We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something You Kinda Gotta See While In Florence...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Statue of David

Statue of David
Galleria dell'Accademia | Via Ricasoli 58-60, 50122 Florence, Italy
+39 0552388609
Website
Update attraction details
Book a Tour

Ranked #3 of 210 attractions in Florence
Type: Monuments/ Statues
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Whether or not you are into art, this is a must-see when visiting Florence: Michelangelo's magnificent marble statue of the biblical hero, David.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Something You Kinda Gotta See While In Florence...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

It was good to see....Much bigger than I thought...Not much else in the museum that's worth the line (about 30-45 mins w/o prepaid tickets of Florence Card), but it's kinda a mus do if you're in Florence...

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,942 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,698
    943
    244
    36
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just mind blowing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

A fantastic museum with David being the showpiece. I never imagined that he would have such a presence. I went to see him on my last morning in Florence and what a memory to take with me.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“huge and stunning - a real work of art”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We were told we had to buy tickets in advance or wait in a very long queue. We chanced it and actually got to see David very quickly.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasília, Brazil
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Go and see it yourself.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Some badly informed tourist think that the statue of David is the 18th Century copy at Piazza della Signoria. Go to the Accademia to see this masterwork and you will not believe your eyes.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Sit for a while in wonder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

It is worth buying the Firenze Card just to skip the queues for the Galleria Accademia. Michelangelo's David needs all the time you can give it. The thoughtful, perhaps regretful, expression on the face of the young David, just after he has killed the giant, is powerful. Other works, both finished and not, are interesting, but David is unforgettable.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Statue of David also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Statue of David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Statue of David, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.