We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All time favorite place in Firenze” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercato Centrale

Mercato Centrale
Piazza del Mercato Centrale, 50123 Florence, Italy
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 191 Shopping in Florence
Type: Flea/ Street Markets, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Shopping
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Open-air market that has a cast-iron structure dating back to 1874, which offers a variety of food shops catering to local residents and restaurants.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“All time favorite place in Firenze”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I could roam around this market for hours. The downstairs has many small shops selling items ranging from fresh pastas, breads and pastries, to meats, cheeses and olive oils. A great spot to pick up gifts. The upstairs has all of the fresh produce as well as a stand with nuts and dried fruit. Great to keep on hand as snacks during your stay. Be sure to get a cappuccino while you are there, as well. I also recommend having lunch at one of the restaurants downstairs. Definitely a fun experience!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    454
    251
    65
    35
    15
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gastronomia Perini . . . BUYER BEWARE”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

I had wonderful experiences visiting the Mercato Centrale every day of our 2007 visit to Florence. It began with a cup of expresso and proceeded to a marvelous tour of the sights, sounds, aromas, and tastes of fresh vegetables and fruits, meats and cheeses being bought and sold. Unfortunately, our 2012 Mercato Centrale experience was spoiled by being a sucker at Perini's meat and cheese counter. I wish I had read the TripAdvisor "DO NOT BUY FROM Gastronomia Perini” review. Buyer Beware.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Visiting for years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I lived in Italy in the 70;s and we travelled to Florence frequently. The highlight of the trip was the Central Market and surrounding carts. THe food inside is so great to taste and look at. We often bought various products to take to our home in Italy, and we visit there each time we go to Italy to buy Parmigiano CHeese to take to the US and lots of leather goods. Bargain on the leather-They negotiate

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Food and Great Prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Save yourself some money and eat here for lunch and then get carry-out for dinner. The food is lovingly (really!) displayed. The market smells clean and fresh -- including the areas where they sell seafood and meat. We didn't find this market until our last day there -- what a shame. Wine is very affordable here...huge selection. This is where we figured out why Italian food is so good -- they start with very fine products.
OH! Everyone will tell you that you can bring vacuum-paked meat that has a date and producer label on it back to the States with you. This is true only if you lie and don't declare it. Customs took all of our sausage, leaving us with our wine and cheese. So if you want to bring meat, be prepared to risk getting caught and paying a $300 fine or "forgetting" to declare it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon FL
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Interesting for Foodies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We walked the entire market and were amazed at all the food products! So different than what we have in the states. The merchants were so friendly and one produce vendor insisted we sample the products, although she knew we weren't buying...only "window shopping". The meat products were amazing to see and the place was a great place to just look at all the different things available in Florence.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercato Centrale also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Mercato Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercato Centrale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.