We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Excelsior Florence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Excelsior Florence to your Saves list
The Westin Excelsior Florence
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Ognissanti 3, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 461 Hotels in Florence
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The Westin was very nice - perfect location - comfortable room and very helpful concierge. Moderately priced, comfortable bed and walking distance to everything. Great breakfast! We also enjoyed drinks on the rooftop which was really beautiful to sit outside and enjoy the views. The concierge helped us figure out where all our reservations were, or would call and make dinner reservations for us. I would stay again or try to get a room with a balcony at their sister property the St Regis across the street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massimo B, Responsabile reception at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear mfounds,
we thank you for your comment!

Whenever you will be coming back to Florence, whether you will choose us again or willing to try the St Regis, please feel free to contact us and we will be able to assist you in finding the right accomodation - being historical buildings, both hotels have very different rooms from which to choose, so we will definitely be at your disposal in order to make sure you have the best room suiting your needs.!

My email address is: massimo.bernardi@starwoodhotels.com

Kindest regards,

Massimo Bernardi, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    209
    49
    15
    12
See reviews for
187
412
26
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

i stayed 3 nights at Westin Excelsior and the experience was fantastic. Buffet breakfast was fantastic with so many choices comparing other 5star hotels in europe. Althouhg it was not cheap but it worth! all sight seeing places are within walking distance from the hotel. highly recommend to spend $ to book a room with river/bridge view to enjoy the romantic night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is of course gorgeously appointed and deserving of its SPG Category 6 status. We stayed mostly using cash/point combo and were upgraded using Suite Night rewards to a junior suite facing the Arno river. There is at least one whole floor dedicated to SPB Platinum members which is great. We chose the daily breakfast reward for our Platinum bonus in lieu of points, which was a great decision as the buffet breakfast was great (normally Euro 40 pp). Omelet station, specialty coffees, fresh
fruits, meats, veggies, cereals, pastries, pancakes, you name it! No more than a 15/20 min walk to every major site to see in the city. Will surely return!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The Westin Excelsior in Florence Italy is an experience in itself being in a historic building, previous palazzo. The location is marvelous with an easy walk to all the necessary sights of Firenze but located just outside of all of the chaos, along the River Arno. The food is excellent. The only think I recommend is to continue to negotiate your room if you do not like what you have been given, there are often times better rooms available depending time of year. Beautiful lobby area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Westin Excelsior Florence is top-notch: extremely luxurious, centrally located, not overly stuffy. Being an SPG member and having stayed at a number of their high level resorts, I'd have to say that this has been the favorite in Europe thus far. It is a former palace and that is certainly reflected throughout the hotel decor and ambience. The staff was wonderful, particularly the concierge who made us same-day dinner reservations only 45 minutes before our requested time (the meal turned out to be one of the best dinners of our trip). The standard, classic room we had was beyond spacious, particularly the bathroom. From the slippers to the robes to the double sinks, no aspect of luxury was overlooked. Simply the best.

Drinks at SeSto on the rooftop terrace are a must -- views of the Duomo and the Arno are spectacular. Not to mention, an amazing happy hour appetizer buffet FREE from 7 to 9 pm with your drink purchase.

I would recommend the Excelsior to anyone looking for a regal hotel experience in Florence -- but forewarning, it's a tough act for other hotels to follow!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I spent a week at this Weston in Florence. The service was great, as was the food. The personnel was very helpful and the concierge was awesome providing me with maps and information on places I was looking for. The room was very nice with good service as well. It is within walking distance of almost everything we wanted to do and see.
I don't remember a pool or spa, but then we were only there for the night and some food.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel is very well located in the central part of town yet away from the area overflowing with tourists. My husband is SPG Platinum and we were upgraded to a junior suite upon arrival. We were very pleased as it was well appointed. The bathroom was large with two sinks and an excellent hair dryer. The king bed was very comfortable and our daughter had a separate area with a roll away bed. The breakfast was excellent and the gym was respectable. The bar on the top floor is a lovely venue to watch the sunset over the city--it became a nightly ritual for us. The concierges were exceptionally helpful in providing information both before arrival and while we visited. Their attention to detail is above and beyond. They researched many winery options and tried to set up tours for us in Bolgheri which was complicated by the harvest. They made dinner reservations at excellent restaurants too. Lungarno Bistro was the best. It is also on the Arno and the menu offered good fish selections and the atmosphere was upscale and chic yet relaxed. At checkout we learned that a local call to a cell phone number cost us a euro a minute--so 20 euros for a local phone call. My husband left a pair of Tod's shoes in the room that were nowhere to be found when we called to ask for them. I thought from the website that there was a kid's camp but there was not. My daughter was not happy about that but overall it is an excellent property.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Excelsior Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Excelsior Florence

Address: Piazza Ognissanti 3, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Florence
#16 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#24 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#31 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Excelsior Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Excelsior Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Excelsior Florence Hotel Florence
Westin Florence
Florence Westin
Westin Excelsior Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Excelsior Florence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.