We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“climb the tower” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Vecchio

Palazzo Vecchio
Piazza della Signoria, Florence, Italy
055-276-8465
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Palazzo Vecchio like an insider
Private Tour
$108*
and up
Private Tour: Florence Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #18 of 415 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Florence's principal palace was begun in 1299 and built as the seat of the Signoria, the fathers of the city's republican government.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“climb the tower”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This palace is absolutely gorgeous on the inside and one of my must-see destinations in Florence. It really gives you a glimpse into the Medici family and the absurdly decadent lifestyle they led. The cavernous great hall is magnificent and the views from the tower (it costs more to enter the tower) are great. There's an unobstructed view of the duomo, which is only blocks away, from the top of the tower.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,761 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,853
    762
    126
    11
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“My favourite place in Florence so far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We visited the Palazzo Vecchio on our second trip to Florence and I only wished we had been on the first visit too.
The Palazzo is massive and the whole place is one gorgeous work of art.
There is so much to see and appreciate in there that it's hard to take it all in and the artwork outstanding many of it from the great masters.
The is a great combination of architecture, sculpture, paintings religious images even a room full of beautiful maps and the Hall of the Five Hundred is breathtaking.
There is something for everyone here, more so than most of the other galleries and museums that we visited in Firenze.
It is definitely also worth paying the extra few euros and taking the trip up the tower. There are a couple of places on the way up that you can stop to have a bit of a rest so it isn't too difficult a climb. Once at the top there is a spectacular view of the city and what we thought the best view of the duomo in Florence.
Definitely well worth a visit, we loved it here.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best place to see a fabulous sunset”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

A very unusual bridge lined with jewelry stores on both sides. In the middle is a small opening where you can look either to the east or the west. The sunsets are gorgeous from the central point on the bridge! The shops close early but the activities on the bridge go on until quite late with wonderful entertainers performing for tips and selling their cd's.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furlong, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Do the secret passages tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The secret passages tour added so much to seeing this museum. I requested to be added onto the tour and I received an email back saying to check in for the tour at the infopoint near the ticket counter. The infopoint and ticket counter are both located inside the building past the first courtyard. At the infopoint I gave my name and received a piece of paper which I then took to the ticket line where I paid and got my tour ticket. The tour was awesome. Not only to you get to climb up and down secret passages but you get to see rooms normally not open to the public the coolest of which where the treasure rooms. You also get to go to the attic and see the massive wooden beams that hold the place up. After the tour your ticket is good to see the rest of the museum which has excellent displays in Italian and English. The main hall is impressive but I think my favorite place in the regular museum was the map room. Don't overlook this place, you'll be glad if you go!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The Medici Residence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was the Medici's first residence before the moved across the river. Amazing details in each of their apartments. Don't forget to climb the tower which has amazing views of the city.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palazzo Vecchio also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Palazzo Vecchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Vecchio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.