We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always the Best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Excelsior Florence

Save Saved
You added The Westin Excelsior Florence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Excelsior Florence
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Ognissanti 3, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 461 hotels in Florence
Wakefield, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always the Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I've been staying at both the Westin Excelsior and the Grand Hotel ( Now the St. Regis) at least twice a year for over 10 years, and I cannot say enough good things about both properties. Unfortunately, since the Grand became a St. Regis, the prices have become unaffordable, so I've been staying "across the street" at the Excelsior...which ain't bad! (I still make it a point to go to the St. Regis to say hi to my friends at the desk...Aldo and Andrea....they're truly the best!!!)
Both hotels take care of their customers to the highest degree - the management should be very proud of their staff and should make it a point to acknowledge them....we often don't know their names, but they all make our stays so seamless and perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    588
    192
    44
    15
    11
See reviews for
166
360
27
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartsville, South Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Great location. Right in the heart of the city. Very nice rooms and great service. Walking distance to all major landmarks and museums. I stayed in the Westin Excelsior in Rome as well. This hotel is much nicer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We wavered on which hotel to select in Florence and after making the trip, we are immensely thankful that we picked the Westin Excelsior. The location was outstanding -- walking distance to all major landmarks and museums -- yet far enough away from the commotion that it was quiet and relaxing at night. The rooms are excellent and the electronic blinds block 100% of the daylight for those that are jet lagged and need to sleep. The bellmen are fantastic and will hustle to get whatever you need done. The rooftop bar offers great cocktails and views of the city at night. No problem getting around if your Italian is less than ideal.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stayed at the Westin from January 27 till 30th 2013. At check in, I was offered an upgrade to a room overlooking the river side of Florence for additional cost which I accepted. The room was absolutely beautiful, and the view was fantastic. The facilities within the room were quite good but I think they need to do a bit of updating on the carpet and decoration. The hotel is located just at the center of the old town close to all site seeing attractions. The breakfast was really great and super. The hotel is a bit expensive but is really worth it especially if the view is right.

Room Tip: Make sure to get the river view. Some rooms have no view at all as they overlook an internal garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I've stayed at the Westin Excelsior twice now, and I really enjoy it. The woodwork and architecture of the lobby sets a warm, welcoming tone. We had an upper-floor corner room that gave us views of both the Duomo and the river – quite a treat. In terms of sightseeing, be sure not to miss the church on the same square as the hotel (the Chiesa di Ognissanti).

The concierge and door staff did a great job of managing the car and arranging guides. We'd never hired guides before this trip, but we were pleasantly surprised at how much more we learned and appreciated in the galleries. (It also lets you skip the long entrance queues.)

The St. Regis is right across the square, and we had a drink there one evening. It's also a grand property, but a little more formal (as you might expect). We're headed back to Florence later this year, and it will be difficult to decide between the two.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Loved the location of this hotel. Rooms are beautiful and more importantly clean. We had the room with a balcony (river view) so the view from our room was exceptional! Staff was very helpful, they assisted us by planning our day also.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is a great hotel choice. It is located right on the river. The bar/lounge area is great. Drinks are pricey, but very tasty and artfully created. They also do offer some complimentary snacks. It is located directly opposite the St. Regis Florence. Bathroom was very oversized. Typical comfortable Westin beds. Turndown service nightly. Very classic looking. Front desk and concierge were very helpful with any questions. Only drawback is that it's a little far from the major Florence sights, so while it's still walkable, it does take about 15-20 minutes depending on where you want to go which is tiring if you are here in the summer heat. However that's not a reason to skip on this hotel, it's an excellent choice for Florence. The walk in the evening is pleasant right along the Arno.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the Arno
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Excelsior Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Excelsior Florence

Address: Piazza Ognissanti 3, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Florence
#17 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#28 Business Hotel in Florence
#34 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Excelsior Florence 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Excelsior Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Excelsior Florence Hotel Florence
Westin Florence
Florence Westin
Westin Excelsior Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Excelsior Florence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.