We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casci

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casci to your Saves list
Hotel Casci
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Camillo Cavour, 13, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #24 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Booked this hotel fr location and it did not disappoint. Very close to all attractions, breakfast was buffet style with plenty for everyone. We were very well looked after with eggs cooked just the way we liked them.

Room was clean and comfortable with bath and 2 showers. The room was at the back, very quiet.

All the staff were fantastic and ad ys feel very welcome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,409
    460
    62
    19
    9
See reviews for
537
783
106
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is certainly not a luxury hotel - it's a budget hotel, but as such, it's one of the most pleasant hotels I've stayed in. Even though the furnishings are simple, the room was very pleasant, and very clean. The bathroom was spacious and in top condition. Location couldn't be better. Wi-Fi internet access was flawless. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. I truly felt that they wanted me to enjoy my stay at the hotel. So, even though it's a budget hotel, it achieves an excellent level of service, which is uncommon to hotels at this price range.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornwood, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Tutto bene! Friendly, comfortable, perfect location, WiFi that works!, cappuccino with breakfast, everything we wanted after a long day of trekking all the wonderful corners of this fabulous city.
The hotel is on the second floor of a renovated palazzo where Rossini once lived, two blocks from the Academy where Michaelangelo's "David" is exhibited and 3 blocks from the Duomo, the Cathedral of Florence and the central hub of the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Hotel Casci is in a great location just two blocks from the Duomo and easy walking distance from all the sights. The staff is very friendly and made good recommendations for restaurants and sights. The front desk staff speaks good English and helped us with reservations for museums, a must in Florence, and restaurants, all of which were very good. We had a very pleasant stay. There is good WiFi and satellite TV. There is a discount for cash.

Room Tip: Do not park at the Mercato Centrale parking garage. It is hourly only and they charged us over 100 e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I spent one night at this hotel, booked after reading reviews in TA.

The location is very central, I can recommend even only for this reason. Compared to budget price, my stay was OK.
Room was not so lightful because a narrow door-window is looking towards inner courtyard, but there was no street noise.
Room size was small but the bed was very comfortable and clean. Bathroom is big enough and good. Shower and water pressure is fine. TV was fine with international channels. Free wi-fi was fast enough.
Breakfast was standard, nothing special to underline.
The most disturbing part was the sound insulation of the rooms. Because you can easily hear everything spoken in the corridor or every foot-step.

In general, I do not have big complaints but to be honest, I did not understand what makes this hotel number #2 in ranking in TA. It is good value hotel but I find nothing special to underline, except the location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casci, Manager at Hotel Casci, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We thank this guest for his/her review, eventhough we wonder if it was meant to our hotel, as we are not ranked no. 2 on Tripadvisor (we are high, but not that high).
As far as room insulation is concerned, all of our bedrooms have a heavy thick door, whilst wall partitions are made of real brick / stone - the hallway has a central carpet to absorb footstep noise - rooms overlooking the street have a double or triple glaze, to avoid street noise - of course if people talk really loud or run along the hallway, this may not be enough, but in general it is not an issue, in fact many guests mention how quiet it is.
In any case, the guest admits that he/she has no real complaints for the price paid, the room and bathroom were clean, shower and water were fine, TV and WIFI, too, no street noise - therefore we are all happy and hope to welcome him/her again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Great European hotel on the 2nd level in the center of the city. Rooms are quiet, clean and don't overlook the street. Owners are beyond wonderful and helpful! The best source of information, tours, sights, hours, places to each, things to see, we encountered in all of Italy. They were always, always accommodating, patient, and kind. Spacious breakfast room with traditional Italian buffet breakfast. Fairly priced for the Florence market.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murcia, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I booked this hotel based solely on the TripAdvisor reviews - not something I'd usually do - and wanted to write something balanced in case anyone else does the same, thinking that you're getting something better than a two-star hotel.

There's nothing 'wrong' with the hotel as such, but I found this to be a perfectly normal two-star hotel with above average prices.

Starting with the positive, most of the staff were courteous and polite, although the older man who greeted us on arrival was not especially garrulous (although it was late at night). The rooms, whilst basic and looking like they had seen better days, were clean. The selling point of this hotel is its excellent central location - although Florence is a small city and so any city centre hotel should be central in theory.

