We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maxim

Save Saved
You added Hotel Maxim to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Maxim
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Dei Calzaiuoli, 11, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #204 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Stayed at hotel maxim with my family of 4 for 10 days because we were doing lots of day trips from Florence, the room was a bit small for us with teenage children, but we really were there to sleep, its a bit dated, rooms needing a bit of maintience,but honestly for the location and the price it suited us, so nice to go out all day and come home to a really good air conditioned room, we didnt really have a view looking out of our windows but at least it didnt face the street, which is a main street and gets really busy during the day!staff very good, breakfast basic but sufficent,no fridge in room, cold drinks in fridge in foyer (not expensive)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    265
    98
    25
    10
See reviews for
134
195
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Location is great, only 2 min to the duomo.

Be careful with booking! Sometimes it's confusing on the website cuz the single room option is under the double one! We thought we booked a double room but it turned out to be a single. We have to pay 30 euro more for a night! It's inconvenient to leave the key at the reception every time we went out. Room blocks noise from the street perfectly but not so good with the rooms. Our neighbour had a problem every time we talked, no matter how low we kept our voice. Toilet is a mess, not only small but only has a curtain for shower. Everything was wet after I took a shower. Tower is like paper

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

You could not ask for a more central location. Il Duomo is about 200 yards from the front door of the hotel. The rooms were comfortable and clean. Breakfast was very nice, with a great cappucino machine. Highly recommended. This is a great base for exploring Firenze. Ask for restaurant recommendations at the front desk.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
İstanbul, Kadıköy
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I stayed in Hotel Maxim with a friend in June for 3 nights. Our room was at the top floor and overlooking a really small inner yard although to be honest it was more like a smallish square so it was looking at the wall of the room next to us but being on the top floor it was light inside. The room and the bathroom was pretty big, plenty of room.
The hotel is right in the middle of the busiest shopping street, 1 minute walking distance to the Duomo, 3 minutes to Uffizi Gallery and the River Arno. But the rooms not looking at the street should be quiet, just like ours. Also the hotel has free wi-fi with good reception.
Staff is very helpful. Breakfast is basic but fulfilling. Not expensive given the location of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Just needed a hotel for an overnight in Florence to see the Ufitzi and other sights. Friends stayed in the Axion on the floors below. Its right next to the Duomo and above a Disney Store. The opening seemed creepy and dirty but once you reached the reception you were greeted by the most upbeat and happy staff. I saw them work out tours for people before us. The drew us maps to where we wanted to go. The room was VERY tiny but we were just sleeping there. Bathroom was adequate and gurgled but was very clean. Very quiet for being in the middle of things. We were a group of six and the hotel held our luggage and called a taxi to pick us up to take us to our next destination. They even waved goodby to us from the window of the hotel. This was the Happiest Hotel in Italy!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Maxim for purely instrumental reasons. I booked at the last minute, and this was an inexpensive and convenient option.
Plusses: Very central, clean, adequate. Inexpensive. Breakfast very basic but adequate.
Minuses: Very plain, very basic bathrooms, entire hotel is covered with amateur artwork by what I would imagine are friends of the owners. (There isn't anything wrong with this, and the paintings are anything but offensive -- still lifes and landscapes -- but are just excessively busy.
Details, if you care:
Breakfast is coffee, juices, croissants (not special), bread, butter and jam, yogurts, what appeared to be canned fruit salad, some sad apples as fruit. But it was fine.
Bathrooms have an adequate (not better) shower, no tub. The shampoo comes in little single-serving packs: they give you TWO. The towels are those thin European dishcloths, not real towels.
That said, my room at least (which had a window onto the air shaft, and hence no "view", although no room in this hotel would have one since it is in the heart of the pedestrian zone, was quiet. There is a nutty band of hari krishnas chanting endlessly in central Florence, not to mention various bands and drunken tourists, and nevertheless I slept well.
This hotel is to be recommended if you want nothing from a hotel beyond a night's sleep.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is a very surprising 2 star hotel. The reception staff are beyond helpful. They can not do enough for you. Every single member of reception went out of their way to help. The best service I have ever had in a hotel on my travels around the world. The room was basic but met all of our needs. The hotel is very well positioned in town for sightseeing and restaurants etc. As a city centre hotel it was a little noisy at night but all within reason. I mention as if you are seeking 100% tranquility then this is not for you. But if you are looking for an incredibly priced jewel in a crown of four and five star hotels this is it. Thank you all so much for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Maxim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maxim

Address: Via Dei Calzaiuoli, 11, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#128 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Maxim 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Maxim is located in Florence historical city centre, between the Duomo and the Uffizi Gallery.All major sights and monuments are a few steps from our hotel.The Maxim has, single, double, triple and quadruple rooms, all have bathroom; all equipped with airconditioning in summer, telephone; satellite tv, Wi-Fi internet connection, safe and hairdryers.The hotel staff will be at your disposal to advise you and make your stay unforgettable.L'hotel Maxim, categoria 2 stelle, si trova a 50 metri dal Duomo e dal Museo degli Ufizzi. L'hotel all'apparenza introvabile, si trova invece al terzo piano dell'immobile dove sta il Disney Store.La reception è al terzo piano con ascensore. L'albergo offre il trattamnento della prima colazione incluso nel prezzo ed ha solo camere con bagno.Singole, doppie, triple e quadruple con aria condizionata d'estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Maxim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maxim Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Maxim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.