We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating but a mess” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Basilica di Santa Croce

Basilica di Santa Croce
Piazza Santa Croce 16, Florence, Italy (Santa Croce)
+39-055-246-6105
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$59*
and up
Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #9 of 352 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This is the richest medieval church in Florence, which features frescoes by Giotto, a chapel by Brunelleschi and one of the finest of all early Renaissance tombs.
Scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fascinating but a mess”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

A far more interesting church than the black and white OTT Duomo, individually wonderful pieces, unfortunately a great deal of the frescoes etc covered in scaffolding when we visited, but it has no real feeling of grandeur. It's like a grand Italian market squabble with no sense of cohesion. Each contributor to the interior has done his thing with his own bit and to hell with contributing to the totality of the structure you can almost see the sculptors thumbing their noses at each other in perpetuity from either side of the church.
I too was a pilgrim to the tombs of those greats Galileo, Michelangelo and the plaques to such greats as Marconi but they only illustrate that those who presumed to decorate the last resting places of these immortals weren't in the same class at all.
Visit you should but the glories of Florence lie elsewhere

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank footloose_farang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So much to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Close to our hotel, Lucchesi, so a welcome sight to see without too much effort. Relaxing church to look around without the crowds.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“History, History Everywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Amazing place tucked away at the end of a fairly non descript square. Worth visiting for the tombs alone; our 15 year old son was most impressed with these.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank David_and_Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dapto, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tombs of my heroes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I sought out this particular basilica to pay my respects at the tombs of Galileo and Michelangelo. I ended up staying for a few hours, blown away by the art and beauty of the place. Wandering around, finding Brunelleschi's room and sitting in the cloisters, watching the rain...then, when I left, there was a gorgeous christmas market outside in the square. A fantastic experience, and one of my very favourite memories of all time.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mintster61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Special Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The church is so quiet and wonderful, I think it was one of my most memorable moments in Italy. I went really early before the lame tourists arrived (who snap 3 dozen photos of themselves in moronic poses, then leave without even knowing where they are) so that I can really walk around and reflect on the historical significance of those laid to rest at Santa Croce.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank MissSociology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica di Santa Croce also viewed

 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Basilica di Santa Croce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing