We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casci

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casci to your Saves list
Hotel Casci
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Camillo Cavour, 13, 50129 Florence, Italy (San Lorenzo)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #29 of 463 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This comfortable, friendly hotel is superbly located near the Duomo, in comfortable walking distance of most of Florence’s chief attractions. We first stayed at the Casci in 1999 and liked it so much that we stayed there again in September 2012. To our delight, the rooms had all been upgraded, with new TVs, air conditioning and free, reliable WiFi. The modernized bathroom with tub and shower was a welcome feature, and the queen-sized bed very comfortable.
The best aspects of the Casci, however, remain the same: the location, surely, but also the friendly, welcoming, marvelously helpful proprietors. Paolo and his mother Carla go all out for their guests, providing a delicious free breakfast in the lovely frescoed dining room and offering generous, cheerful advice on travel plans, restaurants, and any other needs you may have. The hotel is well maintained, spotlessly clean. Laundry service is available. The Casci is an outstanding value. When we return to Florence we will certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the rear are especially quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,497
    491
    70
    21
    9
See reviews for
582
833
121
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Lovely small hotel up on the second story with lots of character. Excellent location near the Duomo. Nice room for four people. Very friendly, helpful staff. Excellent breakfast buffet. Extensive library of guide books to consult. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Hotel Casci is a real gem set in a perfect location in the heart of Florence. All the staff we met couldn't have been more friendly and helpful and our room was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was great and the lady who we always saw at breakfast was extremely charming and funny. The location of Hotel Casci is perfect for any visitors and the whole of Florence is easily accessible by foot from Via Cavour. We were very sorry to leave and will look forward to a return visit! This hotel is a well deserved winner of the 2012 award.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the Hotel which is very quiet and listen to the sound of the bells of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Having arrived by train frm Boogna we were only happy to have time to walk to our hotel and see the sights along the way. Hotel Casci is in a great location to see the many sights of Florence.It is in a quiet location asfar as back from the street noise,clean room,friendly people to great you and help you with seeing the area.Breakfast is ample and they even served us when we were past the breakfast time..Price is right and we will certainly recomend this hotel to our friends and realtives.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We read about this hotel in the newspaper and, hoping it wouldn't be booked up, we contacted the hotel. Luckily there was room and we found it just as described, in perfect position for exploring all of Florence, within easy walking distance of the central bus and train stations. The staff were friendly and generous, and the young man on reception gave us a tip about a guided tour around the Uffizi which frankly was the pinnacle of our holiday. There is a huge selection of city guides in reception and a lovely touch was a rack full of Hotel umbrellas whch not only kept the rain off but also helped us fend off the hundreds of wandering salesmen who thronged the streets with their cheap umbrellas and ponchos. Thanks for that!! One other thing- the room contained a charger dock which connected to every single electrical device we had with us, a great bonus when you are travelling with cabin baggage only.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

A nice place to stay in the center of town, walking distance to everything. Florence is a compact city and most people walk everywhere. Having a hotel just a couple of blocks to the duomo and the shops and restaurants saved us having to hire a taxi.
The hotel is clean and the staff is very friendly. We enjoyed our stay very much. We traveled with a small group and the area near the front desk provided a great place to meet before each outing.
Breakfast every morning was a real treat. The area is kept tidy and moving so there are no delays in getting your day under way. A nice selection of pastry, cereal, other breads, fruit, cold meats, cheeses and hard or soft boiled eggs made breakfast enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The reviews for the hotel are very accurate. Friendly staff, good service, clean rooms, great location, and average breakfast. Although there are two steps into the hotel from the street level, there is a small elevator that will whisk you to the hotel on the upper floors. I cannot speak highly enough of the thoughtfulness and helpfulness of Pierre and the other front desk staff. My husband has a bad knee injury that was aggravated by the cobblestone streets and steps in Florence. Originally in room 28, at the end of a long hallway with multiple small stairways, we requested another room and Pierre immediately moved us to a closer room (number 7). When we requested ice for my husband's knee to reduce the swelling (we brought ziploc bags for this purpose), not only did they provide ice, Pierre even offered us his personal ice bag. Kudos! We will return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#23 of 463 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,447 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#22 of 463 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,766 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#34 of 463 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#18 of 463 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
#42 of 463 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 622 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#53 of 463 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casci

Address: Via Camillo Cavour, 13, 50129 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#25 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Casci 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Casci is a small family managed hotel located in an ancient palace right in the heart of Florence, just a few steps from the Duomo and the Accademia (David), within walking distance from all museums and sights. It can be easily reached from the main railway station and by car, too, with a valet garage nearby. All rooms have private bathroom, air conditioning, flat screen TV with DVD, free WI-FI, hairdryer, fridge and safety-box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Casci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casci Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casci, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.