We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lungarno

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lungarno to your Saves list
Hotel Lungarno
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borgo San Jacopo 14, 50125 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 463 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was our second stay here. It is centrally located on the Arno, and has all the amenities I love: charming feel, friendly staff, white bed linens ;) and clean rooms. I love Hotel Lungarno. The feel is Ralph Lauren in Italy. The rooms are small but just perfect. This trip I had a smaller room, but we had an Arno view which I loved. Really all I can tell you is this is a gem. The breakfast buffet is delicious and the staff is very kind. It is perfect for families who need multiple rooms because you won't spend all your money on a room, but it has all the amenities you want in a luxury style hotel, without the $$$$ expense. I try to be sort of practical so we can spend our money on restaurants and shopping! Five stars Lungarno! Thank you! We will be back!

Room Tip: The higher the better on the Arno! The top suite is outstanding and has 360 degree views of Florence...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FR1974, General Manager at Hotel Lungarno, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear CATravellingfool,
Thank you so much for your nice words about The Hotel Lungarno, we are extremely excited your experience with us was successfull and that you liked the service, The style, and The breakfast buffet.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Florence soon.

Best Regards

Francesco Roccato
General Manager
Hotel Lungarno Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    139
    41
    11
    7
See reviews for
147
415
25
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. Location is good right at the Ponte de Vecchio Bridge which takes you across to the old city.It is on the quieter side of the river but you can walk everywhere from here. Without a GPS we would not have found it. Trying to drive in Florence with all the people one has to be very careful. And we weren't even there in high season! We were upgraded so had a room over looking the river with a view onto the Ponte Vecchio which was nice. Fair size room and very comfortable. Breakfast was good - coffee great. Florence was nice but as all big cities a tourist trap and expensive. When in Florence go to the leather market and then have lunch upstairs at the Mercato Centrale market. There is a lovely food court just opened with all different types of specialities.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FR1974, General Manager at Hotel Lungarno, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Sailing2011,
Thank you for your nice review about The Hotel Lungarno, we are glad you enjoyed your vacation to Florence and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Grazie grazie!
Best Regards

Francesco Roccato
General Manager
Hotel Lungarno Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Great hotel. Lovely Tuscan breakfasts with bottomless fizz sets up perfect days strolling around one of Europe's best cities.

We stayed on the 3rd floor with views up and down the river, a huge and comfy bed and space aplenty.

Spent one evening sitting down at the terrace with cocktails - not cheap but worthwhile.

Stayed with partner in June 2014

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FR1974, General Manager at Hotel Lungarno, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Alex H,
Thank you so much for your nice review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at The magnificent Hotel Lungarno! I hope you will bring back home unforgettable memories, our team is looking forward to welcoming you back to Florence.

Best Regards

Francesco Roccato
General Manager
Hotel Lungarno Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Perfect location by the river, overlooking the Ponte Vecchio and walking distance from all restaurants, museums and shopping. Staff was amazingly friendly. Rooms have a very cozy decor and the lobby as well. The main living area is great. Definitely grab one of their bikes for a stroll around town.

Room Tip: Definitely spend more on a room overlooking the river. It is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FR1974, General Manager at Hotel Lungarno, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Mrs TCMC,
Thank you so much for your review, I am glad you had a very nice experience at The Hotel Lungarno and we are all looking forward to welcoming you again to Florence next time your are in town!

Best regards

Francesco Roccato
General Manager
Hotel Lungarno Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, NY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The Lungarno sits on the quieter side of the Arno- which in no way means it is not in THE best location in Florence- steps from the Ponte Vecchio and a 10 minute walk to the main square. Helpful and kind service, a terrific breakfast buffet (highly recommend booking thru amex fine hotels if you have a platinum card), and an exceptional view on the riverside. Be forewarned- low floors on the street side, while beautifully appointed, are noisy. Oh, and yes ladies- Ferragamo toiletries.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FR1974, General Manager at Hotel Lungarno, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear NYlady4,
The Hotel Lungarno's team thanks you for your beautiful review and comments, we are all very happy you had such a nice stay with us, definetely the best location in town...
Thank you again, we are looking forward to having you again to Florence at the Hotel Lunagrno!

Best Regards

Francesco Roccato
General Manager
Hotel Lungarno Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

First and foremost...go to Florence in May and make sure you have the Firenze Card at your finger tips :)...I picked this hotel based upon the TripAdvisor reviews and my own independent research....for a 20th Anniversary trip to Italy with my wife. It had everything I was looking for and did not disappoint. Location was perfect, on the quiet side of the Ponte Vecchio. Make sure to request a the room with a view of the Arno...room on the 3rd floor meant we had quiet and views of the bridge and the sunsets...NOT a "luxury" hotel but it has a very nice feel...our room was NOT big and fancy and the bathroom was on the smaller side, but it was clean and fresh with everything we needed...in room safe, free wifi, dresser + closet, AC, small porch with chairs and views, comfortable bed...hotel offered "living room" like lobby with couches plus an outdoor seating area. Staff was A+! Polite, welcoming and incredibly helpful with recommendations and reservations. We had the buffet breakfast every morning which was a nice way to start the day before we dug into our morning gelato :) Location, location, location...Hotel Lungarno was quaint, romantic, made out visit to Florence very special...a winner...

Room Tip: Must get river view...because that means you have a beautiful view of the Ponte Vecchio. This hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FR1974, General Manager at Hotel Lungarno, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear YankeeLondon23,
Thank you for the nice review where you pointed out the importante of service, we are glad we were able to deliver!
Thank you for staying at the Hotel Lungarno, we are all looking forward to welcoming you again to Florence and its magnificent art.

Best Regards

Francesco Roccato
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I can't say enough about this hotel. Not only is the hotel spotless and very Chic but the staff is warm, kind and very sincere. They sent us to many places that were not "touristy" for dinner. We loved staying in this trendy neighborhood on the other side of the river where it wasn't as crowded but minutes away from everything. The Ponto Vechio bridge was a 5 minute walk and made for a wonderful late night stroll. They had a great breakfast every morning and you could sit outside in the sun or inside with free wifi. This was one of our favorite hotels on our trip!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a terrace on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FR1974, General Manager at Hotel Lungarno, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Lorisw725,
We are thrilled the Hotel Lungarno was the best part of your trip, we hope you will bring back home unforgettables memories to share with friends and family.
The entire Lungarno team thanks you and is looking forward to welcoming you back soon to Florence!

Best Regards

Francesco Roccato
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Lungarno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lungarno

Address: Borgo San Jacopo 14, 50125 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#14 Business Hotel in Florence
#16 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#17 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lungarno 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your charming home away from home, a stone throw away from Ponte Vecchio. Florence and Tuscan hospitality are experienced at its finest in this splendid setting offering stunning views on the master works of the Renaissance.The exclusive and stylish Hotel Lungarno was designed by the Florentine architect Michele Bönan and invites you to spend magical days surrounded by luxury, glamorous art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Lungarno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lungarno Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lungarno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.