We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO info on Gelielo at all!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science

Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science
Piazza dei Giudici 1, 50122 Florence, Italy
0039 055 265 311
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 215 Attractions in Florence
Type: History Museums, Science Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Housed in an old palace that was restored in the mid-1800s, this science museum houses an impressive collection of scientific instruments dating from the 13th century.
Hants
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“NO info on Gelielo at all!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was a big disappointment. NO info about Galileo himself, his life, nor how he came to discover that the planet Earth is not the centre of the universe. Very well done what WAS there, good range of old instruments, but very poor on the stories behind them. Not worth seeing at all.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    202
    76
    18
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vantaa
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not about Galileo Galilei's work. Jut his name”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

A lot of interesting instruments in science and astronomy from the last few centuries. I was looking for a museum about Galileo Galilei. His work and accomplishments. In this case a personal disappointment.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponchatoula, Louisiana
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Truly unique!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

This was truly a unique museum. My husband and I spent hours scouring through the treasures. The old globes and scientific instruments are worth the stop.
We loved it but I would not suggest for children under 13 because not enough activity to keep their interest...from my perspective!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Fabulous for enquiring minds!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

An underpatronised but fabulous collection of scientific objects (and fascinating videos). The collection included Galileo's telescope through which he identified Jupiter's moons, globes of the known world at the time, navigational and meteorological instruments, measuring devices and many other displays of interest. Our 7 year old was really interested and we could have lingered longer but time was against us. Very impressive.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sosua, Dominican Republic
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Very interesting and educational museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I have to agree with other reviewers. After 1000's of paintings and frescos of the same thing over and over again it was very nice to see something different. Like the archeological museum this was different.
It is amazing on how "advanced" some of the thinkers and inventors were back then. Many of he things you saw are still being used today or what we have today is based on their inventions.
It should be on every ones must see list, especially if you have been "churched" to death.

BObK

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.