We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Excelsior Florence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Excelsior Florence to your Saves list
The Westin Excelsior Florence
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Ognissanti 3, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Classic Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Classic old Buliding situated in the old city and next to River Arno. Only 10 minutes walk will arrive ponte de Vecchio and Uffizzi Museum! 10 mins walk to the central train station. Or 5 mins walking distance to all top brand shops. Very Good Location!
I specially recommend the roof top restaurant for Italian dinner, a good place to enjoy sunset with a river and City view! Food is traditional Tuscuny cuisine ! Nothing to complain!
Classical decoration and a traditional old house is what I expected in Italy, friendly staff will make u feel like home! I would like to stay come back again!

Room Tip: Corner room is much bigger and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Wendycbh,

Thank you very much for your words of appreciation and for sharing your wonderful feedback with Tripadvisor community.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you appreciated the location of our hotel. Please rest assured that we will share your kind comments with all the team.
Thanking you for recommending the Westin Excelsior and our Se•Sto On Arno, we hope we will have the chance to welcome you back to your “second home” in Florence in the soonest future.

Best regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    209
    49
    15
    12
See reviews for
189
412
26
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

A traditional, old fashioned 5 star. Location: centre of the city, on the embankment of the river Arno and a beautiful square, hosting 2 of the most luxurious city's 5 star hotels facing each other. 10 mins walk to the train station. 20 mins drive from the airport. 5 mins to the shops and restaurants.
Attentive staff making your stay comfortable and special. Rooms are lovely old fashioned yet with almost all modern touches when it comes to the facilities. Nice breakfast. Superb top floor bar with a breathtaking view of the city. Internet is paid in rooms, free in the lobby. Loyal to the place for 2 years now.

Room Tip: Ask to see a couple and choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear M Y,

Thank you so much for sharing with us your review!
We really appreciated your wonderful words about our property and about our exceptional Staff.
We sincerely thank you for your loyalty and we look forward to welcoming you back to Florence and to your “home far from home” the Westin Excelsior.

Sincerely,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

This review is terribly late - I stayed solo at the end of May 2013. The standout at this hotel was the incredible view from my balcony and the attentiveness of the staff to special requests. This hotel has an old-world charm - if you are looking for sleek and modern, this isn't it. But if you want historic elegance, here it abounds.

Room: I was upgraded upon arrival to a penthouse suite with an incredible view of the Arno. The room wasn't huge, but the balcony was, which was more important to me. The bathroom was fine with dual sinks and pink/red marble.

Food: I didn't have more than a drink and snack in the bar, but I ordered room service a few times. Bountiful selection, delicious wine, and beautiful presentation. Very punctual as well.

Location: Excellent location. You won't be bothered by much noise from the street. I felt completely safe walking alone, and I could easily access all parts of the city I wanted to see by foot.

Staff: Very helpful - I requested and received a late checkout. Also used the concierge for several requests while staying in the city.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor with an exterior view. I believe there are some interior courtyard views, whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear lgelkins,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your wonderful review!

We are very happy to learn that you appreciated our classical Florentine old style charm and the “excellent” location of the property.
Moreover, we are delighted to learn that you enjoyed our facilities and the service our team provided you. Here at the Westin Excelsior Florence we work very hard to meet, and go beyond, our guests’ expectations!

Hopefully, we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Florence in the soonest future!

With our best regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

This visually stunning five star hotel is an experience to be savoured. It is located next to the River Arno and is on the doorstep of all Florentine historical sites and museums. Whilst the hotel itself has historical value, all areas and rooms are of an excellent standard, with lavish decorations and amenities. From the moment you enter the marble enclad and wood panelled foyer, you realise that you have been transported to somewhere very special. We stayed in room 402, which had beautiful views of the river and the surrounding buildings. If you visit, make sure you have dinner at the restaurant on the top floor. The views are stunning, the decor memorable, the food divine and the service impeccable. The Pimms Imperial cocktail, with Pimms and champagne, isn't bad, either! All in all, this is an extremely hospitable hotel, where everything excludes comfort and enjoyment. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to enhance their Floentine experience.

Room Tip: Overlooking the River Arno is highly recommended. A Junior Suite with a terrace would be divine in w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Ros2,

Please let me thank you for having shared your wonderful feedback with the Tripadvisor community.

We are so happy to learn that you appreciated the location of the Westin Excelsior, the typical Florentine style of our property and the breathtaking views that you can enjoy from our rooms and form the Se•Sto on Arno Rooftop Bar & Restaurant.
We always do our utmost in order to offer high quality service and to ensure a most memorable stay and we are sincerely glad we were able to meet your expectations.

