We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Piazza del Duomo

Piazza del Duomo
Florence, Italy
Website
Update attraction details
Book a Tour

Ranked #8 of 214 attractions in Florence
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Historic Sites
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This large city square contains the Basilica of Santa Maria del Fiore, the third largest cathedral in the world after St. Peter's in Rome and St. Paul's in London.
Portland Dorset
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Lovely Piazza, busy, a great way to spend some time relaxing with a beer or ice cream watching the world go by!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,635
    522
    92
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Our hotel (Duomo View B&B) was situated in the Piazza which meant we got to see these beautiful buildings several times a day and I never got tired of it!
We visited the Duomo on our first day and admired the stunning architecture but the best part is the views from the Belltower. It means a climb of 463 steps (there are no lifts) but the panoramic view from the top makes it all worthwhile!
The queues for the belltower are long and seem to stay that way the whole day so I would advise getting up early and arriving just before opening. We got there at 8:15am which was just about perfect.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Lovely!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Our hotel was just around the corner from this piazza so we passed through it every day, but every time we had to stop and appreciate the Duomo

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Overwhelming eye candy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

There is no place where you can get a camera angle that captures the whole experience so unless you go there you will never appreciate how it feels to be surrounded by the two masterpieces of the Baptistery and the Duomo. The patterns in the stonework are breath taking. The rest of the plaza is devoted to beautiful period buildings...and wall to wall gaping students and tourists of all ages an nationalities.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelling Scot
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Buzzing At The Baptistry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Just beautiful architecture all around but can be very busy, if you want decent photos you'll have to be there before 8:30am at the latest - Florence is big on walking tours of 30 - 40 folks who do not break ranks easily, but they seem to start after 8:30am.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piazza del Duomo also viewed

 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Piazza del Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piazza del Duomo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.