We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class hotel in great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Excelsior Florence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Excelsior Florence to your Saves list
The Westin Excelsior Florence
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Ognissanti 3, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Top class hotel in great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

There is almost nothing about this hotel to dislike. First class rooms and service. Lavishly furnished, excellent rooftop restaurant, great breakfast and fantastic high floor views. Across the river or towards town and the Cathedral are probably the best. Location is perfect for walking the city and arriving by car is very easy since you can drive right up to the front door. Naturally the hotel is very expensive - but everywhere is very expensive in Florence. Valet parking is handled by a third party and paid separately. If you want a full breakfast it's much more cost effective to have it included with the room. If you want an easy drive to the hotel try to avoid directions that take you through the South gate of the city and through back streets south of the river which is a very difficult drive through narrow one streets.. It is much easier to drive in and out from the West along the South bank of the river.

Room Tip: High floor, river views with a balcony are probably the best. High floor city views are also good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    209
    49
    15
    12
See reviews for
189
413
26
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

As the third stop on our Italian Grand Tour, the Westin Excelsior is by far the most amazing and beautiful hotel we have been at. The building, the room, the service - all was the most spectacular. The Ponte Vecchio from our balcony was romantic & gorgeous. Thank You so much.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Rose2li,

Thank you for taking the time to post your extraordinary review!
We are really honored to know that The Westin Excelsior is at the top of your preferences, thank you!
It has been a pleasure to have you staying with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Warmest regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

If you looking for a place to impress your girlfriend, you have to go to this hotel with this amazing and very class terrace on the rooftop.
The view and the atmospher is very romantic.
You will be less impressed by the food.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Oliver S,

Thank you very much for having shared your comments with us.
We are delighted to know that you appreciated the amazing views of Florence from our rooftop bar and restaurant.
We hope we will have the chance to welcome you back to the Westin Excelsior Florence.

Best regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring, Herts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stayed for two nights - very comfortable hotel with views over the Arno River. Well situated - about 10-15 walk to the Ufizzi Gallery and Duomo through some lovely narrow streets. We ate out each night but enjoyed a cocktail on the rooftop restaurant/bar and enjoyed lovely views across Florence. The breakfast was good with a wide range of food available - there were a number of tour parties there but the tables are well spaced and we did not feel crowded. One complaint is that there is no wifi in the room unless you have their loyalty card (it is free in the reception area) - for a hotel of this standing I think this marks it down. Luckily my husband is a member and we were offered a free drink or free wifi in the room and we went for wifi, but it should be available to everyone. The staff were all very attentive and helpful when we asked the concierge for help regarding restaurants, car hire etc. We checked out later in the day and they kept our luggage safe until we returned to collect it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Lizzyb28,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your experience at our Westin Excelsior Florence.
We are delighted to know that you appreciated the location of our property, the wonderful view of Florence and our “attentive and helpful” staff.
Please let us also thank you for your feedback concerning wifi; it will be taken into consideration in order to improve the quality of service we provide our guests.
We sincerely wish we will have the chance to welcome you again to the Westin Excelsior in Florence.

Best regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

The hotel is breathtaking. The building is gorgeous and the rooms are stunning. The workers are very nice. Especially Davide. He gave us a great riverside room, but it was on a lower floor and we called him and asked him if he could change. He was up in our room in 5 minutes and showed us 3 more rooms and got us a room 3 floors up with an even better view.
I think the rooms with a river view with a balcony are the best, but to each their own.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review!
It is great to learn that you appreciated the property, which has been recently refurbished, and mostly important it is a true honor to know that you enjoyed the service provided by our team; we assure you we will pass your amazing feedback on to the staff, especially to Davide.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Florence and to the Westin Excelsior soon!

Best regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

It is a tough hotel to review dispassionately.

Not a single glitch or expectation not met or exceeded. It is just such a tranquil sophisticated refuge from the hordes of tourists and vendors of Florence.

Focussing on the major highlights for us were the superb position and views, the "fine dining" breakfast complete with Prosceco, the generally wonderful warm service, the great value express lunch on the rooftop terrace and of course the exquisite rooms.

We agonised over the Westin and St Regis and left comforted with our decision.

Would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Any room facing the river with a terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Orange, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This was a lovely hotel with loads of charm and beauty. It faces the SR and is less the price for all that the SR offers. It's walking distance from shopping and restaurants. Very close to the train station.

Room Tip: You could ask for a room overlooking the Arno River but honestly the river is adjacent to the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Excelsior Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Excelsior Florence

Address: Piazza Ognissanti 3, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Florence
#16 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#25 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#32 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Excelsior Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Excelsior Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Excelsior Florence Hotel Florence
Westin Florence
Florence Westin
Westin Excelsior Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Excelsior Florence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.