We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Beautiful and Romantic TOP location Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Excelsior Florence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Excelsior Florence to your Saves list
The Westin Excelsior Florence
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Ognissanti 3, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Riga, Latvia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful and Romantic TOP location Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

When I go back to Florence this will be again my hotel of choice. Everything was perfect - our room with amazing view and the balcony in this incredible old building with fascinating decor interior, beautiful lobby bar with live piano playing every evening - was my favorite place for an apperitivo. Impeccable service, well-trained staff. Great room service. The only drawback - no free WiFi in rooms, but plenty of in the lobby) I hope with time the group will change this policy.

Tip: The Bottega Giotti shop opposite the hotel has most amazing high-end and quality bags worth taking a walk across the little square. If it wouldn't be from the hotel, I wouldn't know about it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on the third floor with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    209
    49
    15
    12
See reviews for
189
413
26
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sooke, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at the Westin Excelsior in Florence twice for a total of seven nights during a month long tour of Italy and Croatia in November 2012. The atmosphere is totally warm and family like friendly on all accounts. All this in marble and antique opulence with a stunning location. We stayed in many fancy hotels but none seemed so like being home as the Excelsior. The front desk staff were professional and sincere and the consierge fellows exceptionally competent and engaging. The lounge and restaurant staff were great and the food over the top. Both room we enjoyed were very clean and smartly appointed, Easily a six star rating, they should be giving lessons!

Room Tip: We had one great room that looked out on to the square and another with a balcony that looked out on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massimo B, Responsabile reception at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Gary,
I am so happy to hear again the beautiful impressions of your trip... We still envy you for the month around...!
We sincerely hope to see you back in Italy one day, it was a great pleasure meeting you!
And a big THANK YOU from all the guys here for the splendid words...
Hope you had a safe trip back home and that Canada was not too cold in welcoming you back!
All the best,
Massimo (and everyone here!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The title says it all. The property was beautiful and the location was great. it is a ten minute walk from the train station, Duomo and the Ponte Vecchio. The bar at the top of the restaurant is very chic and the views at night are fantastic.
Staff was extremely helpful and friendly and they actually had coffee out in the morning.....for free.....shocking for Europe.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Florence.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massimo B, Responsabile reception at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Dirtymitts,
thank you for your comments! You made smile with that wuote about free things in Europe... Being in Italy, at least the morning coffe has to be there!
We really look forward to having you back here, and if at any stage you might be in need of booking, for yourself or for any of your friends or family, please consider me at your disposal!
My email, is: massimo.bernardi@starwoodhotels.com

Kindest regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Everything you expect from a Westin in a 700 year old property. An expert and attentive staff and a truly stunning property in the heart of Florence right on the river. We spent 3 days of bliss here. If you are so inclined, the concierge desk can book a private local guide for you. We found this to be very helpful in understanding the history of Florence and kept of from being overwhelmed by all there is to see and understand.

Room Tip: A room on the 5th floor will have it's own patio, but I bet there isn
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massimo B, Responsabile reception at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Greg(Rco),
thank you for sharing your opinion about your stay in Florence; we do agree with you, Florence is a place in which a guided experience can do the difference (had the same feeling of being overwhelmed by all there is to be seen and understood...).
Your comment (also the one about the Uffizi), has given us an idea about how to propose a new service with the concierge... We'll let you know the outcome, whenever you will be coming back to Florence.
Please, feel free to contact me, should you at any stage plan to come back to Florence!
massimo.bernardi@starwoodhotel.com

Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alanya, Turkey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

It is a very romantic hotel. Kind and helpfull staf. Good rooms. They have a new restaurant in the top floor of the hotel. We were suprised to see that modern designed restaurant in this old and classis building.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massimo B, Responsabile reception at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear MugeOzer,
we are very happy to read we had a Cupido role for your stay!
It is true that the top floor restaurant is standing out from the hotel's design; the architect who has designed it actually went for that type of contrast and played a lot on transparency and reflexes in order to have the city coming in. We went for that solution as it was something unusual for Florence and we wanted to create a different space with a peculiar taste... We are glad you enjoyed it!
Should you wish to visit us again, please feel free to contact us!
Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Our elevated expectations of this property were met by the Heavenly Bed, the view of the Arno, and the beauty of the lobby.

But it was the staff that exceeded our elevated expectations during our four nights in Florence.

First was the glorious welcome by Caroline and her manager at the front desk. Her greeting was joyous and truly represented hospitality and professionalism. The team at the front desk made me feel that they wanted my stay in Florence to be special.

Next was the team at the Concierge desk. They truly function as a team. They are efficient, great listeners and made several exceptional recommendations. Nico and his colleagues were exceptional in the correspondence before we arrived and during our stay.

Finally, the lobby pianist who shared her brilliant skills in the evening was a highlight after coming back from an amazing dinner in Florence.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Elsinore, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

If you can get to Florence, Italy and want to stay in total luxury book this hotel! It is located right on the river, with its own plaza and walking distance to all sights in Florence, including the train station! We didn't know and took a cab from the train station... 10$ or so, we could have walked. More importantly- this hotel! After traveling all over Italy we ended out stay at this luxury hotel! I couldn't have been happier! Excellent service, we had a room change, needed tickets to see David & a cooking class. The concierge was above and beyond helpful with maps, making reservations, giving directions and tips for the city along with having the friendliest attitude! The rooftop bar hosts the best view in Florence and great drinks! Service there also friendly and fun! This hotel is sparkling clean, American amenities (blow dryer, large shower, ...) beautiful art and decor, wireless service available in lobby free ($ in room) and you can just walk out to the main areas! In my dreams I will stay in this hotel again! Thank you all staff at Westin Excelsior - you made my Italy vacation a dream come true!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Excelsior Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Excelsior Florence

Address: Piazza Ognissanti 3, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Florence
#16 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#26 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#32 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Excelsior Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Excelsior Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Excelsior Florence Hotel Florence
Westin Florence
Florence Westin
Westin Excelsior Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Excelsior Florence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.