Thanking you again, we look forward to welcoming you back to our property in the soonest future.

With kindest regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We had two rooms facing the Arno river - the view was exhilarating and definitely memorable especially the sun set view! The rooms were adjoining big and clean done in typical italian classic stye yet not over powering and appealing. Opening the window you can hear the rushing of the Arno river which was pleasant and soothing in the quiet of the night!

Staff was very attentive and the service was excellent!!!! The hotel is perfectly located to all the great restaurants and attractions that most visiting the city would enjoy. My wife and I loved the roof top bar for a late afternoon / early evening drink to watch sunset before heading out to dinner with our teenage children - who looked forward to joining us there as well. You cannot find a better location in Florence.

The entire concierge team is top notch and tended to every question we put to them or recommendation we sought their insight and guidance on. They did not hesitate to recommend nearby restaurants (a special trip for hamburgers for our daughter) for us to try and we like them too - felt like part of the Westin family!!! They also helped to book tickets for train travel, tickets to Uffizzi and Accademia as well as a round private van excursion to Pisa for our family.

We had such a wonderful time at this Westin hotel so much when we were there in March that when we visited Florence again in October for a friends 50th we used the Westin as our base for the day. Our friends loved the roof top bar as we did 6 months earlier in March.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear James h,

The title of your feedback says it all!

We are very happy to read your wonderful comments about the room we chose for you and, particularly, about the “attentive” staff and “excellent” service. Our intention was to take care of you and to make your stay be special and unique and this is the reason why hearing your beautiful comments makes us proud of our work.

Thanking you for your recognition and for your loyalty, we would be honored to welcoming you back on your next trip to Florence to make you feel even more special.

Best regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Another wonderful Westin stay with the family. Great location with beautiful views. Incredibly elegant entrance. Attentive staff an luxurious rooms. I would recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Florence as a family or traveling as a couple.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massimo B, Responsabile reception at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Jess,
we are very happy you had a good time with your family here!

If at any stage you might plan to come back, please contact us in advance, so that we can take a special care of your reservation!

All the best,

Massimo Bernardi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We had a room facing the Arno river an the view was exhilarating and definitely memorable especially the sun set view! The room was very big and clean done in typical italian classic stye yet not over powering and appealing. You can hear the rushing of the Arno river which was pleasant and soothing in the quiet of the night!

The breakfast has a wide variety and you can order eggs cooked to your liking! The food was good but not excellent and was sufficient to start your day. We had room service and the food arrive promptly and was good.

The concierge was very good and did not hesitate to recommend nearby restaurants for us to try and we like them too. They also helped to book tickets for sone of the places to visit and even help us to book a personal tour guide to take us around the sights in the city and Pisa. The guide was very good and knowledgeable and wasted no time in getting us up to speed with the history and collections of the museum there. Highly recommended if you want to know all the masters from the renaissance period and their masterworks!

The hotel is also very conveniently located as florence is not big and you can get around by just walking which we did for our city tour with the guide. Shopping is also available nearby and every corner seems to have something ineteresting to look or buy!

Although the hotel building is very old, you don't feel it that way cos it's been renovated to retain it's classical ambience and you feel like some distant viscount returning to his villa after a long day out! Would I stay here again? Definitely, and I would splurge to get the room with the arno view and do it all over again with a tour guide. you don't want to miss out on all the masterworks. There are so many masters and the guide is the expert to lead you see the ones you don't want to miss! And, I'll see them all over again and again!!

Room Tip: Get the view of Arno and you won't regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massimo B, Responsabile reception at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Holee,
we are grateful to your comment, both due to the positive feedback and because of your mentioning the good food but not excellent. As we strive for excellence, it would be great for us to know a little bit more about it, and for this reason I will leave here below y email address on which I would be more than happy to hear your suggestions on what to improve.
And of course, please use my contact to set your future stay with us! It will be my pleasure to help you with the booking, on the river again!

If I can add a personal suggestion on what to visit next time (if you did not this time), don't miss the Cappella Brancacci: seeing so clearly where the Renaissance was born, in painting, is an incredible emotion and I am sure is something that will remain within your nicest memories!

My contact: massimo.bernardi@starwoodhotels.com

We look forward to welcoming you back in Florence in the soonest future,

Massimo Bernardi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Excelsior Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Excelsior Florence

Address: Piazza Ognissanti 3, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Florence
#16 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#26 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#32 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Excelsior Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Excelsior Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Excelsior Florence Hotel Florence
Westin Florence
Florence Westin
Westin Excelsior Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Excelsior Florence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.