We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand hotel Cavour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Cavour

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Cavour to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Cavour
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Del Proconsolo 3, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #157 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Aldridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Grand hotel Cavour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed for two nights in March 2011, really nice hotel in a fantastic location 2 minute walk for the centre of the city. We got a great deal so it felt even better. Great self service breakfast, eat as much as you can to keep you going through the day. Take a glass of wine onto the roof top terrace and watch the sun go down on the city. Will remember for a long time.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colamica, Direttore at Grand Hotel Cavour, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Grand Hotel Cavour.
Our roof-top terrace is open all year round and our ‘American Bar’ located on the terrace is open from April until October.
We are glad that you enjoyed our breakfast; we pride ourselves in being able to offer typical Italian food as well as being able to cater for our international guests with a wide variety of options.
We hope that you will come back and stay here again soon.
Kind regards,
Grand Hotel Cavour management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    329
    144
    51
    33
See reviews for
124
428
32
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Teesside
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

The hotel is in a great location to explore this romantic, beautiful, historic city. The street noise did not bother us, this was all part of the experience and all the hotels in this area would have street noise.
The staff were friendly and spoke very good english.Good choice of food for breakfast. The rooms were clean and we got fresh towels and linen each day. However we were a little disapointed with the bathroom for a four star hotel, it had a rather small bath with a shower half way up the wall so we could not stand under it. Grouting was in need of being replaced along was some touching up of the paint work.

Room Tip: Higher up the less street noise and better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colamica, Direttore at Grand Hotel Cavour, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive review- we pride ourselves in our location near to so many of the famous monuments.
We are sorry to hear that you weren’t happy with your bathroom. We are currently in the process of renovating the hotel and so the issue of the small bathrooms will be resolved. We are also touching up the paintwork throughout the hotel so when you visit again these issues will have been resolved.
We hope to see you here again soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

This was a perfect location to stay in Florence. We spent three nights in Florence and were very pleased with our location. This hotel is one block to the Duomo and close to all of the sights in Florence! Our first room was 223 - in the front of the building which was very loud. After the first night, discussed this with reception and were moved to room 508 - it was beautiful and down the stairs from the ROOF TOP TERRACE which has gorgeous views of the Duomo and Florence.

TWO restaurants that you MUST go to …. our best dinners in Florence:

Trattoria a Le Massace --- on the same block as the hotel --- authentic Italian where Florentines dine. A MUST TRY… delicious and inexpensive!!! You have to go !

AMAZING -- IL Latini --- a 8 minute walk - have reception point out where to go on the map

Loved Florence!!! :)

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colamica, Direttore at Grand Hotel Cavour, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Grand Hotel Cavour. We are pleased that we could change your room to suit your needs and depending on availability this is something we will always do for our customers.
If you come back we can recommend more restaurants to you so you can try out some more Tuscan cuisine.
We are also glad that you enjoyed our roof-top terrace, it is open all year round and from April until October our ‘American Bar’ is also open- allowing you to have a drink whilst looking out over the wonderful view.
We hope to see you here again soon.
Kind regards,
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed in Grand Hotel Cavour in April 2012. The hotel room is very clean, staff are polite and very friendly and the breakfast has a wide choice.

The hotel itself is very central and literally round the corner from the Duomo.

Be careful when you get your room...ours was the floor below the room for breakfast so was very noisy in the morning with chairs scraping, people walking etc.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colamica, Direttore at Grand Hotel Cavour, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear Guests,
It was a pleasure to read your positive review.

Our staff is always available to provide all the information you need and the breakfast is organized to suit the taste of our international guest. The position of Grand Hotel Cavour is a value added, in fact all the major monuments and museums are walking distance.

Visit our official web site or subscribe to our newsletter so you will always be updated on our new offers .
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I just arrived from my 8 day Italy trip through Gate 1. Out of the other hotels (Grand Hotel Principe in Venice and Grand Hotel Palatino in Rome) this one was the most spacious. I loved the feel of the room and the furnishings. The downside is that we were given a room that faced the street. At night, it was very noisy. This made it hard for us to sleep with all the craziness of the night. Florence is very active at night (which is a good thing for young people). Not so good when you are trying to sleep.

I loved this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colamica, Direttore at Grand Hotel Cavour, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
The Grand Hotel Cavour is a mix of elements: our terrace Michelangelo, our location in the city center and the work of our staff ready to meet the needs of guests to make your stay enjoyable.
Sometimes you can hear the noise because the hotel is situated in downtown where there are many places and people especially during the weekend

Visit our website to enjoy our best offers in every season.
Kind regards
The Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

The hotel is right in the heart of Florence and an ideal base to get to all the major sites. We arrived by car and even with a GPS, it was hard to find as many of the streets are one-ways, extremely narrow and everyone walks in the middle of the street. But once we finally found the hotel, the front desk staff was very attentive and helpful with getting the car parked.

Our room is quite basic, dark and noisy. The shower had no pressure when using the hot water so very annoying if you wanted to wash your hair -- especially if you also want to dry it afterwards with the so-called 'hairdryer'.

Other than the great views from the roof-top bar, I wouldn't rush back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colamica, Direttore at Grand Hotel Cavour, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear guest
Grand Hotel Cavour is located in the heart of the historic center of Florence near to the most important monuments of the city and is recognized as historical establishment (in The sixteenth-century palazzo of the Baldovini was turned into a hotel when Florence became the capital of the Kingdom of Italy).

The city of Florence has established ZTL in downtown and the The Grand Hotel Cavour is situated within ZTL area. Here roads are subject to constant change of direction. Probably is this the cause of your discomfort.

We are sorry if it is not satisfied with the room where you stayed. If you come back as our guest we will show you other types of rooms to choose one that meets your needs.
Thank you so much and hope to see you soon.
Regards
The hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed here for four nights, we choose this hotel because of the good location. Walking distance to everywhere!! Perfect!!
Nice rooms, friendly & helpful staffs!

The bad think is their Pub, too noisy! We stayed at lower level and we can hear the singing until 1am at night! Maybe upper level is better!!!

Room Tip: Try to request higher level!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Cavour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Cavour

Address: Via Del Proconsolo 3, 50122 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#67 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#124 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Cavour 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Cavour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Cavour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.