We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, but not as impressive as the Duomo” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Basilica di Santa Croce

Basilica di Santa Croce
Piazza Santa Croce 16, Florence, Italy
+39-055-246-6105
Website
Update attraction details
Book a Tour

Ranked #13 of 214 attractions in Florence
Type: Religious Sites, Cemeteries, Historic Sites, Architectural Buildings, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This is the richest medieval church in Florence, which features frescoes by Giotto, a chapel by Brunelleschi and one of the finest of all early Renaissance tombs.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but not as impressive as the Duomo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I made a big fuss about getting to Santa Croce as I had seen it in "A room with a View" and read about it so may times in various books. We eventually got to it at the end of our visit to Florence and, while i thought it was absolutely beautiful, it felt a bit of a let down after the Duomo, Piazza della Singoria etc which are all on such a vast scale that this church seems very small!! Beautiful statues outside though and the square seemed nice, tho they were setting out a market while we visited, so we didn't get a proper chance to look around. All in all, this is beautiful, but not my very favourite place in Florence.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,810 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,294
    415
    79
    11
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hammond, Louisiana
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Another beautiful Florentine Basilica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Look for the crucifix on the left side of the nave. It was carved by Donatello, and scorned by Brunelleschi. To prove his point, Filippo carved an exquisite crucifix, displayed at the Basilica of Santa Maria Novella.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
430 reviews 430 reviews
261 attraction reviews
Reviews in 170 cities Reviews in 170 cities
495 helpful votes 495 helpful votes
“Basilica dominates its own square, gorgeous interior and v famous tombs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is our favourite church in Floence.

The Basilica dominates a Piazza - and one can appreciate all of it (and get a good piccy of it unlike the Duomo). It is possibly the prettiest church frontage in Florence.

A 6 Euro charge seems a tad steep - but the church contains the thombs of Michelangelo, Galileo, Machiavelli, Rossini and many other greats as well as wonderfull frescoes, stained glass and general artwork. There are a small network of side rooms and cloisters and an art museum. All in all quite a lot of things to see.

A site that most certainly should be on the checklist for any visitor to Florence.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camarillo, ca
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
70 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
322 helpful votes 322 helpful votes
“A LOT of scaffolding covering the main frescos!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

There's a sign at the ticket window that says, 'no refunds!'. When you get inside, you realize why. The entire center section of the church, and many of the super-cool frescos, are covered top to bottom in scaffolding, hiding everything. From the looks of it, restoration will be going on for a loooooooong time.

Beyond that, it is very interesting to go there for a sense of history. As mentioned, practically every famous Italian you can think of is buried there. I would, however, recommend going in the morning, or on a very sunny day. In the winter, the church gets very dark by the time it reopens in the late afternoon, and that makes it quite difficult to see and appreciate the frescos that do remain to be seen.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

A great basilica with a wonderful Annonciation by Donatello; great funeral monuments for Gallileo, Michelangelo, Dante, Alfieri, Machiavel, Foscolo and Rossini plus the amazing cappella dei Pazzi by Brunelleschi, a cloister and a cenacolo with works by Cimabue, Gaddi and Bronzino;

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica di Santa Croce also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Basilica di Santa Croce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basilica di Santa Croce, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.