We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, but not as impressive as the Duomo” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Basilica di Santa Croce

Basilica di Santa Croce
Piazza Santa Croce 16, Florence, Italy
+39-055-246-6105
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$23*
and up
Private Tour: Lecce City Sightseeing Including...
Ranked #11 of 427 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This is the richest medieval church in Florence, which features frescoes by Giotto, a chapel by Brunelleschi and one of the finest of all early Renaissance tombs.
Scotland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but not as impressive as the Duomo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I made a big fuss about getting to Santa Croce as I had seen it in "A room with a View" and read about it so may times in various books. We eventually got to it at the end of our visit to Florence and, while i thought it was absolutely beautiful, it felt a bit of a let down after the Duomo, Piazza della Singoria etc which are all on such a vast scale that this church seems very small!! Beautiful statues outside though and the square seemed nice, tho they were setting out a market while we visited, so we didn't get a proper chance to look around. All in all, this is beautiful, but not my very favourite place in Florence.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,487
    773
    136
    15
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hammond, Louisiana
Level Contributor
129 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Another beautiful Florentine Basilica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Look for the crucifix on the left side of the nave. It was carved by Donatello, and scorned by Brunelleschi. To prove his point, Filippo carved an exquisite crucifix, displayed at the Basilica of Santa Maria Novella.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
585 reviews
371 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 691 helpful votes
“Basilica dominates its own square, gorgeous interior and v famous tombs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is our favourite church in Floence.

The Basilica dominates a Piazza - and one can appreciate all of it (and get a good piccy of it unlike the Duomo). It is possibly the prettiest church frontage in Florence.

A 6 Euro charge seems a tad steep - but the church contains the thombs of Michelangelo, Galileo, Machiavelli, Rossini and many other greats as well as wonderfull frescoes, stained glass and general artwork. There are a small network of side rooms and cloisters and an art museum. All in all quite a lot of things to see.

A site that most certainly should be on the checklist for any visitor to Florence.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camarillo, ca
Level Contributor
123 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
“A LOT of scaffolding covering the main frescos!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

There's a sign at the ticket window that says, 'no refunds!'. When you get inside, you realize why. The entire center section of the church, and many of the super-cool frescos, are covered top to bottom in scaffolding, hiding everything. From the looks of it, restoration will be going on for a loooooooong time.

Beyond that, it is very interesting to go there for a sense of history. As mentioned, practically every famous Italian you can think of is buried there. I would, however, recommend going in the morning, or on a very sunny day. In the winter, the church gets very dark by the time it reopens in the late afternoon, and that makes it quite difficult to see and appreciate the frescos that do remain to be seen.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

A great basilica with a wonderful Annonciation by Donatello; great funeral monuments for Gallileo, Michelangelo, Dante, Alfieri, Machiavel, Foscolo and Rossini plus the amazing cappella dei Pazzi by Brunelleschi, a cloister and a cenacolo with works by Cimabue, Gaddi and Bronzino;

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica di Santa Croce also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Basilica di Santa Croce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basilica di Santa Croce, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.