We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try to fit this in” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum)

Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum)
Via del Proconsolo 4, 50122 Florence, Italy
055 238 8606
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 228 Attractions in Florence
Type: Government Buildings, Historic Sites, Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Housed in the Palazzo del Podesta (1255 AD) as the residence of Florence's chief magistrate, this museum houses an unrivalled collection of Italian Renaissance sculpture.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Try to fit this in”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

A great museum with an impressive collection of sculptures. Something not to be missed if you like sculptures. Personally, I decided that I preferred sculptures to paintings, so I enjoyed this place more than the Uffizzi. Did not have many tourists which was a pity. There are some rooms with porcelain as well. If you are in Florence armed with a Firenze card, please make sure you do not miss this place!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    683
    231
    39
    8
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hurley, New York, USA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Mystery of the Donatello David”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

It took several trips around the floors of this museum to find Donatello's David, and it was missed for its being unlike that of the Accademia, and being in bronze. Herein lies a worthy compliment o Renaaissance art

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“you like statues?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Statues. Tons of them. Really that's all I need to say but I'll keep going. It's a prison that was refurbished into an art gallery. Features several pieces by Michelangelo. I was especially fond of the cannon with the head of St. Paul at the loading end..

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunel
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“super sculptures”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

we visited two years ago so not this time but it was star visit down some back street a treasure of sculpture for me the most d famous names are there including the MA baccus

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edge of the Earth, North Idaho
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lots to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Many sculpture treasures are housed in the big hall. Most are nicely lit during the day with enough natural light to enjoy the works, although the darker bronze pieces are harder to see well.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum) also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museo Nazionale del Bargello (Bargello Museum), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.