We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent small hotel and great value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casci

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casci to your Saves list
Hotel Casci
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Camillo Cavour, 13, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #23 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Excellent small hotel and great value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

Booked this hotel due to tripadvisor recommendations and was not disappointed. It is only 2 stars, but the rooms were better than at the 4 star Laurus we stayed at the previous week (we were in Chianti in between).
The hotel is on an old buildnig but is quite new and modern inside. The room was big and even had a spa bath. Ample storage space - the bedroom area was separated from the bsthroom and storage area. Service was excellent and like a family home.
Excellent value at the price. Breakfast okay rather than great.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,472
    482
    66
    19
    9
See reviews for
566
819
116
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

I simply could not have chosen a better hotel in Florence for so many reasons.

Location, location, location! Hotel Casci is just a quick cab ride from the train station, two blocks from the Basilica of St. Mark's, and just a block from the best gelataria in Florence. We were able to walk to dinner each night and to most of the sights we visited.

Paolo and his mother, Carla, were delightful hosts. They truly cared about our comfort and enjoyment while in their beautiful city. They treated us like old friends!

Breakfast included a wide variety of delicious foods. Our favorites were the 6-minute eggs on the best toast! Carla's homemade hot chocolate was a yummy start to each day!

Paolo and Carla were both very knowledgeable about Florence's museums and beautiful piazzas. Without their input, we would have missed out on some fabulous places.

Late in the afternoon, we'd gather at the hotel's honor bar to relax and plan the next day's fun. Ice cubes in Europe, yeah!

We followed Paolo and Carla's restaurant suggestions for dinner each night and were never disappointed, fabulous food and wine!

When it came time for the train to Rome, we all felt like we were leaving family!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

My husband and I recently made a last minute, one night stop in Florence and found this hotel via tripadvisor. We were extremely impressed by how friendly and accomodating the staff was. The suggested a perfect resteraunt for us with great food! We got there a few hours early and they were happy to hold our bags for us to give us a chance to get out and explore the city. The next morning we enjoyed their complimentary breakfast with a homey, family feel and then left our bags again through the afternoon.
I found the rooms to have a sort of dormitory feel to them, but they offered us everything that we needed for our short stay. Great experience!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville, fl
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

We were greeted when we arrived at this family run hotel by Carla ( mother of Paolo).
She was so kind and friendly and wanted to make our stay perfect. She helped us with anything we asked about. Our room was very comfortable and the bathtub was a delight!
The breakfast was very good......we loved our soft boiled eggs!
Paolo, Carla and other staff helped us with dining reservations and suggestions and they were always great places.
The Hotel had a bar in which it was such fun to have a drink after a long day of sightseeing.
Thank you so much Hotel Casci for making our stay in Florence a wonderful experience!!!!!

Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastIslip, NewYork
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

My husband and I had been visiting from New York, family in Asolo for a week. We found this hotel on Trip Advisor. This was our third visit to Florence in the past four years. We adore Florence! This hotel is not on the Arno nor is it" A Room With A View". It is something more. A warm, friendly place for the traveler. A basic ,clean room. Very basic. A very helpful, courteous staff who fuss over you like a good friend. Always a smile, always How are you, can we help with anything.? An excellent breakfast, free internet, help with anything from museum times to good restaurant recommendations, to helping with train reservations. If this is your first time away from home, perhaps a tour is what you would need but for the more seasoned, middle class traveler, this was a perfect find. The staff were friendly and warm. Love to them all. We will stay there again. xxx

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUMBAI
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

10 min walk from the station. The staff (seems a family) was very co-operative. They helped us with the sightseeing, save some money on unnecessary tours etc. which we did on our own thanks to their guidance. Of the 3 rooms that we had, first room while the other 2 were large with beds that could accommodate four people (1+2+1) perfect for families. All rooms had no view, but we didnt care as we were out all the time. The floor is tiled and was cold. The heating was fine, but the tiles did not heat up and felt cold. They should start providing bathroom/room slippers for start until they carpet or wood the floor.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, British Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

We had wonderful 8 days exploring Florence that included our stay at the Casci Hotel.

The accommodation was great. Rooms are a bit small but comfortable and clean and quiet.

The location is ideal. We walked to all major sites, including Piazzale Michaelangelo overlooking the city.

The buffet breakfast hasa wide array of delicious choices. In the lobby you will find a free internet terminal available.

The family owner/management was kind and helpful. We appreciated their careful monitoring of the hotel. This is not a party hotel and we were glad for that. It made our stay delightful and we stronly recommend this establishment to anyone going to the wonderful city of Florence.

Glen & Lois Pattison
Parksville, BC Canada

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Casci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casci

Address: Via Camillo Cavour, 13, 50129 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Florence
#18 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Casci 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Casci is a small family managed hotel located in an ancient palace right in the heart of Florence, just a few steps from the Duomo and the Accademia (David), within walking distance from all museums and sights. It can be easily reached from the main railway station and by car, too, with a valet garage nearby. All rooms have private bathroom, air conditioning, flat screen TV with DVD, free WI-FI, hairdryer, fridge and safety-box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, T4B, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Casci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casci Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casci, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.