We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Vecchio

Palazzo Vecchio
Piazza della Signoria, Florence, Italy
055-276-8465
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$112*
and up
Private Tour: Florence Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #16 of 215 Attractions in Florence
Type: Castles, Government Buildings, Historic Sites, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Florence's principal palace was begun in 1299 and built as the seat of the Signoria, the fathers of the city's republican government.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Lots of jewelry and other shopping. We experienced really wonderul views. met some great people and enjoyed the aesthetically appealing surroundings. Would highly recommend this as a place to visit in Florence.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,599
    660
    110
    10
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florence
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Fantastic Florence view from Torre di Arnolfo. Tipic skyline. I suggest the visit at sunset. In the palace the room of 500 a pièce of renaissance history

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great artwork”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Every ceiling is painted. Colors galore and beautiful furniture. No crowds. A painting of the last supper is in the Marzocco room on the Mezzanine floor. No wheelchair access to this level. Wheel chair access to other levels.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Setubal, Portugal
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“great visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

we visited with the firenze card which we picked up on site! most of the areas are available for visit so it's very nice to go from room to room and feel that special vibe from 500 years ago!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic for Children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We did a childrens tour here, which was fabulous. We have a three year old son. They took us for a brief tour (there was only us and another family with one child - time of year I think) of the palace perhaps an hour, and then the children had a look at what people would wear in that era and got to try out some of the toys and hats/shoes. Our son and the little girl who was there, loved it. great way to give the children something to do. Oh one word of warning - there is a turtle tour you can do - which is a self tour which looks fantastic, however you cannot buy the turtle bags (I thought you could and then had to deal with a tired child not undertaking why he couldn't have it).

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palazzo Vecchio also viewed

 

Been to Palazzo Vecchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Vecchio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.