However, the (single) room was very small - I'm a slim guy but I could barely squeeze around my little bathroom! Also, you have to leave your keys with reception and the main door is locked at night (allegedly after 1am but in my experience much earlier - around 12ish). This surprised other guests and to be honest, it made me feel a bit observed so if - like me - you like your independence and want to stay out late, this hotel might not be for you. Finally, there were some noise problems at night from other guests (not the fault of the hotel) and also at 6am every morning, so I assume this was staff coming in!

Overall, our stay was fine, but this is a very normal two-star hotel. Contrary to other opinions on here, the hotel does not deserve any more stars and I think that - especially out of high season - you could find better in a city with as many hotels as Florence.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casci, Manager at Hotel Casci, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We thank this client for his time in writing his comment right the day after he has left the hotel along with his mother. And it is interesting to see how opinions may differ substantially from guest to guest, even when they stay with us at the same time. We are sorry to learn that he was not so enthusiastic about our hotel and would like to include our comments.
Yes, we are a typical small family managed Italian hotel - we are proud of that and we have never ever claimed to be anything more. At the same time, we also try to offer a few pluses that usually one does not find in small hotels, like free WI-FI, multicharging station, flat screen TV's and DVD in each room, tour and museum reservation service, buffet breakfast, etc. - this guest himself wrote to us a few times prior to arrival for additional information and took advantage of our museum reservation service and also changed his reservations and we happily and readily accomodated his needs, which was not always easy as he and his mother stayed with us over Easter week, which is very high season in Florence.
As regarding the rooms, he and his mother booked two single rooms – from the very beginning they asked for two quiet rooms as they had some sleeping issue, and in fact we allocated them two rooms at the end of our hallway, so that they would not be disturbed – btw, our breakfast staff arrives at 7am but the breakfast area is literally miles away from their rooms, whilst the maids arrive at 8-9am, therefore we have no idea what noise would be at 6am – however, as they stayed for four nights, had they mentioned it we could have investigated. Our hotel spans over two ancient buildings both centuries old and therefore rooms are not standardized and vary in size - whilst we appreciate that single rooms are not very large, like in most hotels in Italy and Europe, they are fully equipped and the two these guests had have a queen size bed each – we have regular working and studying guests who come year after year for week long stays and they are always very happy. We have in plan to refurbish the rooms, and all going well this will probably start from next winter onwards.
As regarding leaving the room keys at reception, yes, this is common practice in small hotels and in fact usually guests appreciate that, as it is much safer, as there is always a control on who enters the hotel, both during the day and especially at night – there is no intention on intruding the guests’ independence, right the contrary, it is for their own safety – plus the fact it is always nice to smile at the guests coming back and asking if they are enjoying their time – that’s our main aim, establishing a nice atmosphere with our guests, who we like to consider more as visiting friends than clients. We felt sorry when on the last day this guest’s mother was not feeling well (probably too tired after the long Tuscany tour the day before) and we offered to take a hot tea to her room and have breakfast much later – in hindsight, maybe they did not like us asking ...
This guest mentions that he thinks that our prices are above the average, as they thought they had booked an out of high season period – in actual fact, he and his mother have stayed with us during Easter week (they left on Easter Saturday), which is, as I mentioned before, already high season in the art cities – and, in any case, we feel that for the standard of services we offer, our prices are perfectly in line with Florence rates. In fact, many comments also on TA say that we are good value for money and probably there is also a reason why so many of our guests state that we could have a higher rating and keep coming back years after years – at the same time, we cannot please everybody at all times and even this guest mentions that there is nothing really ‘wrong’ with us, which we are very pleased about, and still hope to be able to welcome him again in the future.
Paolo Lombardi – Hotel Casci - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casci

Address: Via Camillo Cavour, 13, 50129 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#17 Family Hotel in Florence
#81 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Casci 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Casci is a small family managed hotel located in an ancient palace right in the heart of Florence, just a few steps from the Duomo and the Accademia (David), within walking distance from all museums and sights. It can be easily reached from the main railway station and by car, too, with a valet garage nearby. All rooms have private bathroom, air conditioning, flat screen TV with DVD, free WI-FI, hairdryer, fridge and safety-box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Casci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casci Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casci, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.