We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort, cleanliness and concern” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casci

Save Saved
You added Hotel Casci to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Hotels.com
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Casci
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Camillo Cavour, 13, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #18 of 459 hotels in Florence
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Comfort, cleanliness and concern”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is a such a gem, in the middle of the historic area, the hotel is on the 2nd floor on the street where the old Medici Palazzo and followers' properties were located. The Lombardi family who run the hotel are welcoming, extremely helpful and can't do enough for you. The twin-bedded room was nice and spacious and the bathroom not only a good size, but complete with all mod cons and hairdryer and bidet. TV, electronic chargers and safe usage were included in price. Everything was spotless. Buffet breakfast very enjoyable, in a room with an attractve antique ceiling fresco. Close to the local attractions - particularly the beautiful Duomo lit up at night, small and larger eateries closeby, this was the perfect location for a short getaway. For a 2* hotel this is amaziing - we got far more than our money's worth - we certainly hope to go again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,767 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,271
    419
    54
    17
    6
See reviews for
481
695
94
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I had a few reservations about my choice of a hotel wnen arriving at the hotel. It is not a separate building but rather a complete floor in a n historic building in an incrediable location in Forence.
All my doubts were quickly gone at the reception desk as I was checking in. The owners and staff of Hotel Casci are both extremely professional , caring and nice. They truly go out of their way to be helpful.
The rooms while simple are immaculate, ditto the ensuite bathrooms.
The breakfasts served in the morning are very adequate, with a good choice of cereals, juices, fresh fruit, breads, italian breakfast cakes and hard boiled eggs.and of course tea and coffee.
I woild definitely return to this hotel and have already recommended it to friends who will be traveling this year. The value can not be beat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from my second stay at Hotel Casci. My first was 5 years ago and I remember how comfortable, conveniently located and welcoming Hotel Casci was, especially as I was travelling with my Grandmother. Nothing has changed - the rooms are spotless, the breakfast great (fresh fruit particularly welcome after a diet consisting of mostly pasta and gelato) and the staff are so friendly and happy to do anything for you. Great value. One small quibble - the rooms could be a bit darker (I.e. with black out curtains) if you are easily woken up by light in the morning.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siena, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Hotel Casci is a family run enterprise and that aspect is on display constantly. The informative Paolo is on the front desk, Momma oversees the excellent breakfast & I am sure their are many other relatives in various roles around the premises. Our room was cosy and had all the elements required including a view of the courtyard but this hotel really wins points on location. It is a short walk from the station, on the third floor (with elevator) and right in the heart of the Florentine action but peacefully quiet to boot. Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

If you're coming to Florence to be 'out and about' enjoying the beautiful buildings, the Italian food, and the astonishing museums and galleries, this hotel is ideal. (If on the other hand you want luxury rooms, elegant furniture, a champagne-stocked mini-bar and endless room service, then it's not for you!)

The hotel is right in the centre of things - less than five minutes walk from the Duomo, fifteen minutes from the Uffizi and the Ponte Vecchio. The rooms are simple but impeccably clean; so too are the en-suite bathrooms. Unusually for a small hotel the rooms each had a desk and chair (for writing postcards or holiday diaries or even playing on your iPad), a small fridge for keeping drinks cool, and a clever safe deposit box big enough for cash and passports. The window of one of our rooms looked out over a quiet internal space; in another you could lie in bed and see the golden ball on top of the cathedral glistening in the sunshine.

There was a splendid range of things to eat at breakfast. The free wifi worked faultlessly. Best of all, the Lombardi family and their staff who run the hotel are unfailingly courteous, helpful and friendly. Whoever is on duty behind the desk is always pleased to see you. We'd go back as soon as we had the slightest excuse!

(The towels incidentally, sometimes judged as thin, may seem unusual to those of us who are used to 'fluffiness'. But in fact they're very stylish: plain white with an intriguing waffle weave, capable of drying you in an instant, and changed every day.)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The Hotel Casci is a family run hotel in the heart of Florence. I cannot emphasis enough the outstanding service provided by everyone working in the hotel and their absolute desire to create a welcoming environment for their guests. We stayed for seven nights and would return in a heartbeat. Yes, it is a simple place and therein lies its charm so, as others have said, if you need luxury you may want to look elsewhere.
Stayed in Room 10 which was very quiet, well maintained and clean. The breakfast, as noted by others, was generous, varied and included wonderful (and plentiful) cappuccinos. I also noted that they happily accommodated guests with dietary restrictions, including gluten-free, although I assume these arrangements are best made in advance.
I was truly sad to leave Florence and the friends I had made at the Hotel Casci. They are, as much as the city itself, the stuff of memory.

Room Tip: Room 10 was very quiet and close to the front of the hotel. I would choose this room again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

A friend recommended this place to us and we decided to go with it based on decent price and great location. The staff are very friendly and helpful. They made reservations for us for the Duomo and Uffizi galleries before we left for our trip and gave us suggestions and great tips. We were skeptical about walking from the train station, but it is a very close walk (10 minutes) made wonderful by the view of the Duomo as you pass by it. The breakfast is wonderful (a selection of muesli and cereal, lots of fresh fruit, yogourt, milk, boiled eggs, a selection of meats and pastries, juices and of course cappucino, or cafe American if you prefer). The room was immaculate, although we found the bed to be hard. We also found the shower a bit of an adventure as the water switched back and forth between super hot and very cold. However, the location is very quiet, while at the same time within a short walking distance of everything you'll want to see. We easily walked everywhere, including to the Palazzo Pitti on the other side of the river. For the money, I think this is a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Casci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casci

Also Known As:
Casci Hotel Florence
Address: Via Camillo Cavour, 13, 50129 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Florence
#19 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Casci 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Casci is a small family managed hotel located in an ancient palace right in the heart of Florence, just a few steps from the Duomo and the Accademia (David), within walking distance from all museums and sights. It can be easily reached from the main railway station and by car, too, with a valet garage nearby. All rooms have private bathroom, air conditioning, flat screen TV with DVD, free WI-FI, hairdryer, fridge and safety-box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Casci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casci, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.