We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't settle for less that you deserve” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Excelsior Florence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Excelsior Florence to your Saves list
The Westin Excelsior Florence
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Ognissanti 3, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Los Angeles, Ca.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Don't settle for less that you deserve”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2007

The positive:
This Westin really feels like a Westin. The hallways are large and the entryway is grand. The decorations are beautiful, and the staff professional.

The negative:
Several months ago, we reserved two rooms (we had the kids), and they were supposed to be adjoining. When we discovered that the rooms were on two separate hallways on the same floor, we contacted the front desk. We were told that the rooms were actually very close to each other, and that those rooms were the only two available. (the rooms were not in sight of each other) After I said that I was still uncomfortable with the distance, another room was found a few doors away from the first. The solution was acceptable, but I felt that I had to be aggressive, and that bothered me. It makes me wonder why the second room wasn't offered immediately. We didn't ask for upgrades or anything out of the ordinary. The hotel rep was pleasant, and so was I, yet it leaves me feeling a little uncomfortable.

That being said, the location is excellent, and we loved Florence.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    209
    49
    15
    12
See reviews for
188
412
26
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2007

The hotel is very close to the train station and right on the river (if you get the chance request river view its beautiful at sunset).. the hotel staff were very helpful and spoke fluent english, the conceige desk was amazing, helpful in everyway possible! breakfast was good nothing extravegant.. location wise it is 5-10 walk from the main shops which is handy..

  • Liked — location, view, conceige desk
  • Disliked — long walk to our room!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2007

Gorgeous hotel in a great location by the river. Claudio and others at Concierge are about the best out there. Sincere, kind, and caring and able to help you with all your needs. Historical property that is worth the $$.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2007

My wife and I spent the last three nights of our honeymoon at the Excelsior and found the hotel to be very agreeable. Obviously being a large hotel owned by a company like westin, you will not find so many personalised touches like you would in a top end independent establishment, but it did the job. Check in/out was efficient and the concierge was helpful (they organised guided visits of the Uffizi and Accademia galleries which are highly recommended). Views from the room over the Arno were very good too.

Your are spoiled for choice for eating out in Florence, but be aware that during August a lot of places close for summer vacation. We stayed in Florence 6 years ago and decided to revisit the places we went to last time. The only one worth returning to was Da il Latini. Yes it can be touristy, but the visitors and locals go there in equal measure. The food is good and reasonably priced and the atmospher always lively.

Just 2 complaints that keep the Westin from getting 5 stars:

1) the decor in the room is a little dated and is in need of a refurb.
2) the night before we arrived, there was heavy rain. We found that the french windows to the balcony had leaked leaving the carpet smelling slightly damp. We complained, but were not offered a room change or compensation. Slightly disappointed.

(For comparison we also stayed at the Palazzo Sasso in Ravello and the Relais La Suvera nr Siena - reviews on TA).

  • Liked — Good location, efficient service.
  • Disliked — Damp carpet by window
  • Stayed August 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westmount
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2007

walked in of the street after discovering our hotel 2 streets over was a dump. loved the service, room was great, concierge was wonderful.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2007

We booked the Excelsior through our travel agent, but when we arrived at the front desk after an all-night flight, we found out that the travel agent had booked the rooms for August instead of June. Even though the hotel was full, the front desk staff bent over backwards to help us out of our predicament. They were able to find us two rooms for the first two nights and promised to find us something comparable for our third night. While we waited for the rooms to be cleaned, they treated us to complimentary beverages at the bar and sent our bags up while we finished our drinks. Although we didn't get rooms with river views (as our travel agent had booked), the rooms we did get were spacious, clean, and beautifully decorated. I'm a big fan of Westin's "heavenly beds" and they did not disappoint, especially the first night after flying. By staying at the Excelsior, we got the best of both worlds--European charm and American amenities (large bathrooms with showers, etc.). The concierge staff was excellent and helped us get dinner reservations and tickets to the museums. Breakfast was included with our room and we enjoyed the wide variety of foods available. We would definitely recommend the Excelsior!

  • Liked — Heavenly beds
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
estonia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2007

Westin Excelsior is wonderful traditional luxury hotel, only minutes from Ponte Vecchio, Duomo and beautiful shopping street Via de Tornabuoni. Rooms are big and beautiful, with all the amenities you can expect from 5 star property. Breakfast was excellent also.
The best part of this hotel was their concierge. They were most helpful! Our airline lost our bags, so they called several times to the airport and when luggage finally arrived, the sent a car to pick it up. They also have shuttle bus to the outlet village called The Mall (shuttle twice a day, 25 eur pp), what was quite a relief to us, as our luggage was lost for 3 days and we got all the new stuff from there :) (Some samples of prices - Gucci bags starts from 200 eur, Yves Saint Laurent bags 150 eur, Tod`s shoes 130 eur and etc). Concierge also arranged us Uffizi reservation.
I would definately stay in this wonderful hotel again!

  • Liked — Location and atmosphere
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Excelsior Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Excelsior Florence

Address: Piazza Ognissanti 3, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Florence
#16 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#25 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#32 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Excelsior Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Excelsior Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Excelsior Florence Hotel Florence
Westin Florence
Florence Westin
Westin Excelsior Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Excelsior Florence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.