We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and spacious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casci

Save Saved
You added Hotel Casci to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Casci
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Camillo Cavour, 13, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #18 of 461 hotels in Florence
Seattle, Washington, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean and spacious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The room was extremely spacious and air conditioning was great. Both of which are hard to find on a budget in Italy. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the location was close to everything. Parking is a little difficult, but there is a 3rd party valet service available for $25 Euro/ day. The rooms are outdated and beds need to be replaced, but that was the least of or worries with everything else being comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casci, Manager at Hotel Casci, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time in writing this comment !! We are so happy to learn that you have found our staff to be friendly and helpful and our accomodation comfortable and clean - plans are already ahead for renovating our rooms and a good number of them will be refurbished this coming winter, so that they will be ready for your next visit (we hope!).
Thank you again !!
Paolo and family and staff - Hotel Casci - Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,828 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,314
    435
    55
    17
    7
See reviews for
492
721
98
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

You will not get luxurious 5 star anonymity here. But you will get a nice, clean perfectly situated hotel with friendly and helpful staff, who clearly enjoy their work.
This suited us down to the ground (although it was on the first floor).
You won't get vistas from the window, but within a couple of minutes you will be in the thick of it, with more culture and food than you can shake a stick at.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casci, Manager at Hotel Casci, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
How nice of you !! Yes, we are definitely not a luxury establishment, but we put all of our life and soul in order to have our guests enjoy their stay in a small and cozy family place !!
Hope to meet you again sometimes,
Paolo and family and staff - Hotel Casci - Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

With just a 10 minute walk from the train station, 5 minute walk to the Duomo and around the corner from the Accademia this hotel is right where you want to be...not to mention being a block away from the busy market selling Italian made leather products. The room was nice and the staff at the Casci couldn't have been more helpful or cheerful. I would highly recommend this hotel to anybody looking to be a few minutes from the main attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casci, Manager at Hotel Casci, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
So happy to learn that you have enjoyed our staff and our central location - we hope to be able to welcome you again sometimes again !!
Paolo and family and staff - Hotel Casci - Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The excellent rating is all about the location (brilliant) the service and the breakfast. This would arguably be the best service we have ever received in a hotel. The whole family were excellent! At breakfast nothing was too much trouble, constantly topping up coffee or offering you more

Exceptional work from reception staff (cannot remember his name, but he is very tall!). Within 10 minutes of arriving, because we only had 2 days stay he had organised a museum tour, and recommended and booked a restaurant (fri night you need reservations!), and explained the main sites to look around. World class service

The rooms are basic, small, but functionally kitted out and clean. There was a thoughtfulness about the multi-charger in our room for example. Air conditioning worked very well, and our room (12) was very quiet as we requested

I would love to return to florence, and would be hard pressed to even consider a different hotel. For a short stay i think its ideal. If you are looking for luxury this isnt it, but otherwise i would highly recommend

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casci, Manager at Hotel Casci, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
It is so rewarding to learn that our efforts are appreciated - this guests really get to the point - without being fancy, we try our utmost to have our guests enjoy their stay so that they can go home with nice memories of Florence !!
Thank you again,
Paolo and family and staff - Hotel Casci - Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here by myself for 4 nights and feel like it was a great choice. The staff were welcoming, the room clean and comfortable and the breakfast had good options including plenty of fruit. The room was smaller than any others I had had (in Rome, Milan, Venice etc) but it was functional. Also, there was some noise from families arriving home between 10-12 at night. I.e. kids running up and down the hallway. But it didn't worry me since I was awake past then.
Overall, I'm glad I chose this place to stay, but if you don't like noisey kids, probably better to stay at somewhere a little less family.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Florence is a beautiful place made all the more pleasant by the excellent location of the hotel. You are only a 5 min walk to the centre of Florence, easy walking distance to the train station and all the squares and Ponte Vecchio. Shame the actual entrance is not more asthetically pleasing as the entrance is on the second floor up an ancient lift. This is due to the building being a conversion so has funny shaped rooms and corridors which I personally found endearing! Its run by the whole family and we were checked in by Im guessing Mama Casci?We likened her to an Italian version of an Irish mother. So sweet, helpful and friendly, we received a quick explanation of location and attractions then shown to our room. She offered a free drink at the bar as we were celebrating on wedding anniversary/mini moon on our trip and was overall incredibly welcoming.
Our room was at the back of the building and although not everyone's cup of tea as it was dark it was perfect for us as it was so quiet. In fact I had the best sleep here of all the four hotels we stayed at on our trip. So much so we missed breakfast on the first morning. Breakfast finished at 9.45 which we had missed by a good hour but Mama Casci insisted we have some breakfast and pulled out all the breakfast paraphenalia which was again very endearing.
Quick walk will bring you into the centre of Florence and the Duomo. Queueus were quite large for the Duomo so did not actually see the inside. Did have pre booked tickets for the Academia which allowed us to skip queues and would recommend doing this.Rented bikes from the rental/tour shop next to Hotel Casci and was a great experience as Florence so pedestrianised.
Overall a pleasant experience in a great value hotel and would stay here again as will definately return to Florence again. Stayed for two nights on 1st Sept '13

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Back again in the summer with two more grandchildren, ages 9 and 10 in a room for four. Here in the summer of 2009 and 2011 with other grandchildren. This family-run place has maintained its charm and coziness. A welcoming place with happy guests, especially over breakfast. The personal attention shown to guests and the location make this a great oasis in the heart of bustling summertime Florence. Room was a bit tight for four of us, but most adequate compared to other quads in Europe.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Casci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casci

Address: Via Camillo Cavour, 13, 50129 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Florence
#17 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#62 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Casci 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Casci is a small family managed hotel located in an ancient palace right in the heart of Florence, just a few steps from the Duomo and the Accademia (David), within walking distance from all museums and sights. It can be easily reached from the main railway station and by car, too, with a valet garage nearby. All rooms have private bathroom, air conditioning, flat screen TV with DVD, free WI-FI, hairdryer, fridge and safety-box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Casci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casci Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casci, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.