We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing sculpture !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galleria dell'Accademia/Statue of David

Galleria dell'Accademia/Statue of David
Via Ricasoli 58 - 60, 50122 Florence, Italy
055 2388612
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #7 of 221 Attractions in Florence
Type: Art Museums, Museums, Monuments/ Statues
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Europe's first school of drawing, this museum of art is chiefly famous for its several sculptures by Michelangelo, notably his David, in addition to an extensive collection of 15th- and 16th-century paintings.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing sculpture !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Until you see this amazing sculpture, you will not believe the abilities of Michelangelo - we even took time to sketch him ourselves.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,057 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,759
    1,658
    500
    98
    42
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bangkok
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Must Do in Florence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Make sure you visit the "Real" statue, it's one of those life list things, and a must do.
The museum is only a couple of Euro to get in.
There is not much else to see but the Statue, a few other statues in a side area but your there for the David.

The staff will prevent you from taking photos, which is highly annoying.

However if you want a Facebook moment photo, there is a full size copy in the square in the city centre, commonly known as the "Fake David" by the locals I talked to.

The gift shop was very reasonable prices for some items so you can still get a something to remember the visit. I got a small David Head (~15 cm high) for about 20 Euro. less than 1/2 I was expecting to pay.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“David! David! David!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Our visit in February was perfect! No crowds or lines. Do not miss this masterpiece! We were able to see the Accademia the afternoon we arrived and take our time until closing.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Informative and absorbing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Everyone clearly comes to the Accademia to see Michaelangelo's David, and it is the highlight, but that isn't all there is to this wonderful gallery. Do take the time to have a look around at the other works on display, both paintings and sculpture. We were very impressed with the descriptions for the artwork, each work was accompanied by a narrative that was very detailed including technical and interpretative aspects for each (it was also amusingly flowery at times!) It helped us to appreciate the works that much more.

As for David, you have to see it to appreciate the sheer scale and artistry involved, it really is worth the entry fee. Everyone that I saw respected the 'no photographs' rule, which was heartening! When we visited it was relatively quiet, but it was low season (and we waltzed right in thanks to the Firenze card!) - if you're going in summer, be prepared for a queue.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Ambassador's Residence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Yes, the Accademia is really the residence of Florence's unofficial cultural ambassador, Michelangelo's renowned statue of David. Once you've paid homage to his magnificence, you won't want to miss the series of other Michaelangelo statues referred to as "The Prisoners" because of the way the sculptor's chisel "frees" the figures from the stone. There are also galleries of some nice (but not extraordinary) paintings and sculptures by noteworthy artists, better examples of which you will find at the Uffizi and other venues around town.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galleria dell'Accademia/Statue of David also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Galleria dell'Accademia/Statue of David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galleria dell'Accademia/Statue of David, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.