We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Excelsior Florence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Excelsior Florence to your Saves list
The Westin Excelsior Florence
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Ognissanti 3, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Fabulous Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

i stayed 3 nights at Westin Excelsior and the experience was fantastic. Buffet breakfast was fantastic with so many choices comparing other 5star hotels in europe. Althouhg it was not cheap but it worth! all sight seeing places are within walking distance from the hotel. highly recommend to spend $ to book a room with river/bridge view to enjoy the romantic night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    209
    49
    15
    12
See reviews for
189
412
26
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is of course gorgeously appointed and deserving of its SPG Category 6 status. We stayed mostly using cash/point combo and were upgraded using Suite Night rewards to a junior suite facing the Arno river. There is at least one whole floor dedicated to SPB Platinum members which is great. We chose the daily breakfast reward for our Platinum bonus in lieu of points, which was a great decision as the buffet breakfast was great (normally Euro 40 pp). Omelet station, specialty coffees, fresh
fruits, meats, veggies, cereals, pastries, pancakes, you name it! No more than a 15/20 min walk to every major site to see in the city. Will surely return!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The Westin Excelsior in Florence Italy is an experience in itself being in a historic building, previous palazzo. The location is marvelous with an easy walk to all the necessary sights of Firenze but located just outside of all of the chaos, along the River Arno. The food is excellent. The only think I recommend is to continue to negotiate your room if you do not like what you have been given, there are often times better rooms available depending time of year. Beautiful lobby area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Westin Excelsior Florence is top-notch: extremely luxurious, centrally located, not overly stuffy. Being an SPG member and having stayed at a number of their high level resorts, I'd have to say that this has been the favorite in Europe thus far. It is a former palace and that is certainly reflected throughout the hotel decor and ambience. The staff was wonderful, particularly the concierge who made us same-day dinner reservations only 45 minutes before our requested time (the meal turned out to be one of the best dinners of our trip). The standard, classic room we had was beyond spacious, particularly the bathroom. From the slippers to the robes to the double sinks, no aspect of luxury was overlooked. Simply the best.

Drinks at SeSto on the rooftop terrace are a must -- views of the Duomo and the Arno are spectacular. Not to mention, an amazing happy hour appetizer buffet FREE from 7 to 9 pm with your drink purchase.

I would recommend the Excelsior to anyone looking for a regal hotel experience in Florence -- but forewarning, it's a tough act for other hotels to follow!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I spent a week at this Weston in Florence. The service was great, as was the food. The personnel was very helpful and the concierge was awesome providing me with maps and information on places I was looking for. The room was very nice with good service as well. It is within walking distance of almost everything we wanted to do and see.
I don't remember a pool or spa, but then we were only there for the night and some food.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel is very well located in the central part of town yet away from the area overflowing with tourists. My husband is SPG Platinum and we were upgraded to a junior suite upon arrival. We were very pleased as it was well appointed. The bathroom was large with two sinks and an excellent hair dryer. The king bed was very comfortable and our daughter had a separate area with a roll away bed. The breakfast was excellent and the gym was respectable. The bar on the top floor is a lovely venue to watch the sunset over the city--it became a nightly ritual for us. The concierges were exceptionally helpful in providing information both before arrival and while we visited. Their attention to detail is above and beyond. They researched many winery options and tried to set up tours for us in Bolgheri which was complicated by the harvest. They made dinner reservations at excellent restaurants too. Lungarno Bistro was the best. It is also on the Arno and the menu offered good fish selections and the atmosphere was upscale and chic yet relaxed. At checkout we learned that a local call to a cell phone number cost us a euro a minute--so 20 euros for a local phone call. My husband left a pair of Tod's shoes in the room that were nowhere to be found when we called to ask for them. I thought from the website that there was a kid's camp but there was not. My daughter was not happy about that but overall it is an excellent property.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was our second stop on our Italy vacation, and I thought I was impressed with the Westin Excelsior Rome (read my previous review) this place blew me away! From the moment of our arrival to the end of our stay, everything was amazing! We chose to drive from Rome to Florence and upon arrival at the Westin, we discovered that there was no parking garage available at the hotel. The door man informed us that they did have an agreement with a local garage but it would be $30 euro per night. He then asked us how long we were staying and we told him only two nights. He told us to wait for a minute. When he came back, he told us we could keep the car parked right outside of the hotel since we were only there for a short time...and it was no charge! Right off the bat, they went out of their way to make our stay amazing!
The front desk service was impeccable...upgrading us right away to a penthouse suite! When it was time to go to our room, one of the front desk clerks walked us up and provided us with a map of the city. She then proceeded to point out all kinds of places to see and things to do. We would have been lost if it hadn't been for her kindness!
The room we stayed in was quite large and once again had a roll away bed for our son. The bathroom was stunning...marble from floor to ceiling. Double sinks, a huge bathtub and walk in shower (on the small side compared to Rome). A gorgeous balcony with amazing views of the Arno River and a very short walk to the Ponte Vecchio. This location was just perfect, that we never used the rental car...we walked every where!
I plan on returning to Florence over and over again, and this is the only place that I will stay!!
An hour bus ride to Sienna and San Gimignano (which I highly recommend seeing). Although we did not get to Pisa, it is also less than an hour away. Can't beat the location!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Excelsior Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Excelsior Florence

Address: Piazza Ognissanti 3, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Florence
#16 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#26 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#32 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Excelsior Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Excelsior Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Excelsior Florence Hotel Florence
Westin Florence
Florence Westin
Westin Excelsior Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Excelsior Florence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.