We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go during the day and again at night!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Vecchio

Palazzo Vecchio
Piazza della Signoria, Florence, Italy
055-276-8465
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$112*
and up
Private Tour: Florence Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #16 of 215 Attractions in Florence
Type: Castles, Government Buildings, Historic Sites, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Florence's principal palace was begun in 1299 and built as the seat of the Signoria, the fathers of the city's republican government.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Go during the day and again at night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We loved seeing this place lit up at night. It's a little less crowded then, too. Such a fun area to walk through!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,599
    660
    110
    10
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Go for a "secret tour"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The guide for our "secret tour" was amazing - she brought the place to life. Don't miss out on a walk up the tower. The view over the city is well worth the exhaustion!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“BIT OF A LET-DOWN”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Main chamber was closed when we went – a pity, because I really wanted to see it again – but the entrance fee was reduced accordingly. I enjoyed the rooms we were allowed into.

The poor signage was annoying: I seemed to spend too much of my time going backwards and forwards and I wonder if there was more to see than I managed to find.

At the very top of the tower, you can’t get close to the wall, so visibility is very restricted. You get a far better view from the penultimate level, about twenty steps below.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Totally awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Phenomenal art, architecture, history, and VIEWs from the top of the tower!.... Real cool, and not very crowded.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

A perfectly preserved palace of the Medici period. Full of antiquities and art. It would take days to see it properly, but a few hours is all we had. There are many stairs...beware.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palazzo Vecchio also viewed

 

Been to Palazzo Vecchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Vecchio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.