We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tomb of Michelangelo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Basilica di Santa Croce

Basilica di Santa Croce
Piazza Santa Croce 16, Florence, Italy
+39-055-246-6105
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #10 of 222 Attractions in Florence
Type: Religious Sites, Cemeteries, Historic Sites, Architectural Buildings, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This is the richest medieval church in Florence, which features frescoes by Giotto, a chapel by Brunelleschi and one of the finest of all early Renaissance tombs.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tomb of Michelangelo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I made the trip to this church as the necessary pilgrimage to see the tomb of Michelangelo. The tomb and monument itself is only ok but how could you not go see it? The church also has the tomb of Machiavelli and other famous Florentines. Dante has an impressive monument here but is buried elsewhere. The highlight for me was the Pazzi Chapel next to the church which is spectacular.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,672
    518
    95
    12
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Second Visit This Year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My first visit was on Palm Sunday, which marks the beginning of Settimana Santa (Holy Week). I had been in Florence for more than two weeks, and saved what turned out to be the best for last. There are so many churches in this city, and each one has a different feeling, and reason for being, The Duomo is indeed amazing, yet inside, it is a cavernous vault that feels cold and stripped down when compared to its marble exterior. Orsanmichele was originally built as a grain market, and when they converted it to a church, they kept the stone floor, and simply painted around the bronze rings that were the pulleys.

But Santa Croce....although it's huge in size (and apparently the largest Franciscan church in the world), it feels warm and personal inside, perhaps because so many famous people are prominently buried there: people whose names and stories we grew up with since elementary school days. I also love how the Medici have such a reduced presence in this church. Every other corner is not emblazoned with their family coat of arms, the ubiquitous balls.

On Palm Sunday, I spent two hours resting in the warm spring sunshine in the cloisters, which I had pretty much to myself. I kicked the sandals off my weary feet, and dangled them over the green grass, while reading a history of the church.

I returned to Florence this fall, and last week, my son came to visit. I saved Santa Croce for his last day, as well. He was enchanted by the peacefulness of the cloisters and the Pazzi Chapel (Cappella dei Pazzi), which was the perfect time to share the outrageous story of the Pazzi Conspiracy. To the left of the entrance is a plaque showing the high water line from the flood on 1966, which unfortunately damaged or destroyed so many Florentine treasures. Seeing the resting place of Galileo, Machiavelli, Michelangelo, Rossini, Marconi, and many many others brings history to life. It's definitely worth the €6 for admission.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Moving, little to no crowd. Must see.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Where else do you stand at the tombs of Galileo, Michaelangelo, and Donti? It is an amazing example of the Italian, Florentine archeaology. It is a beautiful cathedral. This was the home of the Inquisition and also the largest Franciscan church ever built. Immaculately preserved. Far fewer crowds come here, so it is very nice. $6euro to visit.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California
Top Contributor
329 reviews 329 reviews
212 attraction reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“This is a wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Sure there are churches on every corner in Italy, but ths is a place to stop and see what many other tourists will not take the time to see. It takes a little walking from other sites, but worth it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secaucus, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Best Church in Florence on the Inside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Yes, the Duomo is spectacular from the outside, but on the inside it's less impressive. Santa Croce is an inspiring church inside and out and holds the historical importance of containing the resting places of Galileo and Michelangelo.

It was also the church Michelangelo attended since boyhood and contains, in the back, the fabulous Scuola di Cuoio (School of Leather)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica di Santa Croce also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Basilica di Santa Croce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basilica di Santa Croce, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.