We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels ever.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Excelsior Florence

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Venere.com
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Excelsior Florence
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Ognissanti 3, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 459 hotels in Florence
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Absolutely beautiful hotel with elegant spaces and wonderful décor. We had a fabulous room facing the river and enjoyed it tremendously. Every detail was perfect and the staff was very friendly and helpful in every way. Sometimes walking in the public spaces, it feels like a gorgeous museum.

Room Tip: It is very nice to have a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    536
    183
    43
    14
    11
See reviews for
154
333
26
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Good, rather old fashioned hotel. Staff very friendly, room clean and a good size ( if a little faded). A few niggles - phones not answered very quickly, they appeared to assume that we didnt want our linen changed unless we said we did. Our double bed was two beds pushed together.

Pluses - the breakfast is really fantastic as is the view from the roof top restaurant.

But it is really really expensive - €800 a night ( mid Oct stay) - really wasn't worth it. And if every budget hotel can give free wifi why are they charging €15 a night - it also doesn't work very well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear SimonMcG1,

Thank you for the time taken to post your review on Tripadvisor.

First of all, please let me tell you that we are happy to learn that you appreciated our property and the staff. In particular, it is a pleasure to learn that you found our breakfast and our Se•sto on Arno “fantastic”.
At the same time we are truly sorry to learn about your feedback concerning the phone calls, the bed linen and the wifi, for which we sincerely do apologize.
As far as the wifi is concerned, please allow us to inform you that we have free wifi in public areas, while the wifi in the rooms has a daily charge; we are also changing the actual line to a broad band line.
However, despite negative, your words gave us the opportunity to look into the issues pointed out and will be certainly addressed to the appropriate department, in order to improve the overall quality of our services and guests' experience.

We truly hope we will have the opportunity to restore your confidence in our service. Please feel free to contact us during you next visit to Florence and we will be more than pleased to take care of your reservation.

Sincerely,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed for 1 night. The hotel is grand and traditionally furnished. We had a great room with a small balcony overlooking the River and downstream from the Ponte de vecchio. Breakfast was a small buffet in the dining room but the best dining experience has to be the roof top SE·STO Restaurant. The food was great - mediterranean with small portions, excellent service, the views were wonderful and the sunset glorious. Booking essential! The hotel was well positioned and only a 10 min walk to the Ponte de vecchio and 10 min walk in the other direction to the train station. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear iguana_9,

Thank you for having posted your comments also for the Westin Excelsior!
We are truly happy to learn that we have been able to entirely meet your expectation!
We do all our best in order to offer high quality service and to ensure our Guests a most enjoyable and relaxing stay. It is a pleasure also to learn that you have appreciated your room, the breakfast and the location of our property. Please rest assured that your comments will be shared with all the Team.

Thanking you again, we hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Westin Excelsior in Florence in the nearest future.

Sincerely,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Upon arrival we were upgraded and had a room with a view to the piazza. Other niceties were the fruit sent to the room and the roof top lounge to take in the view. It was very special. We enjoyed the old world decor and the staff was friendly, prompt and helpful.

One concern I had was the concierge and the ability to make arrangements as there was a mix up on a car tour cost. It was a good tour to Sienna, but the driver was dead silent and very business like. I did mention it upon departure but felt that the concierge was unwilling to understand the 200 Euro over charge and extra cost of 50 Euro for lunch that had to be paid in cash.

One other concern was the dining recommendation Trattoria Gargani the first night; it was not a good spot and we decided to leave after a glass of wine.

The hotel was great overall. But double check your arrangements with concierge.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VB_General_Manager, Direttore generale at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Chuckawala,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us.
We are happy to learn that you have appreciated the location of the Westin,the room we chose for your and particularly the amazing vioew of our Se.sto on Arno. Moreover, we are truly pleased to learn about your recognition concerning the efficient, prompt and helpful Staff.
At the same time we are extremely sorry to learn about your concerns regarding the Concierge and we are sincerely sorry for not having fully delivered on your expectations.
Please rest assured that your feedback will be taken into consideration and we will certainly inform the department involved to keep improving our service.
Whenever you will plan to visit again Florence, pelase feel free to contact the executive office and we will be more than pleased to take care of your reservation directly, in order to let your stay be a most pleasant and relaxing one.

Best regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I spent part of our honeymoon in Florence, Italy last October 2012. We were treated to a penthouse suite with the most amazing views of Florence. The price was rather high but given all that we were offered, it made sense. The room and amenities were also incredible. The staff could not have been nicer. Thank you!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VB_General_Manager, Direttore generale at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear kayrizzz,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback on tripadvisor!

We are extremely happy to learn that you appreciated the location of our property and the breathtaking view of the city from your room. Indeed it is a perfect location for a romantic trip!

Hopefully, we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Westin Excelsior and to Florence in the soonest future.

Best regards from sunny Florence,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Excellent location, about a 5-10 minute walk to the Duomo and all tourist attractions. Room was expensive, and in my opinion overpriced. However, this is reliably a Westin hotel with characteristic shower and heavenly bed. Hotel itself is beautiful with old-world charm, located on a quiet square. Staff was relatively accommodating, though the concierge was extremely pretentious, even when spoken to in fluent Italian.

Room Tip: We chose a larger "fitness room" with views of Duomo that had a modern decor. THe more tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in October.

Location is great, right on the River Arno. Service is second to none, nothing is too much trouble.

We had a premium deluxe Arno view room - the room was large and bright, very comfy large bed, big bathroom with two sinks, walk in shower and a big bath. Style is very 'olde world', it's a former Renaissance palace and is full of antiques. For what it is, it is very expensive, but I guess you are paying for the location, and it's about the smartest address in town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massimo B, Responsabile reception at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear DC2008London,
thank you for your gracious comment; we are all so glad that the attitude to service of our staff has reached you, and that you have appreciated the "olde world" ambiance, which we work hard to keep alive!
We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in Florence soon, and whenever you might plan your return, please consider me and my staff at your disposal for anything we could help
you in advance with: massimo.bernardi@starwoodhotels.com

Massimo Bernardi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Excelsior Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Excelsior Florence

Also Known As:
The Westin Excelsior Florence Hotel Florence
The Westin Excelsior Florence Hotel
Westin Florence
Florence Westin
Westin Excelsior Florence
Address: Piazza Ognissanti 3, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Florence
#20 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#31 Business Hotel in Florence
#36 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Excelsior Florence 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Starwood EMEA, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Amex, HotelTravel.com, Otel, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Westin Excelsior Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Excelsior Florence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Westin Excelsior Florence to your Saves list