We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Excelsior Florence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Excelsior Florence to your Saves list
The Westin Excelsior Florence
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Ognissanti 3, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed at the Westin excelsior Florence for 5 nites and were amazed at the hospitality of this hotel. Starting from the doorman, concierge to the reception, everyone was so helpful and polite. Francesca from reception was particularly very helpful in changing our room.
They even gave us a complimentary cake and champagne for my sis in laws birthday, which was fantastic.
The rooms very very spacious and clean. The bathrooms were huge.
We were extremely pleased and we will be definitely returning to this fine hotel.
We would like to thank all the staff for such a great stay and their Florence hospitality.
Ciao!!

Room Tip: Every room was cantatas tic. We stayed in rooms 357 and 209.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Christine S,

Thank you very much for your comments!
It is so wonderful to know that you enjoyed your visit and that Francesca made you feel welcome and special. We are fortunate to have her on our team and please rest assured we will share your wonderful comments with her.

Thank you again for your recognition and we would be delighted to welcoming you back to The Westin Excelsior in Florence to make you feel even more special.

Arrivederci!
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    209
    49
    15
    12
See reviews for
188
412
26
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed at the Weston excelsior on our honeymoon in 2006 and were upgraded to a beautiful suite overlooking the arnot river. The room was beautiful and the concierge service was the best we have experienced in staying at any number of 5 star hotels. We would love to return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VB_General_Manager, Direttore generale at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Debra L,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us!
We are delighted to learn that we were able to entirely meet with your expectation and to make your honeymoon memorable.
We thank you again and we sincerely wish we will have the chance to welcome you back to the Westin Excelsior in the soonest future.

Arrivederci!
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, Ca
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We are celebrating our 20th anniversary with our 2 teenage boys. After staying in Paris for 5 days we looked forward to staying at the Westin. We are loyal SPG gold memebers and checked in today. We were treated with such warm hospitality and kindness. From the front desk to the concierge to the staff around the hotel, everyone was kind and helpful. Mr. Bertolini had a special gift waiting in the room for us --So thoughtful and such a treat! They knew we were celebrating our anniversary. Thank you so much for everything Mr. Bertolini and staff! This hotel has beautiful views of the river and the hotel is filled with beautiful flowers and the room is elegant and has everything we could need. Mille grazie!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VB_General_Manager, Direttore generale at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear hppymomuv2,

Thank you for your positive review!

We are glad that you chose our property to celebrate your 20th anniversary and that you appreciated our hospitality and the attitude of our Staff. We do all our best in order to offer high quality service and to ensure a most enjoyable and memorable stay.
Please rest assured we will share your wonderful comments with all the team.

Thank you for your recognition and we would be delighted to welcoming you back on your next trip to Florence to make you feel even more special.

Sincerely,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

this is a beautiful former Renaissance palace located alongside the Arno river not far from the center of the city. Get a room overlooking the river for wonderful views. The public rooms are lovely particularly the breakfast room. Also I had a excellent dinner in the bar on the ground floor. Casual setting and good food. Their are always taxis in the square outside which are handy and not expensive especially when it rains.

Room Tip: Rooms are well furnished and supplied. Choose one with a balcony and view of the Arno if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massimo B, Responsabile reception at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Rmfish,
we are very happy to read your comment and most glad you have enjoyed the ambiance we are lucky enough to live in.
Let me thank you for something special and tell you that is the first time in almost 20 years of work that I hear a positive comment on Florence taxis' rates! Thank you for this comment, makes us look at things a little bit differently than before, as we have always been thinking at this aspect in a negative way, but the way you have written it have had a positive impact on the front office staff!
We look forward to welcoming you back in Renaissance and wish you all the best for now,

Massimo Bernardi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This hotel is very aesthetically pleasing and has the same charm as the rest of Florence which is all just a short walk out the lobby door. Staff is very friendly and because the gym is under construction I was able to use St Regis gym, which is next door.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massimo B, Responsabile reception at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Kaeagan,
we are happy you appreciate the hard work of our architects in linking our interior with the most beautiful Florence elegance...
Anytime you will be planning to come back, please consider us at your disposal for ny help or information!

Warmest regards,
Massimo Bernardi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel. It is simply elegant. The rooms and bathrooms are clean, up to date, and spacious. The staff goes out of their way to ensure your visit is unforgettable. The location of the hotel is great. It is not right in the center of things but rather a 5 minute walk to the center of town, local shops, restaurants, etc. While staying here, try to get a room with a view of the arno (and a balcony) it is breath taking. Also the rooftop bar is wonderful and offers a great view of the city. I have stayed here three times and am currently planning a fourth visit. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massimo B, Responsabile reception at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Gabrielle,
We have been very happy to read your comment and know that once again we have made you feel at your best and surrounded by beauty. Of course is easy when you have Florence as the best frame for your stay, nevertheless we strive to add an extra value to this heaven, so being a slice of it makes feel very proud!

We will of course be at your disposal to set your fourth visit with us, please consider us all at your disposal.
My direct email: massimo.bernardi@starwoodhotels.com

All the best for now and... A presto!

Massimo Bernardi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

What a remarkable property in a remarkable city. Sharing the Piazza Ognissanti with the St. Regis on the opposite side, the Westin Excelsior is a comfortable walk along the River Arno to the Duomo, Ponte Vecchio and the myriad other attractions that Florence has to offer
NOTE: You really must visit the Boboli Gardens while in Florence. Absolutely beautiful and a highlight of our 2 week trip to Italy.

Our time in the Westin Excelsior was only a few short nights. Most of that time was spent exploring the city's rich history, art and culture so not much more than a place to sleep. But what sleep it was. An old building complete with old building characteristics but nonetheless wonderfully appointed and fantastic room. Very comfortable bed as is typically the case in Westin properties. We found the service to be excellent and personal with thoughtful and accurate suggestions on dining, transportations, tickets, etc…

Did find it shocking the cost to have some clothes laundered. We had been in Italy for about a week by the time we visited the Excelsior. Should have taken care of the laundry prior to arriving. Determined that for the clothing we needed cleaned, it would have cost $300! We ended up finding a neighborhood laundy center and taking a few hours during one morning to take care of it where we spent under $10 - instead of $300. Crazy.

The St. Regis is the pretentious neighbor across the plaza and commands significantly higher prices. We took the time to stroll the lobby and wine cellar. Seems the St. Regis caters to diplomats and others on official business and found such a function occurring the evening we visited. The Westin accomodated us nicely so see no reason to patronize the other Starwood property while visiting Florence.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Ecbatana,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Westin Excelsior Florence with us.
We are so happy to learn that you have appreciated the location of the property, the room we chose for your stay with us and the attitude of our wonderful and passionate team.
Moreover, we are very pleased that you enjoyed the divine experience and the comfort of our Heavenly Beds!
However please let us tell you that we are sorry to learn about your impressions on the cost of our laundry service; please rest assured that your feedback will be kept into consideration in our continuous effort to improve and evolve the services delivered.

Hoping that we will have the chance of welcoming you back on your next visit to Florence, we remain with best regards.

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Excelsior Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Excelsior Florence

Address: Piazza Ognissanti 3, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Florence
#16 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#25 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#32 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Excelsior Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Excelsior Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Excelsior Florence Hotel Florence
Westin Florence
Florence Westin
Westin Excelsior Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Excelsior Florence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.