We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, incomparable location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lungarno

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lungarno to your Saves list
Hotel Lungarno
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borgo San Jacopo 14, 50125 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 461 Hotels in Florence
ATHENS
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good hotel, incomparable location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

First-rate hotel, excellent service especially in the front desk and impeccable view over the Arno! Near-by parking which is a must if you travel with your own car. The only problem was to get there due to the changing traffic regulations. The GPS was not helping at all, but the staff at the front desk guided us through the mess of the Florence streets successfully! Breakfast is excellent in a beautiful room. The standard room is a bit small with no view but it is nicely decorated and its bathroom is quite big. We also had dinner one night at its restaurant “Borgo San Jacopo”. Elegant cuisine in an elegant setting!!
This was our 10th time in Florence, but our first in this hotel witch I highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    126
    33
    10
    6
See reviews for
126
363
22
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

All the great comments are correct about this hotel. Staying here saved our vacation as we accidentally booked a terrible hotel. Luckily the Lungarno had an opening and although it was more than triple the price of our crappy so-called 4 star Mona Llsa hotel, it has been so worth it. We booked a room on the top floor with a river view. We arrived after dark so when awoke in the morning to one of the most beautiful views we have ever seen we were extremely thankful to be able to stay here. If you can make it work, it's way worth the extra money to stay here....the location is spectacular as is everything else.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for the river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here in early September. The location of the hotel is superb, about 150 metres from the Ponte Vecchio on the southern bank of the Arno. We choose an Arno view room and never once regretted it. The overall service standards and food quality were excellant. We would really recommend eating on one of their two terraces, one associated with the main restaurant, the other is off the lobby bar. You can eat at either from the same menu in the evening, but book ahead if you want to ensure a river view.
The only slight negative was we thought our room could have used a lick of new paint, but that is being picky. The plumbing was good, lots of water pressure and the airconditioning was fine, we slept well and the temperature was in the mid 30 C range.
We had a drink at their sister hotel ( The Continental) across the Arno almost directly opposite the Lungarno. They have a smart/trendy roof top terrace bar with wonderful views. We were lucky and got a table just after 7 pm but others were turned away as they hadn't reserved a table! We managed to charge our drinks back to our room number at the Lungarno, which surprised us, well organised.

Room Tip: Go for the view rooms, well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We arrived in Florence as part of our honeymoon trip, and we were extremely disappointed with the hotel we were staying in. It was not comfortable nor luxurious for anyone - better yet, honeymooners! We remembered walking past the Hotel Lungarno earlier in the day so we researched their availability for the rest of the trip and walked over late in the evening to see if the rooms were decent - rather, better than what we currently had. Jean-Michel showed us a honeymoon suite that was AMAZING, but well overpriced for us. We were willing to take the most basic and standard room at this point. First, we had to get out of our other hotel before we could move, and since it wasn't a full service hotel we wouldn't know our fate until the following morning. So Jean-Michel said the standard room should still be available, and he would notify the manager on duty in the morning, Frederico, about our situation in case we were to return.

After enduring our first night of hell in our crappy hotel, we were allowed to check out without penalty (they knew it was crappy and definitely not worth the cost); and we didn't walk but RAN over to the Lungarno. Upon checking in, we were surprised that not only did the manager know of our situation, but offered to upgrade us to the honeymoon suite instead of the standard room!! It truly made our experience in Florence a thousand times better. The classy elegance of this hotel is exactly what we were looking for when we were thinking about staying at a luxury hotel for our honeymoon. In addition to Jean-Michel and Frederico, who we can't thank enough, Roberta was also amazing!! She was extremely professional, pleasant and very attentive to our needs.

Okay, about the hotel: it is centrally located with close proximity and views of the Ponte Vecchio. The lounge area is comfortable and elegant. The elevators are extremely small, but the staff will take care of getting your luggage to you. The bathrooms are spacious with marble. The beds are soft and comfortable. The standard room was very nice, but the honeymoon suite - well, what can I say? It was like living in a tower that had been upgraded just for us. :) Interestingly enough, I believe no two rooms are alike in this hotel giving you a unique experience every time you stay. Breakfast was amazing!! Most hotels don't cater to Americans, and when they do - the eggs tend to be runny. That was not the case at the Hotel Lungarno. They definitely know what they are doing at this hotel. The restaurant can be considered pricey, but you get what you pay for. However, if you consider this too high, then the Palazzo Tempi is within walking distance (see my review). If I had to make one criticism, Leonardo and maybe one other staff member could have been friendlier. Overall, we were extremely pleased with the Hotel Lungarno!! I think I almost cried when we had to leave and head off to our next city. We will NEVER stay anywhere else if or when we return to Firenze! The Hotel Lungarno truly saved our honeymoon, and we can't thank you enough!!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any room in this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Spent a wonderful weekend at the hotel Lungarno. The lobby is charming with a beautiful indoor/outdoor sitting area on the river. The rooms were comfortable and the bathroom has a large bathtub. The included breakfast is complete and delicious. The hotel staff is very attentive and helped us book a day trip out of the city. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights. Our room was on the top floor and was really comfortable although the bathroom was a little dated. A nice breakfast was served overlooking the river - this was included in our room rate but it is very expensive if you book room only. The staff were wonderful. The hotel is in a great position for seeing all the sights but being tucked away it is probably a little quieter than many of the other big hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Located on the bustling Borgo San Jacopo, just a stones throw away from Florence's most iconic bridge - the Ponte Vecchio - Hotel Lungarno offers the most stunning views of this architectural marvel and the beautiful river Arno. To put it simply, they probably have the best location for a hotel in Florence. The Uffizi Gallery is a short walk away, as is the Pitti Palace and the Duomo.
The hotel itself, one of the Ferragamo fold, is beautifully put together. The rooms are intimate, furnished with antiques. The bathrooms are large and provide wonderful Ferragamo toiletries. There's a lovely breakfast room that converts into a fine dining restaurant by night. Be sure to try the lobster drenched in butter - its the best I've ever had.
The Ferragamo museum is just a few steps away and is a must visit when residing here. All in all its one of the best places to stay while visiting this city of romance and architectural splendour.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lungarno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lungarno

Address: Borgo San Jacopo 14, 50125 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Florence
#6 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#8 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#28 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lungarno 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your charming home away from home, a stone throw away from Ponte Vecchio. Florence and Tuscan hospitality are experienced at its finest in this splendid setting offering stunning views on the master works of the Renaissance.The exclusive and stylish Hotel Lungarno was designed by the Florentine architect Michele Bönan and invites you to spend magical days surrounded by luxury, glamorous art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Lungarno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lungarno Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lungarno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.