florence. Friendly helpful staff, a lovely continental breakfast each morning, comfortable rooms; it was real haven at the end of a long day of walking and sight seeing in the rain.

We had a family room (two adults and 2 children, 1 a teenager) on the 2nd floor which looked over the piazza behind the hotel. Although tight there was more than enough room for the four of us. The breakfast room is on the 5th floor with beautiful views over the roof tops of Florence. If you stay here make sure you go up to the sundeck on the roof to enjoy splendid views across Florence.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We selected this hotel based on TA reviews. The location, right near the Ponte Vecchio was ideal, and everything we wanted to see in Florence was within walking distance, though we did take taxis to/from SMN train station, because of our luggage. The value for the hotel was great, and the breakfast had many items to choose from, though we only took advantage of it once.

The bedroom itself (a deluxe double) was clean & small but standard for European standards. The bathroom was large, warm water was plentiful, and the heater in the room was easily controlled. The building is old (obviously) and the windows are not well sealed--because of this I still had to use two extra blankets in addition to the heater, and we were awakened by so much noise each night. Based on some of the other reviews, we were glad to have received a room not facing the river, but the courtyard our room overlooked was almost more loud as the sound seemed to echo and funnel up to our 4th floor room. We heard voices all nights, as the concert hall in the courtyard emptied, alarms sounding (car or building?), garbage trucks, street cleaners, barking dogs, and anything else you could think of. I brought earplugs, and used them religiously, and still had rough sleep each night. It was a little cold to take advantage of the hotel rooftop garden terrace, but we could definitely appreciate the view from there.

I'm not sure if I would return, but if this hotel fits your budget, I would definitely still recommend it, just be sure to pack some good earplugs!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hermitage

Address: Vicolo Marzio 1 | Piazza del Pesce, 50122 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#98 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hermitage 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hermitage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.