We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if you like 14th century religious paintings...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Accademia Gallery

Accademia Gallery
Via Ricasoli 58 - 60, 50122 Florence, Italy
055 2388612
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Accademia Gallery like an insider
Buy Tickets Online
$32*
and up
Ranked #4 of 415 things to do in Florence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Europe's first school of drawing, this museum of art is chiefly famous for its several sculptures by Michelangelo, notably his David, in addition to an extensive collection of 15th- and 16th-century paintings.
UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great if you like 14th century religious paintings...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We should have bought the Florence card, as we ended up spending about this much on all our visits (€50) plus €4 extra each to jump the queue - and this one was great for the statue of David (must be seen) as the setting is exceptional - the copy of David in Palazzo della signoria is nowhere near as stunning as this one. Of further interest is the musical instrument museum, with the oldest upright piano, and the other Michelangelo sculptures, as well as the room of busts and other statuary. However, there are so many paintings from the 1200's to the 1400's all on the same religious themes that you need a real interest in the subject to appreciate them. It's a comparatively small museum/ gallery and so a visit for those interested mainly in David doesn't take long. It can be a difficult visit if the rest of the family/ party are not as interested in some aspects as you are.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,018 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9,039
    2,126
    670
    124
    59
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The David is stunning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

It's actually very easy to get tickets in advance for the Accademia and I highly recommend it. We had advance tickets and only had 4 people in line in front of us. The cost is 4 euros more but well worth it when you are on a time schedule. The David is stunning. It is ridiculous that you aren't allowed to photograph it. The only purpose I can see is so they can sell you images in the gift shop. Paintings I understand -- marble, not so much. We also downloaded Rick Steves' podcast tour of the Accademia for free and listened on our iPhones. This will help you appreciate the David and the statues of The Prisoners much more than you might on your own.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“exceeded my expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Photos don't do it justice. Take time to sit and look at this masterpiece . The gallery leads you through a selection of sculptures that show you how skilled it is to get a solid block of marble to a full sculpture. This makes David seem even more impressive and you really appreciate the skill involved.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
360 reviews 360 reviews
167 attraction reviews
Reviews in 162 cities Reviews in 162 cities
278 helpful votes 278 helpful votes
“A Must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

A Must see work of art! A true Masterpiece, make sure to take the time to sit there a while and take it in.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The statue of David was the most gorgeous piece of art that I have ever seen. It is amazing that it was carved out of marble. Was a disappointment that you could not take photographs. Line was long to get inside, but was definitely worth it!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Accademia Gallery also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Accademia Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Accademia Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.